

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

300A Outlet Pointe Blvd., Columbia, South Carolina 29210 P.O. Box 125, Columbia, South Carolina 29214-0575

SC INFORMATION LETTER #21-28

SUBJECT:	Job Tax Credit - County Rankings for 2022 Fee in Lieu of Property Taxes – Reduced Investment Counties Tax Moratorium – Qualifying Counties
DATE:	December 10, 2021
REFERENCE:	 S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-6-3360 (2014; Supp. 2020) S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-6-3367 (2014) S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-44-30 (2014) S. C. Code Ann. Section 4-12-30 (Supp. 2020) S. C. Code Ann. Section 4-29-67 (Supp. 2020)
AUTHORITY:	S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-4-320 (2014) S.C. Code Ann. Section 1-23-10(4) (2005) SC Revenue Procedure #09-3
SCOPE:	An Information Letter is a written statement issued to the public to announce general information useful in complying with the laws administered by the

INTRODUCTION

The job tax credit, the tax moratorium, and the reduction in the minimum required fee in lieu of property tax investment are dependent, in part, on per capita income and unemployment rate data received from the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce and the United States Department of Commerce.

Department. An Information Letter has no precedential value.

The purpose of this information letter is to provide the county rankings for purposes of the job tax credit, counties qualifying for the tax moratorium, and counties qualifying for the reduced fee in lieu of property tax.

JOB TAX CREDIT - County Rankings

South Carolina's 46 counties are ranked and designated annually for job tax credit purposes with equal weight given to unemployment rate and per capita income as provided in South Carolina Code Section 12-6-3360(B). The final ranking of counties for (1) new full-time jobs created in

tax years that begin in 2022, where the job tax credit was first earned on or after January 1, 2022, and (2) increases in new full-time jobs in 2022 are listed below.¹

TIER IV	TIER III	TIER II	TIER I
Allendale	Abbeville	Anderson	Aiken
Bamberg	Chesterfield	Calhoun	Beaufort
Barnwell	Clarendon	Dorchester	Berkeley
Cherokee	Colleton	Edgefield	Charleston
Chester	Darlington	Florence	Greenville
Dillon	Fairfield	Georgetown	Kershaw
Lee	Greenwood	Hampton	Lexington
Marion	Horry	Lancaster	Newberry
Marlboro	Jasper	Pickens	Oconee
Orangeburg	Laurens	Saluda	Richland
Union	McCormick	Spartanburg	York
Williamsburg	Sumter		

TAX MORATORIUM – Qualifying Counties

South Carolina Code Section 12-6-3367, in part, grants a 10 year moratorium (15 years in certain cases) on corporate income taxes or insurance premium taxes for qualifying taxpayers in a county with an average annual unemployment rate of at least twice the state average during each of the last two completed calendar years, based on the most recent unemployment rates available, or in a county with one of the three lowest per capita incomes based on the average of the three most recent years of available average per capita income data. The moratorium begins the first full taxable year after the taxpayer qualifies in a county designated as a moratorium county.

For 2022, the following counties have been designated moratorium counties under South Carolina Code Section 12-6-3367.

Chesterfield
Dillon
Jasper

FEE IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES - Reduced Investment Counties

The minimum required investment necessary to qualify for the fee in lieu of property taxes is \$2.5 million for the "Little Fee" and "Simplified Fee," and \$45 million for the "Big Fee." See South Carolina Code Sections 4-12-30(B)(3), 12-44-30(14), and 4-29-67, respectively. This investment amount, however, is reduced to \$1 million for a company investing in a county with an average annual unemployment rate of at least twice the state average during each of the last 24 months, based on data available on November 1.

For 2022, no county qualifies for the \$1 million minimum investment under the "Little Fee," "Simplified Fee," and "Big Fee."

¹ For further information, see SC Revenue Ruling #19-11, Question 3 and the examples provided.