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301 Gervais Street, P.O. Box 125, Columbia, South Carolina 29214  

 
 

SC REVENUE RULING #99-4 
 
 
SUBJECT:   College Tuition Tax Credit 

(Income Tax) 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Tax years beginning after 1997 
 
SUPERSEDES:  All previous documents and any oral directives in conflict 

herewith. 
 
REFERENCES:  S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-6-3385 (Supp. 1999) 
 
AUTHORITY:  S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-4-320 (Supp. 1999) 

SC Revenue Procedure #97-8 
 
SCOPE:   A Revenue Ruling is the Department of Revenue’s official 

advisory opinion of how laws administered by the Department 
are to be applied to a specific issue or a specific set of facts, and 
is provided as guidance for all persons or a particular group.  It is 
valid and remains in effect until superseded or modified by a 
change in the statute or regulations or a subsequent court 
decision, Revenue Ruling or Revenue Procedure. 

 
On June 19, 1998, the Governor signed Act No. 418 to add Code Section 12-6-3385.  
This section provides a refundable individual income tax credit for college tuition 
effective for tax years beginning after 1997.  The purpose of this ruling is to address some 
common questions that have arisen concerning this tax credit.   
 
QUESTIONS: 
 
1. Who is an eligible student? 
 
To qualify for the tuition tax credit, an individual enrolled in an institution of higher 
learning must meet all of the following requirements: 

 
1. have graduated from high school during or after May 1997; 
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2. within 12 months before enrolling in the institution of higher learning: 
a. graduated from a South Carolina high school,  
b. completed a South Carolina high school home school program, or  
c. graduated from a preparatory high school outside of South Carolina while a 

dependent of a parent or guardian who is a legal resident of South Carolina has 
custody of the student; 

 
3. be eligible for in-state tuition; 

 
4. be admitted, enrolled, and classified as a degree-seeking undergraduate or be 

enrolled in a certificate or diploma program of at least 1 year and be in good 
standing at the institution (whether or not a student is in good standing is 
determined by the qualifying institution); and,   

 
5. have completed at least 15 credit hours a semester (or its equivalent) as determined 

by the Commission on Higher Education for every regular semester ending during 
the tax year for which the student was enrolled. (A student is considered to have 
“completed” a course regardless of the grade achieved, however, a student 
receiving an incomplete or withdrawing from a course is not considered to have 
“completed” a course for purposes of the 15 credit hour requirement.)   

 
NOTE: There is not a minimum Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) requirement or grade 
point average requirement to qualify for the tuition credit, however, the student must be in 
good standing at the institution to claim the credit. 
  
2. Who is not an eligible student? 
 
The tuition tax credit is not available to an individual enrolled in an institution of higher 
learning who:  
 

1. obtained a GED; 
 

2. is a Palmetto Fellowship recipient; 
 

3. is a Legislative Incentives for Future Excellence (LIFE) Scholarship recipient; 
 

4. is in default of a federal Title IV or South Carolina educational loan or owes a 
refund on a student financial aid program; or, 

 
5. has been adjudicated delinquent or been convicted or pled guilty or nolo 

contendere to any felonies, or any alcohol or drug related offenses.  (NOTE: This 
ineligibility requirement does not apply to a student whose record has been 
expunged.)   
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3. Can a student who does not currently meet the credit requirements later qualify? 
 
Yes. A student may currently be a Palmetto Fellowship or LIFE scholarship recipient or 
be in default of a student loan, but later lose the scholarship or repay the loan.  At such 
time when the student meets all the tuition credit eligibility requirements, the student is 
eligible for the tuition credit for the remaining time in the 4-year credit period. (See 
Question 12 for the maximum years a credit may be claimed.)  
 
For example, a student is a LIFE scholarship recipient for the 1998-1999 school year (fall 
1998 and spring 1999 semesters), but does not qualify for the LIFE scholarship in the 
1999-2000 school year (fall 1999 and spring 2000 semesters.)  The student is a qualifying 
student meeting all requirements of the tuition tax credit in the fall 1999 semester and 
may claim the tuition tax credit for that semester providing the student completed 15 
credit hours in both the spring 1999 and fall 1999 semesters.  The student may not claim 
the credit for the spring 1999 semester since the student was a LIFE scholarship recipient. 
 
4. What institutions qualify? 
 
Currently tuition paid to the institutions of higher learning listed in Exhibit A qualifies for 
the credit.  The list of institutions in Exhibit A is derived from the following statutory 
criteria for qualifying institutions of higher learning and designated institutions: 
 

1. A South Carolina public institution is any state-supported-post secondary 
educational institution, including technical and comprehensive educational 
institutions. See South Carolina Code Section 59-103-5. 

 
2. An independent institution is any independent eleemosynary junior or senior 

college in South Carolina whose major campus and headquarters are located 
within South Carolina and which is accredited by the Southern Association of 
Colleges and Secondary Schools. See South Carolina Code Section 59-113-50. 

 
3. A public or independent bachelor’s level institution chartered before 1962 whose 

major campus and headquarters are located within South Carolina; 
 

4. An independent bachelor’s level institution which has attained an Internal Revenue 
Code Section 501(c)(3) tax status and is accredited by the Southern Association of 
Colleges and Secondary Schools or the New England Association of Colleges and 
Schools; or 

 
5. A public or independent two-year institution which has attained an Internal 

Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3) tax status.   
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5. What institutions do not qualify? 
 
An institution does not qualify if its sole purpose is: 
 

1.  religious or theological training, or 
 

2. granting professional degrees. 
 
6. What qualifies as tuition? 
 
Qualifying tuition is the amount charged by a 2-year or 4-year public institution of higher 
learning, including required fees, necessary for undergraduate enrollment.   
 
Qualifying tuition at an independent institution is, however, defined as the “average 
tuition at the 4-year public institutions of higher learning,” not to exceed the actual tuition 
charged.  The average tuition at 4-year institutions of higher learning has been determined 
by the Commission on Higher Education to be $3,454 per school year or $1,727 per 
regular semester for the spring 1998 semester and the 1998-1999 school year (fall 1998 
and spring 1999 semesters.)  See Questions 16, 17, and 18 for credit computations for 
schools on a traditional semester system and for schools not on a traditional semester 
system. 
  
Required fees do not include fees or charges for books, room and board, student 
activities, athletics, meal plans, insurance, equipment, transportation, or personal, living, 
or family expenses. 
 
7.  What are scholarship grants that reduce tuition? 
 
Any amounts received toward tuition payment by scholarship grants must be deducted 
before calculating the credit.  Examples of scholarship grants include academic 
scholarships, athletic scholarships, South Carolina tuition grants, Pell grants, and 
Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants. Grants which do not reduce tuition, and 
are not used to pay tuition, e.g., a grant for room and board, are not deducted from tuition 
before calculating the credit. 
 
Scholarship grants do not include student loans, educational assistance plans under 
Internal Revenue Code Section 127, payments for teaching, research or other services 
performed by the student whether or not required as a condition for receiving a tuition 
reduction, or veteran educational assistance benefits.  Therefore, tuition amounts paid 
with the student’s earnings, a loan, a gift, inheritance, or personal savings constitute 
tuition paid by the student for purposes of the tuition tax credit.  
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Further, to the extent contributions to the South Carolina Tuition Prepayment Program are 
considered paid by the student (beneficiary of the Program), the prepayment amounts 
constitute tuition paid by the student.  Likewise, if tuition is paid by the student with 
money from an Education IRA, the payment constitutes tuition paid by the student 
(beneficiary of the IRA.)  In both instances, the qualifying student, not the parent, is 
eligible to claim the tuition tax credit.   
 
8. What is the credit amount? 
 
For a student attending a 4-year institution, the credit is equal to 25% of the tuition paid 
during a taxable year, not to exceed $850.   
 
For a student attending a 2-year institution, the credit is equal to 25% of the tuition paid 
during a taxable year, not to exceed $350. 
 
For a student attending both a 2-year and a 4-year institution in the same tax year, the 
credit is equal to 25% of the tuition paid during the taxable year, not to exceed $850.  The 
credit amount for any student per tax year may not exceed $850 in any circumstance.  
 
NOTE: Before calculating the credit amount two adjustments may be necessary: 
 

1. Students attending an independent institution must reduce the actual tuition paid to 
that of the “average tuition at the four-year public institutions of higher learning,” 
not to exceed the actual tuition charged.  See Question 6 for the average tuition 
amounts to use in computing the 1998 credit amount and Exhibit A for a list of 4-
year independent institutions.  NOTE: The “average tuition” amount will be 
adjusted annually by the Commission on Higher Education, and 

 
2. Scholarship grants received toward tuition payments must be deducted from 

qualifying tuition.   
 
If both adjustments apply, they must be made in the order listed above. 
 
9. When is the credit first available? 
 
The credit is effective for taxable years beginning after 1997 for students graduating from 
high school during or after May, 1997.  Accordingly, amounts paid for tuition in the 1998 
tax year (winter/interim term 1998, spring semester 1998, summer semester 1998, fall 
semester 1998, and tuition prepaid in 1998 for the spring 1999 semester) for qualifying 
students, should be used to determine the tuition tax credit claimed on the 1998 South 
Carolina individual income tax return due April 15, 1999. Amounts paid in the 1997 tax 
year are not eligible for the credit.  
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NOTE: The requirement for completion of at least 15 hours a semester is based on every 
regular semester in which the student is enrolled during the tax year and is not based on 
each semester offered during the school year. 
 
Examples best explain when the credit is first available.  The examples assume the 
students are qualifying students enrolled in a qualifying institution on a traditional 
semester system.  
 
 
EXAMPLES 

 
TAX 
YEAR 
TUITION 
PAID 

 
SEMESTERS 
ENROLLED 

 
HOURS COMPLETED 
DURING TAX YEAR 

 
CREDIT 
ALLOWED FOR 
TUITION PAID 
DURING TAX 
YEAR 

 
Student A 

 
1998 
1998 

 
Spring 98 
Fall 98 

 
15 
15 

 
 
yes 

 
Student B 

 
1998 

 
Fall 98 

 
12 

 
no 

 
Student C 

 
1998 

 
Fall 98  

 
15 

 
yes 

 
Student D 

 
1998  
1998 

 
Fall 98 
Spring 99 

 
15 
15 to be completed in >99 

 
 
yes  

 
Student E 

 
1998 
1998 

 
Summer 98 
Fall 98 

 
6 
12 

 
 
no 

 
Student F 

 
1998 
1998 

 
Summer 98 
Fall 98 

 
6 
15 

 
 
yes  

 
Student G 

 
1998 
1998 

 
Spring 98 
Fall 98 

 
12 
15 

 
 
no 

 
Student H 

 
1998 

 
Spring 99 

 
15 to be completed in ‘99 

 
yes   

 
These examples illustrate that a student must complete at least 15 semester hours of every 
regular semester (fall or spring semester) for which the student was enrolled each tax year 
in order to qualify for the credit.  If the student enrolls in one semester in a tax year, but 
not both, it does not affect the student’s qualification for the credit (see example of 
Student C).  Further, summer school hours enrolled do not enter into the calculation of the 
15 hour semester requirement (see example of Student’s E and F).   
 
Students A, C, D, and F completed 15 hours per regular semester enrolled and qualify for 
the credit.  Note that Student C was only enrolled for one regular semester in the 1998 tax 
year and qualifies for the credit.  Also, note that Student D is allowed a credit for tuition 
paid for the fall 1998 semester and prepaid in the 1998 tax year for the spring 1999 
semester since the student completed 15 semester hours for each regular semester 
enrolled for in 1998 (the fall semester).  The number of hours Student D is enrolled for in 
1999 is not used in the 1998 credit calculation.  
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Student H qualifies for the credit in 1998 for tuition prepaid in 1998 for the spring 1999 
semester.  The 15 hour requirement is not applicable since the student was not enrolled in 
college in 1998. 
 
Student’s B and G did not complete 15 hours in each regular semester they were enrolled 
and do not qualify for the credit in 1998.  Each may qualify for the remaining portion of 
the credit in future years.  (See Question 12 for the maximum years the credit may be 
claimed.) 
 
Student E completed only 12 hours (not the required 15) in the fall 1998 semester 
(summer school hours are not counted in the 15 semester hour requirement) and does not 
qualify for the credit in 1998 even though 18 total hours are earned during the 1998 tax 
year in the summer and fall semesters.  
 
10. What is the equivalent of 15 hours for institutions not on a traditional semester 
system?  
 
Code Section 12-6-3385(B)(3)(b) provides that a qualifying student must complete at 
least 15 hours a semester, or its equivalent, as determined by the Commission on Higher 
Education, for every regular semester ending during the tax year.  
 
A qualifying student attending an institution on a system other than a traditional semester 
system must complete at least the number of hours approved by the Commission on 
Higher Education for every regular term (e.g., fall, winter/interim, spring) enrolled each 
tax year in order to qualify for the credit.  Whether or not a student is enrolled for summer 
school and how many hours taken does not enter into the determination of whether this 
requirement has been met.   
 
As of the date of this ruling, the Commission on Higher Education has not approved the 
full time equivalent hours for any institution not on the traditional semester system. When 
the Department receives the Commission’s approved list of equivalent hours we intend to 
publish it in an information letter. 
 
Questions concerning equivalent hours for any school not on a traditional semester 
system should be directed to: 
 

Director, Student Services 
Commission on Higher Education 
1333 Main Street, Suite 200 
Columbia, South Carolina 29201-3245 
Phone - 803-737-2260 Fax - 803-737-2297 
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11. What is the semester hour equivalent for a student with a disability? 
 
The American with Disabilities Act may permit certain disabled students to qualify for 
the credit by completing a lesser number of “equivalent hours.”  The Commission on 
Higher Education determines “equivalent hours.”  The Director of Student Services of the 
Commission has informed the Department to instruct each student with a disability to 
contact the Office of Disability at the qualifying institution for a determination of the 
required “equivalent hours” required for the credit.  A written statement authorizing the 
number of equivalent hours must be attached to the South Carolina tax return each year 
the tuition credit is claimed. 
 
12. How many years can the credit be claimed? 
 
The credit may be claimed for no more than 4 consecutive years after the qualifying 
student first enrolls in an eligible institution.  The credit is available for a total of no more 
than 5 tax years since the maximum 4-year credit period runs from the date the student 
first enrolls and continues for 4 years from that date so that the credit is allowed for 
tuition paid for no more than 8 consecutive regular semesters and any summer school 
tuition paid during the 4 year period. 
 
For example, if a student enrolls in a qualifying 4-year institution on August 17, 1998, the 
credit period is for qualifying tuition paid for school enrollment from August 17, 1998 to 
August 16, 2002.  The credit may be claimed on the 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, and 2002 
South Carolina income tax returns.  
 
NOTE: Since the credit is effective for tax years beginning after 1997, a student 
graduating in May 1997 and attending college in 1997 will begin counting the 4-year 
credit period with the first semester enrolled in the 1998 tax year so that the student will 
not lose a portion of the 4-year credit period. 
 
NOTE: Exceptions may be granted to extend the “four year consecutive” credit period  
due to medical necessity as defined by the Commission on Higher Education. Questions 
concerning extension of the credit period due to medical necessity should be directed to 
the Commission on Higher Education’s Director of the Division of Student Services at 
the address provided in Question 10. 
 
The following examples indicate the tax years the tuition credit may be claimed.  The 
examples assume, unless stated otherwise, the students are qualifying students graduating 
from high school in May 1998 and enrolled in fall semesters August 17 through 
December 15 and spring semesters from January 7 through May 12 for the years 
indicated. 
 
Tax 

 
School 

 
TAX YEARS TUITION PAID 
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Year Semester  
Student A 

 
Student B 

 
Student C 

 
Student D 

 
Student E 

 
1998 

 
Fall 98 

 
1998 

 
1998 

 
1998-2 yr school 

 
1998-2 yr school 

 
did not attend 

 
1999 

 
Spring 99 
Fall 99 

 
1999 
1999 

 
1998 
1999 

 
withdraw from 
school 

 
1998-2 yr school 
1999-2 yr school 

 
did not attend 

 
2000 

 
Spring 00 
Fall 00 

 
2000 
2000 

 
1999 
2000 

 
2000-2 yr school 
2000-2 yr school 

 
2000-4 yr school 

 
1999 
2000 

 
2001 

 
Spring 01 
Fall 01 

 
2001 
2001 

 
2000 
2001 

 
2001-2 yr school 
2001-2 yr school 

 
2001-4 yr school 

 
2000 
2001 

 
2002 

 
Spring 02 
Fall 02 

 
2002 
N/A 

 
2001 
N/A 

 
2002-2 yr school 
2002-2 yr school 

 
2002-4 yr school 
2002-4 yr school 

 
2001 
2002 

 
2003 

 
Spring 03 
Fall 03 

 
N/A 
N/A 

 
N/A 
N/A 

 
2003-2 yr school 
2003-2 yr school 

 
2003-4 yr school 
2003-4 yr school 

 
2003 
2003 

 
Student A - The credit may be claimed for all tuition payments made in 5 tax years - 
1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, and 2002 (but only for tuition paid for semesters (and any 
summer sessions) ending on or before August 16, 2002).   
 
Student B - The credit may be claimed for all tuition payments made in 4 consecutive 
years - years beginning August 17, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, and ending August 16, 2002. 
 The prepayment of the spring 2002 tuition in the tax year 2001, however, results in the 
acceleration of the credit.  No credit may be claimed in 2002 and thereafter.  
 
Student C - The credit may be claimed only for tax years 1998, 2000, 2001 and 2002 (but 
only for tuition paid for semesters ending on or before August 16, 2002).  The semesters 
the student did not attend in 1999 is still a year for purposes of counting the “four 
consecutive years” of the credit period.  NOTE: The attendance of a 2-year college for 
more than 2 years does not affect the 4 consecutive years of the credit period. 
 
Student D - The credit may be claimed in tax years 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, and 2002 
(but only for tuition paid for the spring or summer 2002 semesters).  The transfer from a 
2-year to a 4-year school does not affect the “four consecutive years” of the credit period. 
 No credit is allowed, however, for tuition paid for fall 2002 or spring and fall 2003. 
 
Student E - The credit may not be claimed for this student in any tax year.  Since the 
student graduated from high school in May 1998, and did not enroll in college until 
Spring 2000, over 12 months has elapsed before enrolling and the student is not a 
“qualifying” student.     
 
13. Who may claim the credit? 
 
The credit may be claimed by either: 
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1. the student paying the tuition, or  

 
2. an individual paying the tuition who is eligible to claim the student as a dependent 

on his or her federal income tax return. 
 
Since the credit is per student, an individual paying the tuition for more than one 
dependent claimable on the taxpayer’s federal income tax return can claim a tuition credit 
for each qualifying student dependent.  
 
If a parent makes tuition payments in tax years 1998 and 1999 and the student makes 
tuition payments in tax years 2000 and 2001, then the parent may claim the credit in 1998 
and 1999 and the student may claim the credit in 2000 and 2001.  
 
Further, if the parent and student each pay a portion of the tuition payments, 50% each for 
example, then 50% of the appropriate credit amount may be claimed by the parent and 
50% of the appropriate credit amount may be claimed by the student.  In no case can the 
total credit claimed for a student each year exceed the maximum credit amount.  See 
Question 8.    
 
14. What is a refundable credit?  
 
A tax credit is only refundable when specifically provided in the statute.  The tuition tax 
credit is South Carolina’s only refundable credit.  A refundable credit reduces South 
Carolina income tax owed and provides a refund if no tax is owed.  The credit is not 
related to adjusted gross income or tax liability. 
 
15. How is the credit claimed? 
 
The credit is computed on Form I-319 and claimed on the South Carolina individual 
income tax return - SC1040 or SC1040NR.  (The credit cannot be claimed on a 
SC1040A-short form.)  A complete copy of the taxpayers federal income tax return must 
be attached to the South Carolina individual income tax return. 
 
16. How is the credit computed for a qualifying student attending a public or private 
institution on a traditional semester system? 
 
An example best explains the computation. This example is based on the following facts: 
(1) institutions are qualifying 4-year institutions and (2) students are qualifying students 
paying one semester of tuition during the tax year. 



 
CREDIT COMPUTATION 

 
PUBLIC INSTITUTION  

 
INDEPENDENT INSTITUTION* 

 
Tuition charged for semester during tax 
year 

 
$1,700 

 
 

 
$6,500 

 
Required enrollment fees 

 
$   100 

 
$   200 

 
Total qualified tuition & fees charged 
during taxable year* (not to exceed $3,454 
per year or $1,727 per regular semester for 
private institutions listed in Exhibit A in 
the spring 1998 semester and the 1998-99 
school year - special rules apply for 
schools not on a traditional semester 
system - see Question 18) 

 
                    
                    
                    
              

 
$1,800 

 
                          
                     

 
$1,727* 

 
Scholarship (applied toward tuition 
payment) 

 
$   300 

 
 

 
$    300   

 
 

 
SC Tuition & Pell Grants (applied toward 
tuition payment) 

 
$   500 

 
 

 
$       0 

 
 

 
Less: Total scholarship grants received 
during the taxable year 

 
 

 
($  800) 

 
 

 
($ 300) 

 
Tuition qualifying for the credit 

 
 

 
 $1,000 

 
 

 
$1,427 

 
Tuition Credit - 25% of tuition paid, not to 
exceed $850 a year 

 
 

 
 $   250  

 
 

 
$   357 

 
17. How is the credit computed for a qualifying student also attending summer school? 
 
An example best explains the computation. This example is based on the following facts: 
(1) institutions are qualifying 4-year institutions and (2) students are qualifying students 
paying for 6 credit hours of summer school tuition during the tax year. 
 
 
CREDIT COMPUTATION 

 
PUBLIC INSTITUTION  

 
INDEPENDENT INSTITUTION* 

 
Tuition charged for summer semester 
during tax year 

 
$700 

 
 

 
$1,200 

 
Required enrollment fees 

 
$100 

 
$   200 

 
Total qualified tuition & fees charged for 
summer school* (for private institutions 
this number cannot exceed $3,454 times 
the number of credit hours completed in 
summer school divided by 30) 

 
                    
                    
                    
              

 
$800 

 
                          
                     

 
$691* 

 
Less: Total scholarship grants received 
during the taxable year 

 
 

 
($0) 

 
 

 
($0) 

 
Tuition qualifying for the credit 

 
 

 
 $800 

 
   

 
$691 

 
Tuition Credit - 25% of tuition paid, not to 
exceed $850 a year 

 
 

 
 $200  

 
 

 
$173 
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In determining the total qualifying summer school tuition and fees that are eligible for the 
credit for private institutions, the average tuition at 4-year public institutions of higher 
learning must be determined as required in Section 12-6-3385(B)(4). The average tuition 
is based on the average tuition of $3,454 for the full 1998-1999 school year (or $1,727 per 
regular fall 1998 and spring 1999 semesters) as determined by the Commission on Higher 
Education multiplied by a fraction.  The numerator of the fraction is the actual number of 
hours completed in summer school and the denominator is 30 hours (the total number of 
hours required to qualify for the credit for the fall and spring semesters.)  
 
NOTE: In the above example tuition for public schools is based on the actual tuition paid.  
 
NOTE: To be a qualifying student, a student must complete a certain number of hours 
during each regular semester in which the student is enrolled.  See Question 9 for 
examples. 
 
18. How is the credit computed for a qualifying student attending an institution on a 
system other than a traditional semester system? 
 
An example best explains the computation. This example is based on the following facts: 
(1) the student is enrolled in ABC College that has been determined by the Commission 
on Higher Education to use equivalent hours of a 12 hour fall term, 6 hour winter term, 
and 12 hour spring term, (2) the student is a qualifying student, and (3) the student pays 
all tuition in 1998 for winter, spring, and fall terms. 
 
 
CREDIT COMPUTATION 

 
TERM 1 
Winter 1998 

 
TERM 2 
Spring 1998 

 
TERM 3 
Fall 1998 

 
TOTAL 

 
Tuition charged for term during tax 
year 

 
$ 2,000 

 
$6,000 

 
$6,000 

 
$14,000 

 
Required enrollment fees 

 
$    100 

 
$   100 

 
$   100 

 
       300 

 
Total qualified tuition & fees 
charged during taxable year* (limited 
to $3,454 ($3,455 due to rounding) 
or amounts computed as shown 
below for fall/winter/spring terms)  

 
$    691* 

 
$1,382* 

 
$1,382* 

 
$ 3,455 

 
Less: Total scholarship grants 
received during the taxable year 

 
          0 

 
         0 

 
         0 

 
          0 

 
Tuition qualifying for the credit 

 
$    691 

 
$1,382 

 
$1,382 

 
$3,455 

 
Tuition Credit - 25% of tuition paid, 
not to exceed $850 a year 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
limited to  
$   850 

 



* Special rules apply to the total qualified tuition and fees for schools not on a traditional 
semester system. Based on the “equivalent hours” required by the Commission on Higher 
Education, the maximum tuition that may be claimed for each term enrolled in by a 
qualifying student will be prorated based on approved equivalent hours listed below for 
the 1998-1999 school year.  For example, the $864 winter term amount for DEF 
University was calculated as $3,454 average tuition times 8/32 equivalent hours. 
 
 

ABC COLLEGE  
 

DEF UNIVERSITY 
 

XYZ COLLEGE 
 
Fall - 12 hrs. 

 
$1,382 

 
Fall - 12 hrs. 

 
$1,295 

 
Fall - 12 hrs. 

 
$1,480 

 
Winter - 6 hrs. 

 
$   691 

 
Winter - 8 hrs. 

 
$   864 

 
Interim - 4 hrs. 

 
$   494 

 
Spring - 12 hrs. 

 
$1,382 

 
Spring - 12 hrs. 

 
$1,295 

 
Spring - 12 hrs. 

 
$1,480 

 
30 hours** 

 
$3,455 

 
32 hours** 

 
$3,454 

 
28 hours** 

 
$3,454 

 
**Hours deemed equivalent to 30 hours on a regular semester system by the Commission on Higher Education. 
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EXHIBIT A 
 
 
4-Year Public Institutions 

 
4-Year Independent Institutions* 

 
2-Year Institutions 

 
Credit - 25% of tuition paid, 
not to exceed $850 per tax year 

 
Credit - 25% of tuition paid, not to 
exceed $850 per tax year 

 
Credit - 25% of tuition paid, not to 
exceed $350 per tax year 

 
Citadel 
Clemson University 
Coastal Carolina University 
College of Charleston 
Francis Marion University 
Lander University 
Medical University of SC 
South Carolina State University 
University of South Carolina 
USC at Aiken 
USC at Spartanburg 
Winthrop University 
 

 
Allen University 
Anderson College 
Benedict College 
Bob Jones University 
Charleston Southern University 
Claflin College 
Coker College 
Columbia College 
Columbia International University 
Converse College 
Erskine College 
Furman University 
Johnson and Wales 
Limestone College 
Morris College 
Newberry College 
North Greenville College 
Presbyterian College 
Southern Wesleyan College 
Voorhees College 
Wofford College 

 
Aiken Technical  
Central Carolina Technical College 
Chesterfield-Marlboro Technical College 
Denmark Technical College 
Florence Darlington Technical College 
Greenville Technical College 
Horry-Georgetown Technical College 
Midlands Technical College 
Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College 
Piedmont Technical College 
Spartanburg Methodist College 
Spartanburg Technical College 
Technical College of the Lowcountry 
Tri-County Technical College 
Trident Technical College 
USC at Beaufort 
USC at Lancaster 
USC at Salkehatchie 
USC at Sumter 
USC at Union 
Williamsburg Technical College 
York Technical College  

 
*Tuition expenses are limited per school year for 4-year independent institutions. 
 
 
 

SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 
 

s/ Burnet R. Maybank III                                                           
                                Burnet R. Maybank, III, Director 

 
Columbia, South Carolina 
January 11            , 19 99  
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