

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

LOCAL TAX RATE CHANGES NOTIFICATION

ST-588 (Rev. 2/17/17) 5313

IMPORTANT NOTICE

Effective March 1, 2017 and May 1, 2017

File Number:

Notice Date:

TO: Retailers Located in or Making Sales to Jasper County

FROM: South Carolina Department of Revenue

REFERENCE: Jasper County Local Tax Rate Change in 2017

Effective May 1, 2017 for Jasper County

In addition to the current state and local sales tax rate, Jasper County will impose a new 1% Transportation Tax. Please note the new sales and use tax rate total:

County
Jasper
Transportation Tax
Total State and Local Rate Effective May 1, 2017

9% General Tax Rate
10% Accommodations Tax Rate

• The 1% Transportation Tax is in addition to the 1% Local Option Tax and 1% School District Tax.

 Report Jasper County's Transportation Tax under code 1027 on page 4 of Form ST-389, Schedule for Local Taxes.

The following local taxes will also take effect in 2017:

Effective March 1, 2017

- Darlington County will impose a 1% Education Capital Improvement Tax. (Note: Darlington's 1% School District Tax is repealed.)
- Kershaw County will impose a 1% Education Capital Improvement Tax.

Effective May 1, 2017

- Allendale, Barnwell, Greenwood, Horry, McCormick, and Williamsburg Counties will impose a 1% Capital Projects Tax.
- Newberry County will reimpose its 1% Capital Projects Tax.
- Union County will impose a 1% Local Option Tax.
- Charleston County will increase the Transportation Tax from 0.5% to 1%.

Note: In the previous 2017 local tax change notification issued by the SCDOR, the County Code for Allendale County was misprinted. The correct County Code for Allendale County's Capital Projects Tax is **1003**.

For additional information on these local tax changes see the **Local Tax Rate Changes for Certain Counties in 2017** notice at **dor.sc.gov/sales-and-use**.

If you have questions, please call 1-844-898-8542.