

## 301 Gervais Street, P.O. Box 125, Columbia, South Carolina 29214

## SC INFORMATION LETTER #90-4

TO:	Vicki Jinnette Public Information Officer	
FROM:	John P. McCormack, Manager Tax Policy and Procedures Department	
DATE:	February 2, 1990	
SUBJECT:	Tax Credit for New Jobs: Designation of Counties for 1990	
REFERENCE:	S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-7-1220 (As Amended June 22, 1987)	
AUTHORITY:	S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-3-140 (1976) SC Revenue Procedure #87-3	
SCOPE:	An Information Letter is a temporary document issued for the purpose of disseminating general tax information and to respond to technical questions from within the Commission which are <u>not</u> related to a specific set of facts.	

In accordance with Section 12-7-1220, the South Carolina Tax Commission has designated the following counties as less developed areas, moderately developed areas and developed areas for computation of the tax credit for new jobs. This is effective for new jobs created in tax years of permanent business enterprises which begin after December 31, 1989. The credit for each new full-time employee job is \$1,000 with a minimum increase of 10 jobs in less developed counties, \$600 with a minimum increase of 18 jobs in moderately developed counties and \$300 with a minimum increase of 50 jobs in developed counties.

17-Less Developed	15-Moderately Developed	14-Developed
Allendale Bamberg Barnwell Chester Clarendon Colleton Darlington Dillon Georgetown Hampton Lee McCormick Marion Marlboro	Abbeville Calhoun Chesterfield Edgefield Fairfield Florence Greenwood Horry Jasper Kershaw Lancaster Laurens Newberry Saluda	14-DevelopedAikenAndersonBeaufortBerkeleyCharlestonCherokeeDorchesterGreenvilleLexingtonOconeePickensRichlandSpartanburgYork
Orangeburg Sumter	Union	

Williamsburg