

301 Gervais Street, P.O. Box 125, Columbia, South Carolina 29214

SC INFORMATION LETTER #88-1

TO: Vicki Jinnette

Public Information Officer

FROM: John Swearingen, Manager

Tax Policy and Procedures Department

DATE: January 12, 1988

SUBJECT: Tax Credit for New Jobs: Designation of Counties for 1988

REFERENCE: S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-7-1220 (As Amended June 22, 1987)

AUTHORITY: S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-3-140 (1976)

SC Revenue Procedure #87-3

SCOPE: An Information Letter is a temporary document issued for the purpose of

disseminating general tax information and to respond to technical questions from within the Commission which are not related to a

specific set of facts.

In accordance with Section 12-7-1220, the South Carolina Tax Commission has designated the following counties as less developed areas, moderately developed areas and developed areas for computation of the tax credit for new jobs. This is effective for new jobs created in tax years of permanent business enterprises which begin after December 31, 1987. The credit for each new full-time employee job is \$1,000 with a minimum increase of 10 jobs in less developed counties, \$600 with a minimum increase of 18 jobs in moderately developed counties and \$300 with a minimum increase of 50 jobs in developed counties.

16-Less Developed 15-Moderately Developed 15-Developed

Abbeville Anderson Aiken Allendale Barnwell Beaufort Bamberg Berkeley Calhoun Clarendon Charleston Chester Darlington Chesterfield Cherokee Dillon Colleton Dorchester Edgefield Fairfield Greenville Georgetown Florence Kershaw Hampton Greenwood Lexington Lee Horry Newberry Jasper Marlboro Oconee Marion Lancaster **Pickens** Richland **McCormick** Laurens Orangeburg Saluda Spartanburg Sumter York

Union

Williamsburg