
This form must be attached to the SC1040, SC1065, SC1120, or SC1120S.

Instructions:

For taxable years beginning after 2004, a refundable credit against Individual or Corporate Income Tax is available to 
resident taxpayers engaged in the business of producing milk for sale. This refundable credit is based on the amount of 
milk produced and sold.

The credit amount is $10,000 for the first 500,000 pounds of milk produced and sold below the production price over a 
calendar year, and $5,000 for each additional 500,000 pounds of milk produced and sold below the production price during 
the calendar year. Credits must be prorated on a quarterly basis.

The SC Commissioner of Agriculture will certify to the SCDOR which producers are eligible to claim the credit and the 
amount of the credit.

The credit is allowed when the USDA Class I price of fluid milk in South Carolina drops below the production price as 
determined by the SC Department of Agriculture (SCDA). The production price is based on such factors as: (1) the 
average price of milk in the top five states where milk is imported to South Carolina; (2) the average transportation cost of 
importing milk from those five states; and (3) the cost of production in South Carolina. The SCDA regulations are available 
at agriculture.sc.gov.

Once all information is available, the average production price is posted on the SCDA website at agriculture.sc.gov and is 
available in the SC Commissioner of Agriculture’s Office.

The SCDA provides a form to be completed and signed by all dairy producers filing for this credit. The form is for certifying 
the amount of milk produced and sold by a specific producer for the entire taxable year. The form includes a sworn 
statement by the producer regarding the accuracy of the information listed.

Name SSN or FEIN
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MILK CREDIT

1. Enter the number of pounds of milk produced and sold during Calendar
Year , as certified by the Commissioner of Agriculture. ................................................................................... lbs.
If less than 500,000 pounds,STOP. You do not qualify.

2. Enter $2,500 if line 1 is greater than or equal to 500,000 pounds...............................................................................$

3. Subtract 500,000 pounds from line 1........................................................................................................................... lbs.

4. Divide line 3 by 500,000 pounds and round down to the nearest whole number......................................................... 

5. Multiply line 4 by $1,250..............................................................................................................................................$

6. Add lines 2 and 5.........................................................................................................................................................$

7. Enter the number of quarters in Calendar Year            to which the credit applies,
    as certified by the Commissioner of Agriculture........................................................................................................... 

8. Multiply line 6 by line 7. Enter here and on the appropriate line of your tax return.....................................................$ 
   This is the amount of the credit. 

dor.sc.gov



Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure
It is mandatory that you provide your Social Security Number on this tax form if you are an individual taxpayer. 42 
U.S.C.405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to use an individual's Social Security Number as means of identification in 
administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201 mandates that any person required to make a return to the SCDOR must 
provide identifying numbers, as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your Social Security Number is used for 
identification purposes. 

The Family Privacy Protection Act
Under the Family Privacy Protection Act, the collection of personal information from citizens by the SCDOR is limited to the 
information necessary for the SCDOR to fulfill its statutory duties. In most instances, once this information is collected by 
the SCDOR, it is protected by law from public disclosure. In those situations where public disclosure is not prohibited, the 
Family Privacy Protection Act prevents such information from being used by third parties for commercial solicitation 
purposes. 
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The SCDOR will use this information to verify the credit claimed. All disputes regarding the credit or refund under the Milk 
Producer Tax Credit program will be resolved in accordance with SCDOR regulations and policies.

Definitions:

   “Class I price of fluid milk” is the uniform milk price in South Carolina published by the USDA.

   “Producer” is any individual, farm, corporation, or other legal entity that produces and sells milk produced from their own   
cows.

   “Cost of production” is the average cost of production in South Carolina.

   “Production price” is the cost of production in South Carolina, plus the difference between the average uniform price of 
milk in the top five markets where milk is imported, including transportation costs, and the uniform price of milk in the 
Appalachian Order. 


