

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

300A Outlet Pointe Blvd., Columbia, South Carolina 29210 P.O. Box 125, Columbia, South Carolina 29214

SC INFORMATION LETTER #19-29

SUBJECT: Job Tax Credit - County Rankings for 2020

Fee in Lieu of Property Taxes – Reduced Investment Counties

Tax Moratorium – Qualifying Counties

DATE: December 11, 2019

REFERENCE: S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-6-3360 (2014; Supp. 2018) (Act No. 83 of 2019)

S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-6-3367 (2014)
S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-44-30 (2014)
S. C. Code Ann. Section 4-12-30 (Supp. 2018)
S. C. Code Ann. Section 4-29-67 (Supp. 2018)

AUTHORITY: S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-4-320 (2014)

S.C. Code Ann. Section 1-23-10(4) (2005)

SC Revenue Procedure #09-3

SCOPE: An Information Letter is a written statement issued to the public to announce

general information useful in complying with the laws administered by the

Department. An Information Letter has no precedential value.

INTRODUCTION

The job tax credit, the tax moratorium, and the reduction in the minimum required fee in lieu of property tax investment are dependent, in part, on per capita income and unemployment rate data received from the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce and the United States Department of Commerce.

The purpose of this information letter is to provide the county rankings for purposes of the job tax credit, counties qualifying for the tax moratorium, and counties qualifying for the reduced fee in lieu of property tax.

JOB TAX CREDIT - County Rankings

South Carolina's 46 counties are ranked and designated annually for job tax credit purposes with equal weight given to unemployment rate and per capita income as provided in South Carolina Code Section 12-6-3360(B). The final ranking of counties for new full time job increases in tax years that begin in 2020 are listed below.

TIER IV	TIER III	TIER II	TIER I
Allendale	Abbeville	Aiken	Anderson
Bamberg	Calhoun	Edgefield	Beaufort
Barnwell	Cherokee	Florence	Berkeley
Chester	Chesterfield	Georgetown	Charleston
Clarendon	Colleton	Greenwood	Dorchester
Dillon	Darlington	Kershaw	Greenville
Lee	Fairfield	Lancaster	Lexington
Marion	Hampton	Newberry	Richland
Marlboro	Horry	Oconee	Spartanburg
Orangeburg	Jasper	Pickens	York
Union	Laurens	Saluda	
Williamsburg	McCormick	Sumter	

TAX MORATORIUM – Qualifying Counties

South Carolina Code Section 12-6-3367, in part, grants a 10 year moratorium (15 years in certain cases) on corporate income taxes or insurance premium taxes for qualifying taxpayers in a county with an average annual unemployment rate of at least twice the state average during each of the last two completed calendar years, based on the most recent unemployment rates available, or in a county with one of the three lowest per capita incomes based on the average of the three most recent years of available average per capita income data. The moratorium begins the first full taxable year after the taxpayer qualifies in a county designated as a moratorium county.

For 2020, the following counties have been designated moratorium counties under South Carolina Code Section 12-6-3367.

Chesterfield		
Dillon		
Jasper		

FEE IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES - Reduced Investment Counties

The minimum required investment necessary to qualify for the fee in lieu of property taxes is \$2.5 million for the "Little Fee" and "Simplified Fee," and \$45 million for the "Big Fee." See South Carolina Code Sections 4-12-30(B)(3), 12-44-30(14), and 4-29-67, respectively. This investment amount, however, is reduced to \$1 million for a company investing in a county with an average annual unemployment rate of at least twice the state average during each of the last 24 months, based on data available on November 1.

For 2020, no county qualifies for the \$1 million minimum investment under the "Little Fee," "Simplified Fee," and "Big Fee."