

301 Gervais Street, P.O. Box 125, Columbia, South Carolina 29214

SC INFORMATION LETTER #91-3

TO:	Vicki J. Ringer Public Information Director
FROM:	Deana West Tax Policy and Appeals Department
DATE:	January 3, 1991
SUBJECT:	Tax Credit for New Jobs: Designation of Counties for 1991 (Corporate Income Tax)
REFERENCE:	S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-7-1220 (Supp. 1989)
AUTHORITY:	S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-3-140 (1976) SC Revenue Procedure #87-3
SCOPE:	An Information Letter is a temporary document issued for the purpose of disseminating general tax information and to respond to technical questions from within the Commission which are not related to a specific set of facts.

In accordance with Section 12-7-1220, the South Carolina Tax Commission has ranked the following counties as less developed areas, moderately developed areas and developed areas for computation of the tax credit for new jobs as follows:

18-Less Developed	15-Moderately Developed	13-Developed
Allendale Bamberg	Abbeville Berkeley	Aiken Anderson
Barnwell	Calhoun	Beaufort
Chester	Chesterfield	Charleston
Clarendon	Colleton	Cherokee
Darlington	Edgefield	Dorchester
Dillon	Florence	Greenville
Fairfield	Greenwood	Lexington
Georgetown	Horry	Oconee
Hampton	Jasper	Pickens
Lee	Kershaw	Richland
Marion	Lancaster	Spartanburg
Marlboro	Laurens	York
McCormick	Newberry	
Orangeburg	Saluda	
Sumter		
Union		
Williamsburg		

This designation is effective for new jobs created in tax years of permanent business enterprises which begin after December 31, 1990.

The credit for each new full-time employee job is \$1,000 with a minimum increase of 10 jobs in less developed counties, \$600 with a minimum increase of 18 jobs in moderately developed counties and \$300 with a minimum increase of 50 jobs in developed counties.

Note: Ties in the rankings resulted in eighteen counties being classified as less developed for the 1991 rankings.