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1. AGENCY OVERVIEW 
 

OUR MISSION 
The Mission of the South Carolina Department of Revenue (SCDOR) is to administer the 
revenue and regulatory laws of this State with integrity, effectiveness, and fairness to all 
taxpayers, while maintaining the highest security and protection of taxpayer information.   
 
 
 

OUR VISION 
SCDOR strives to be an innovative and trustworthy service partner for all stakeholders. 
 
 
 

OUR GOALS 
1. Fairly administer and enforce the 
revenue and regulatory laws of the 
State.  
2. Ensure taxpayer security by 
utilizing state-of-the-art technology. 
3. Maintain a positive customer 
service experience for all 
stakeholders. 
4. Promote and maintain a 
competent, productive, and diverse 
workforce  
 
 
 

OUR CULTURE VALUES 
Excellence  
Open Communication  
Functional Security  
Leadership  
Vision and innovation  
Ownership  
Accountability  
Collaboration  
Empowering  
Professionalism  



3 

 

OUR ROLE 
 

Funding a Better State 
It is the responsibility of the South Carolina Department of Revenue (SCDOR) to facilitate tax 
compliance of our most valuable stakeholder, taxpayers.  Through the administration and 
collection of 63 taxes and fees, SCDOR collected a record $11.6 billion in revenue dollars in 
Fiscal Year 2017.  Revenue dollars can be categorized into two buckets, General Fund and direct 
allocations.   In Fiscal Year 2017, SCDOR collected approximately $7.8 billion in General Fund 
revenue which accounts for 95% of the source of funds allocated towards education, health and 
wellness, and safety of South Carolina citizens.  In addition to General Fund collections, SCDOR 
collected approximately $3.9 billion in non-General Fund revenue on behalf of local 
governments and other state entities.       
 

TAXPAYER BILL OF RIGHTS 
The Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights gives a taxpayer certain rights when dealing with the South 
Carolina Department of Revenue. 

 Taxpayers have the right to apply for assistance from the Taxpayer Rights' Advocate 
within the Department of Revenue. 

 The advocate or his designee is responsible for facilitating resolution of taxpayer 
complaints and problems. 

 Taxpayers have the right to request and receive forms, instructions and other written 
materials in plain, easy-to-understand language. 

 Taxpayers have the right to prompt, courteous service from all dealings with the 
Department of Revenue. 

 Taxpayers have the right to request and receive written information guides, which 
explain in simple and nontechnical language, appeal procedures and remedies as a 
taxpayer. 

 Taxpayers have the right to receive notices which contain descriptions of the basis for 
and identification of amounts of any tax, interest and penalties due. 

 

Taxpayer Advocate Contact Information: 
Taxpayer Advocate       Phone: 803-898-5444  

South Carolina Department of Revenue    Fax: 803-898-5020  
300A Outlet Pointe Boulevard     Email: Jean.Funches@dor.sc.gov 
P.O. Box 125  
Columbia, SC 29214  

  

mailto:Jean.Funches@dor.sc.gov
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TAXPAYER SERVICE CENTERS 
Open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Closed weekends and state holidays. 

Columbia  
Main Office 

Address  
300A Outlet Pointe Boulevard 
Columbia, SC 29210 

Charleston Address  
2 South Park Circle, Suite 100 
Charleston, SC 29407      

Florence Address  
1452 West Evans Street  
Florence, SC 29501 

Greenville Address  
545 North Pleasantburg Drive, Building Two, Suite 300  
Greenville, SC 29607 

Myrtle Beach Address  
1350 Farrow Parkway, Suite 200  
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 

Rock Hill Address  
454 Anderson Road S., Suite 202  
Rock Hill, SC 29730 

SATELLITE OFFICES 
Please take note of day and hours of availability. Satellite offices are closed on state holidays 

Bennettsville 
SC DMV 
Hwy 9 West 

Hours  
Second Thursday of each month: 
9:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. 

Dillon 

Disaster Preparedness Agency 
205 West Howard Street 

Hours  
Second Wednesday of each month: 
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.  

Kingstree 

County Courthouse 
147 West Main Street  

Hours  
Second Wednesday of each month: 
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 

Orangeburg 

Orangeburg Administrative Centre 
1437 Amelia Street 

Hours  
Wednesdays: 
8:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. 

Sumter 

Old Sumter Courthouse 
141 North Main Street Rm. 102 

Hours  
Second Wednesday of each month: 
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. 

     

https://www.google.com/maps/place/South+Carolina+Department+of+Revenue+%28SCDOR%29/%4034.0298403%2c-81.1277868%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88f8bb31367ab107:0xa3d3465518f9cfdb%218m2%213d34.0298403%214d-81.1255981
https://www.google.com/maps/place/South+Carolina+Department+of+Revenue+%28SCDOR%29/%4034.0298403%2c-81.1277868%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88f8bb31367ab107:0xa3d3465518f9cfdb%218m2%213d34.0298403%214d-81.1255981
https://www.google.com/maps/place/2+S+Park+Cir+%23100%2c+Charleston%2c+SC+29407/%4032.793172%2c-80.0319348%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88fe7c6ab696857d:0xd2b297053bafa088%218m2%213d32.793172%214d-80.0297461
https://www.google.com/maps/place/2+S+Park+Cir+%23100%2c+Charleston%2c+SC+29407/%4032.793172%2c-80.0319348%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88fe7c6ab696857d:0xd2b297053bafa088%218m2%213d32.793172%214d-80.0297461
https://www.google.com/maps/place/1452+W+Evans+St%2c+Florence%2c+SC+29501/%4034.1956059%2c-79.7960297%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x885566e7ae7af9e5:0x1cb4779f709fbe35%218m2%213d34.1956059%214d-79.793841
https://www.google.com/maps/place/1452+W+Evans+St%2c+Florence%2c+SC+29501/%4034.1956059%2c-79.7960297%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x885566e7ae7af9e5:0x1cb4779f709fbe35%218m2%213d34.1956059%214d-79.793841
https://www.google.com/maps/place/545+N+Pleasantburg+Dr+%23300%2c+Greenville%2c+SC+29607/%4034.8557324%2c-82.3605808%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88582e450f3e5039:0x1ad86cf39addbc57%218m2%213d34.8557324%214d-82.3583921
https://www.google.com/maps/place/545+N+Pleasantburg+Dr+%23300%2c+Greenville%2c+SC+29607/%4034.8557324%2c-82.3605808%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88582e450f3e5039:0x1ad86cf39addbc57%218m2%213d34.8557324%214d-82.3583921
https://www.google.com/maps/place/1350+Farrow+Pkwy+%23200%2c+Myrtle+Beach%2c+SC+29577/%4033.6706932%2c-78.9480653%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x89006a13d63c4223:0xc571b707a7179746%218m2%213d33.6706932%214d-78.9458766
https://www.google.com/maps/place/1350+Farrow+Pkwy+%23200%2c+Myrtle+Beach%2c+SC+29577/%4033.6706932%2c-78.9480653%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x89006a13d63c4223:0xc571b707a7179746%218m2%213d33.6706932%214d-78.9458766
https://www.google.com/maps/place/454+S+Anderson+Rd%2c+Rock+Hill%2c+SC+29730/%4034.9343895%2c-80.9997773%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x885688855d64255d:0x9aa9dde256131f8b%218m2%213d34.9343895%214d-80.9975886
https://www.google.com/maps/place/454+S+Anderson+Rd%2c+Rock+Hill%2c+SC+29730/%4034.9343895%2c-80.9997773%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x885688855d64255d:0x9aa9dde256131f8b%218m2%213d34.9343895%214d-80.9975886
https://www.google.com/maps/place/Bennettsville+DMV/%4034.6398064%2c-79.7036886%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x8855232a063de42d:0x3d20895b63976470%218m2%213d34.6398064%214d-79.7014999
https://www.google.com/maps/place/Bennettsville+DMV/%4034.6398064%2c-79.7036886%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x8855232a063de42d:0x3d20895b63976470%218m2%213d34.6398064%214d-79.7014999
https://www.google.com/maps/place/205+W+Howard+St%2c+Dillon%2c+SC+29536/%4034.4128163%2c-79.3803888%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x89aacab2fcb7028f:0x756f4f92f2200c7f%218m2%213d34.4128163%214d-79.3782001
https://www.google.com/maps/place/205+W+Howard+St%2c+Dillon%2c+SC+29536/%4034.4128163%2c-79.3803888%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x89aacab2fcb7028f:0x756f4f92f2200c7f%218m2%213d34.4128163%214d-79.3782001
https://www.google.com/maps/place/147+W+Main+St%2c+Kingstree%2c+SC+29556/%4033.6633537%2c-79.8332841%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88ffbc1e358efb61:0x785bcfb5317d8f8e%218m2%213d33.6633493%214d-79.8310954
https://www.google.com/maps/place/147+W+Main+St%2c+Kingstree%2c+SC+29556/%4033.6633537%2c-79.8332841%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88ffbc1e358efb61:0x785bcfb5317d8f8e%218m2%213d33.6633493%214d-79.8310954
https://www.google.com/maps/place/1437+Amelia+St%2c+Orangeburg%2c+SC+29115/%4033.492964%2c-80.865089%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88f8d5af830cc8cb:0x124434e151db508%218m2%213d33.492974%214d-80.862922
https://www.google.com/maps/place/1437+Amelia+St%2c+Orangeburg%2c+SC+29115/%4033.492964%2c-80.865089%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88f8d5af830cc8cb:0x124434e151db508%218m2%213d33.492974%214d-80.862922
https://www.google.com/maps/place/141+N+Main+St%2c+Sumter%2c+SC+29150/%4033.9226232%2c-80.342885%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88ff6f1688422693:0x766107a053347bae%218m2%213d33.9226232%214d-80.3406963
https://www.google.com/maps/place/141+N+Main+St%2c+Sumter%2c+SC+29150/%4033.9226232%2c-80.342885%2c17z/data=%213m1%214b1%214m5%213m4%211s0x88ff6f1688422693:0x766107a053347bae%218m2%213d33.9226232%214d-80.3406963
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2. INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX  
 

South Carolina’s income tax follows the federal income tax laws. South Carolina generally 
accepts the adjustments, exemptions and most deductions allowed on your federal return. Your 
federal taxable income is the starting point in determining your state income tax liability.  
  
You may be required to file a South Carolina income tax return if you earn income in South 
Carolina and are required to file a federal return. Even if you are not required to file a federal 
return and you have taxes withheld from your wages, you should file a state income tax return 
in order to obtain a refund.  
  
For calendar year taxpayers, individual income tax returns are due on April 15 of each year.  
  
You may have to pay estimated tax payments on income that is not subject to withholding such 
as self-employment, interest or prizes, or if enough tax is not being withheld from your salary, 
pension or other income.   
 
For a U.S. State Comparison of personal income tax rates and brackets for Tax Year 2016, please 
see the following Tax Foundation publication: Fiscal Fact No. 500: State Income Tax Rates and 
Brackets for 2016. 
 
 

Enacted: 1927 

Statute: Title 12, Chapter 6 

Rate: 3% to 7% 

Distribution: State General Fund 

FY 2017 Collections: $4,107,647,011 

 

 
Note: The Fiscal Year 2017 collections represented in this section are the actual collections net of refunds for this 
tax type and includes gross revenue allocated to Property Tax Relief funds (PTRTF).  

 

  

http://taxfoundation.org/article/state-individual-income-tax-rates-and-brackets-2016
http://taxfoundation.org/article/state-individual-income-tax-rates-and-brackets-2016
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STATE COMPARISON OF INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RATES 
Tax Year 2016 

State 
Tax Rates  

(%) 
Number of 

Brackets 
Standard Deduction 

Single               Joint 
Personal Exemptions 

  Single               Couple                Dependents 

Alabama (b, f) 2.0 - 5.0 3 $2,500 $7,500 $1,500 $3,000 $1,000  

Alaska  None None n.a n.a.  n.a. n.a. 

Arizona (e) 2.59 - 4.54 5 $5,091 $10,173 $2,100 $4,200 $2,100 

Arkansas (d, e,r) 0.90 – 6.90 6 $2,200 $4,400 $26 $52 $26 

California (a, e, r, s) 1.0 – 13.30 10 $4,044 $8,088 $109 $218 $337 

Colorado 4.63 of FTI 1 n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. 

Connecticut (a, t, u) 3.0 - 6.99 7 n.a. n.a. $15,000 $24,000 $0 

Delaware (f, r, v) 2.20 - 6.60 6 $3,250 $6,500 $110 $220 $110 

Florida None None n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. 

Georgia 1.0 - 6.0 6 $2,300 $3,000 $2,700 $7,400 $3,000 

Hawaii (w) 1.40 – 8.25 9 $2,200 $4,400 $1,144 $2,288 $1,144 

Idaho (a, e, p) 1.60 -7.40 7 $6,300 $12,600 $4,000 $8,000 $4,000 

Illinois 3.75 of FTI 1 n.a. n.a. $2,125 $4,250 $2,125 

Indiana (x) 3.3 of FTI 1 n.a. n.a. $1,000 $2,000 $1,500 

Iowa (f, r) 0.36 - 8.98 9 $1,970 $4,860 $40 $40 $40 

Kansas 2.70 - 4.60 2 $3,000 $7,500 $2,250 $4,500 $2,250 

Kentucky (r) 2.00 - 6.00 6 $2,460 $2,460 $10 $10  $10 

Louisiana (f, n) 2.00 - 6.00 3 n.a. n.a. $4,500 $9,000 $1,000 

Maine (e, p) 5.80 - 7.15 3 $11,600 $23,200 $4,050 $8,100 $4,050 

Maryland (o, y)  2.00 - 5.75 8 $2,000 $4,000 $3,200 $6,400 $3,200 

Massachusetts  5.15 1 n.a. n.a. $4,400 $8,800 $1,000 

Michigan  4.25 of FAGI 1 n.a. n.a. $4,000 $4,000  n.a. 

Minnesota (p) 5.35 - 9.85 4 $6,300 $12,600 $4,000 $8,000 $4,000 

Mississippi  3.00 - 5.00 3 $2,300 $4,600 $6,000 $12,000 $1,500 

Missouri (p) 1.50 - 6.00 10 $6,300 $12,600 $2,100 $4,200 $1,200 

Montana (a, e, f, q) 1.00 - 6.90 7 $4,370 $8,740 $2,330 $4,660 $2,330 

Nebraska (r, t) 2.46 - 6.84 4 $6,300 $12,600 $131 $262 $131 

Nevada None None n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. 

New Hampshire (c) 5.0 1 n.a. n.a. $2,400 $4,800 n.a. 

New Jersey  1.40 - 8.97 6 n.a. n.a. $1,000 $2,000 $1,500 

New Mexico (i) 1.70 - 4.90 4 $6,300 $12,600 $4,000 $8,000 $4,000 

New York (t) 4.00 - 8.82 8 $7,950 $15,950 n.a. n.a. $1,000 

North Carolina  5.75 1 $7,500 $15,000 n.a. n.a. n.a. 

North Dakota (e, p, z) 1.10 – 2.90 5 $6,300 $12,600 $4,050 $8,100 $4,050 

Ohio (a, e, g) 0.495 – 4.997 9 n.a. n.a. $2,200 $4,400 $2,200 

Oklahoma (h) 0.5 - 5.0 6 $6,300 $12,600 $1,000 $2,000 $1,000 

Oregon (e, f, r, aa) 5.0 – 9.9 4 $2,145 $4,295 $195 $390 $195 

Pennsylvania  3.07 1 n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. 

Rhode Island (k) 3.75 - 5.99 3 $8,300 $16,600 $3,900 $7,800 $3,900 

South Carolina (e, p) 0.0 - 7.0 6 $6,300 $12,600 $4,000 $8,000 $4,000 

South Dakota None None n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. 

Tennessee (c) 6.0 1 n.a. n.a. $1,250 $2,500 n.a. 

Texas None None n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. 

Utah  5.0 1 (l) (l) $3,000 $6,000 $3,000 

Vermont (e, p) 3.55 - 8.95 5 $6,300 $12,600 $4,050 $8,100 $4,050 

Virginia  2.0 - 5.75 4 $3,000 $6,000 $930 $1,860 $930 

Washington None None n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. 

West Virginia 3.0 - 6.5 5 n.a. n.a. $2,000 $4,000 $2,000 

Wisconsin (e, m) 4.00 - 7.65 4 $10,270 $19,010 $700 $1,400 $700 

Wyoming None None n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. n.a. 

D.C. (j) 4.0 - 8.95 6 $5,200 $8,350 $1,775 $3,550 $1,775 

Source: Fiscal Fact No. 500: State Income Tax Rates and Brackets for 2016. 

http://taxfoundation.org/article/state-individual-income-tax-rates-and-brackets-2016
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STATE COMPARISON OF INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RATES 
 
Footnotes:  

 
(a) 2015 tax information.             
(b) For single taxpayers with AGI below $20,000, the standard deduction is $2,500. This standard deduction amount is reduced by $25 for every additional 
$500 of AGI, not to fall below $2,000. For married taxpayers filing jointly with AGI below $20,000, the standard deduction is $7,500. This standard deduction 
amount is reduced by $175 for every additional $500, not to fall below $4,000. For all taxpayers claiming a dependent with AGI below $20,000, the 
dependent exemption is $1,000. This amount is reduced to $500 per dependent for taxpayers with AGI above $20,000 and below $100,000. For taxpayers 
with over $100,000 AGI, the dependent exemption is $300 per dependent.        
(c) Applies to interest and dividend income only.           
(d) Rates apply to individuals earning more than $75,000. Two special tax tables exist for low- and middle-income individuals. One for individuals below 
$21,000 in income, and one for those between $21,000 and $75,000.          
(e) Bracket levels adjusted for inflation each year. Release dates for tax bracket inflation adjustments vary by state and may fall after the end of the 
applicable tax year.           
(f) These states allow some or all of federal income tax paid to be deducted from state taxable income.      
(g) Ohio's personal and dependent exemptions are $2,200 for an AGI of $40,000 or less, $1,950 if AGI is between $40,001 and $79,999, and $1,700 if AGI is 
$80,000 or above.              
(h) The top rate is scheduled to be reduced to 4.85% in subsequent tax years, contingent upon certain revenue growth.     
(i) Tied to federal tax system, plus an additional $2,500 if federal AGI is equal to or less than $36,667 (single) or $55,000 (married filing jointly).   
(j) Exemptions are phased out by 2% for every $2,500 in income above $150,000.       
(k) The phase-out range for the personal exemption and deduction is $192,700 - $214,700. The exemptions and deductions are completely phased out at 
modified federal AGI of $214,700.            
(l) The standard deduction is taken in the form of a nonrefundable credit of 6% of the federal standard or itemized deduction amount, excluding the 
deduction for state or local income tax.  This credit phases out (in 2014) at 1.3 cents per dollar above $13,590 of AGI ($27,180 for married couples). 
(m) The standard deduction phases out by 12% at $14,800 for single filers and 19.778% at $21,360 for married taxpayers filing jointly. The standard 
deduction phases out to zero at $100,383 for single filers, $117,477 for joint filers.       
(n) Standard deduction and personal exemptions are combined: $4,500 for single filers and married taxpayers filing separately; $9,000 for married taxpayers 
filing jointly and heads of household.           
(o) The standard deduction is 15% of income with a minimum of $1,500 and a cap of $2,000 for single filers, married filing separately filers and dependent 
filers earning more than $13,333. The standard deduction is a minimum of $3,000 and capped at $4,000 for married filing jointly filers, head of household 
filers and qualifying widowers earning more than $26,667.        
(p) Deduction or exemption tied to federal tax system. Federal deductions and exemptions are indexed for inflation.    
(q) Montana filers' standard deduction is 20% of AGI. For single taxpayers, the deduction must be between $1,940 and $4,370. For married taxpayers, the 
deduction must be between $3,880 and $8,740.          
(r) Tax Credit instead of a deduction.           
(s) Exemption credits phase out for single taxpayers by $6 for each $2,500 of AGI above $178,706 and for joint filers by $12 for each $2,500 of AGI above 
$357,417. The credit cannot be reduced to below zero.          
(t) Connecticut, New York, and Nebraska have "tax benefit recapture," by which many high-income taxpayers pay their top tax rate on all income, not just on 
amounts above the benefit threshold.           
(u) Connecticut taxpayers are also given a personal tax credit based upon certain income constraints, which completely phases out by $1,000 for every 
$1,000 of AGI over $30,000.            
(v) In addition to the personal income tax rates, Delaware imposes a tax on lump-sum distributions.      
(w) Additionally, Hawaii allows any taxpayer, other than a corporation, acting as a business entity in more than one state who is required by this chapter to 
file a return to elect to report and pay a tax of 0.5% of its annual gross sales (1) where the taxpayer's only activities in this state consist of sales; and (2) who 
does not own or rent real estate or tangible personal property; and (3) whose annual gross sales in or into this state during the tax year is not in excess of 
$100,000. Haw. Rev. Stat. § 235-51 (2015).          
(x) $1,000 is a base exemption. If dependents meet certain conditions, filers can take an additional $1,500 exemption for each.   
(y) The exemption amount has the following phase out schedule: If AGI is above $100,000 but below $125,000, the exemption is $1,600; if AGI is above 
$125,000 but below $150,000, the exemption is $800; if AGI is above $150,000, there is no exemption.     
(z) Federal Taxable income is the starting point for North Dakota, so the federal standard deduction and exemptions are built in.   
(aa) The personal exemption credit is not allowed if federal AGI exceeds $100,000 for single filers or $200,000 for joint filers.   
            

Source: Tax Foundation, Fiscal Fact No. 500: State Income Tax Rates and Brackets for 2016. 

  

http://taxfoundation.org/article/state-individual-income-tax-rates-and-brackets-2016
http://taxfoundation.org/article/state-individual-income-tax-rates-and-brackets-2016
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURNS BY COUNTY 
Tax Year 2016 

County 
Number of  

Returns 
Number of 
Exemptions 

State Taxable 
Income (Thousands) 

State Income Tax 
Liability (Thousands) 

ABBEVILLE 9,575 20,131 $187,968 10,526 

AIKEN 68,377 139,069 2,025,014 100,830 

ALLENDALE 3,256 6,467 39,637 2,146 

ANDERSON 77,020 159,583 1,971,631 116,003 

BAMBERG 5,001 10,200 84,385 4,782 

BARNWELL 7,879 16,357 159,254 8,299 

BEAUFORT 75,610 148,677 2,607,850 159,031 

BERKELEY 82,885 169,120 2,334,103 137,978 

CALHOUN 4,965 9,892 106,192 7,028 

CHARLESTON 181,768 337,331 7,580,283 486,325 

CHEROKEE 21,095 43,763 410,893 20,922 

CHESTER 12,802 25,822 244,998 11,507 

CHESTERFIELD 16,593 34,191 305,919 14,595 

CLARENDON 11,889 23,867 187,000 10,414 

COLLETON 15,720 31,867 260,507 15,309 

DARLINGTON 26,077 52,912 566,788 33,059 

DILLON 11,384 24,030 164,207 8,452 

DORCHESTER 58,559 121,352 1,688,178 99,503 

EDGEFIELD 8,005 16,769 199,777 9,232 

FAIRFIELD 9,405 18,012 191,443 10,671 

FLORENCE 57,436 116,909 1,448,955 87,399 

GEORGETOWN 26,260 51,188 674,077 42,902 

GREENVILLE 220,000 451,706 7,654,488 481,372 

GREENWOOD 27,930 58,241 633,109 36,641 

HAMPTON 7,351 14,827 127,323 7,005 

HORRY 143,789 268,906 2,944,678 177,908 

JASPER 8,743 17,346 141,427 7,725 

KERSHAW 27,095 55,615 678,774 39,988 

LANCASTER 33,902 70,932 967,122 36,355 

LAURENS 24,350 50,308 486,463 27,375 

LEE 6,008 12,020 90,965 4,989 

LEXINGTON 118,888 243,360 3,730,620 228,656 

MARION 12,244 24,580 162,335 8,581 

MARLBORO 9,660 19,617 134,380 6,196 

MCCORMICK 3,805 7,279 66,349 3,227 

NEWBERRY 15,815 32,586 353,965 20,305 

OCONEE 31,084 62,798 883,867 50,404 

ORANGEBURG 34,707 68,674 600,364 33,948 

PICKENS 47,815 97,033 1,351,010 78,019 

RICHLAND 168,189 320,975 5,226,633 321,940 

SALUDA 6,681 15,033 123,562 6,957 

SPARTANBURG 124,978 258,481 3,385,460 197,254 

SUMTER 41,816 85,442 819,981 46,619 

UNION 10,575 21,282 187,484 10,015 

WILLIAMSBURG 11,703 23,437 162,318 8,787 

YORK 110,706 234,132 4,164,420 155,450 

OUT OF COUNTRY 714 1,126 22,773 1,431 

OUT OF STATE 289,958 611,270 5,598,057 357,604 

UNKNOWN 3,560 4,335 32,601 1,887 
Total 2,333,627 4,708,850 $64,169,587 $3,753,551 
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURNS BY TAX LIABILITY 
Tax Year 2016 

Tax Liability Number of Returns Percent of Total 

$0.00  966,486 41.42 

$0.01-$25 42,739 1.83 

$26-$50 36,167 1.55 

$51-$75 35,151 1.51 

$76-$100 28,065 1.20 

$101-$125 25,168 1.08 

$126-$150 22,802 0.98 

$151-$200 46,219 1.98 

$201-$250 35,112 1.50 

$251-$300 33,311 1.43 

$301-$400 57,331 2.46 

$401-$500 50,878 2.18 

$501-$600 42,511 1.82 

$601-$700 37,875 1.62 

$701-$800 35,797 1.53 

$801-$900 35,590 1.53 

$901-$1,000 32,238 1.38 

$1,001-$1,250 75,124 3.22 

$1,251-$1,500 65,638 2.81 

$1,501-$2,000 110,890 4.75 

$2,001-$2,500 87,074 3.73 

$2,501-$3,000 70,238 3.01 

$3,001-$4,000 102,311 4.38 

$4,001-$5,000 70,374 3.02 

$5,001-$7,500 92,993 3.98 

$7,501-$9,999 39,187 1.68 

OVER $10,000 56,358 2.42 

Total 2,333,627 100.00 
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURNS BY INCOME CLASS 
TAX YEAR 2016 

State Taxable 
Income Class 

Number of 
Returns 

Number of 
Exemptions 

Total State 
Taxable Income 

(Thousands) 

State Tax 
Amount 

(Thousands) 

State Tax  
Credits 

(Thousands) 

State Tax 
Liability 

(Thousands) 

$0  763,009 1,520,743 (1,814,360) 65,498 20,990 61,538 

$1-$1,000 73,362 131,359 33,839 813 219 741 

$1,001-$2,000 57,653 102,470 85,797 864 141 768 

$2,001-$3,000 51,270 91,201 127,866 787 900 698 

$3,001-$4,000 46,911 84,632 163,815 1,128 186 1,051 

$4,001-$5,000 43,875 79,461 197,275 1,341 82 1,216 

$5,001-$6,000 41,441 75,271 227,746 1,862 265 1,652 

$6,001-$7,000 38,840 70,727 252,468 2,654 149 2,263 

$7,001-$8,000 37,290 67,804 279,502 3,979 141 3,453 

$8,001-$9,000 35,658 64,969 302,975 5,365 261 4,662 

$9,001-$10,000 34,458 62,116 327,156 6,525 173 5,813 

$10,001-$11,000 33,290 60,042 349,455 9,279 278 8,246 

$11,001-$12,001 32,007 57,787 367,955 9,422 227 8,654 

$12,001-$13,000 30,714 55,684 383,983 10,082 359 9,314 

$13,001-$14,000 29,565 53,760 398,986 9,788 290 9,326 

$14,001-$15,000 28,089 51,034 407,276 18,186 746 16,299 

$15,001-$20,000 126,747 229,403 2,207,897 106,955 5,004 99,749 

$20,001-$25,000 106,189 192,760 2,381,540 112,748 5,483 106,968 

$25,001-$35,000 166,102 313,857 4,934,904 274,677 14,778 255,466 

$35,001-$50,000 169,532 351,156 7,110,102 422,178 25,833 390,378 

$50,001-$75,000 165,315 392,614 10,126,714 637,265 44,277 582,785 

$75,001-$100,000 88,770 231,482 7,651,250 500,317 39,543 456,269 

$100,001-$150,000 73,696 199,883 8,874,583 603,110 52,766 543,881 

$150,001-$200,000 26,277 73,151 4,500,705 311,727 29,201 281,341 

$200,001-$350,000 22,381 63,575 5,690,603 407,049 41,020 365,945 

$350,001-$500,000 5,584 16,154 2,297,868 166,482 22,138 148,185 

$500,001-$750,000 3,083 9,007 1,854,893 135,436 14,614 121,098 

Over- $750,000 2,519 6,748 4,446,794 320,097 56,828 265,792 

Total 2,333,627 4,708,850 64,169,587 4,145,614 376,892 3,753,551 
 

Note: Credits are non-refundable 
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN STATISTICS 
TAX YEAR 2016 

 
*Prior to Debt Match 

 

 

All Returns Processed 

Filing Status 
Individual Income 

Tax Returns Amended Total 

Single  998,244 5,804 1,004,048 

Head of Household 380,175 2,303 382,478 

Married, Filing Jointly 871,754 8,166 879,920 

Married, Filing Separately 65,402 419 65,821 

Widow/Widower 1,341 19 1,360 

Total 2,316,916 16,711 2,333,627 

 
   

Refund Returns 

Return Type 
Number of 

Refunds Claimed 
Total Amount 

Refunded* 
Average 

Refund Amount* 

Individual Income Tax Return 1,891,945 $1,531,855,616 $809 

Amended 17,369 $16,045,361 $923 

Total 1,909,314 $1,547,900,978 $810 

Use Tax Collections Reported on SC 1040 

Number of Returns 32,092 

Amount $2,037,225 
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX CONTRIBUTIONS 
TAX YEAR 2016 

 

  

  

Type of Contribution Number of Returns Amount 

Children's Trust of South Carolina 1,060 $14,920.19 

Donate Life South Carolina 517 $4,578.00 

Eldercare Trust Fund 908 $11,418.00 

Endangered Wildlife Fund 1,621 $22,827.95 

K-12 Public Education Program 910 $15,483.00 

SC Association of Habitat Affiliates 314 $4,230.00 

SC Conservative Bank Trust Fund 544 $6,381.00 

SC Dept. National Resources Fund 1,041 $13,677.48 

SC Financial Literary Trust Fund 341 $2,094.00 

SC First Steps to School Readiness Fund 595 $7,308.00 

SC Law Enforcement Assistance Program 870 $13,857.00 

SC Litter Control Enforcement Program 588 $4,790.00 

SC Military Family Relief Fund 1,006 $14,507.00 

SC State Forests Fund 825 $7,550.37 

SC State Park Contributions 1,515 $20,832.80 

SC Veteran's Trust Fund 1,154 $15,328.00 

War Between States Heritage Trust Fund 330 $5,020.00 

Total Contributions 14,139 $184,802.79 



 

13 

 

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX CREDITS 
TAX YEAR 2016 

Credit Claimed 
Total Number  

of Credits 
Total Amount  

of Credits 

Abandoned Buildings Revitalization Credit  163   $7,267,652  

Accelerated Small Business Jobs Credit  122   745,394  

Alternative Fuel Property Credit <5   9,466  

Alternative Motor Vehicle Credit  83   107,636  

Angel Investor Credit  192   3,211,560  

Apprenticeship Credit  36   148,787  

Brownfields Cleanup Credit  53   135,629  

Capital Investment Credit  203   743,901  

Certified Historical Residential Structure  45   1,459,079  

Certified Historical Structure Credit  83   3,246,626  

Child and Dependent Care Credit 126,297  21,953,502  

Clean Energy Credit  41   336,301  

Community Development Credit  124   558,758  

Credit for Shareholders of S Corporation Banks  123   463,105  

Drip/Trickle Irrigation Systems Credit  36   37,184  

Employer Child Care Program Credit  46   668,348  

Energy Efficient Manufactured Home Credit  50   61,111  

Ethanol or Biodiesel Production Credit <5   2,731  

Exceptional Needs Children Education Credit  605   8,305,084  

Excess Insurance Premium Credit  2,951   2,965,183  

Family Independence Payments Credit (Additional)  44   77,298  

Fire Sprinkler System Credit  <5   5,832  

Health Insurance Pool Credit  15   39,249  

Industry Partnership Fund Credit  270   5,625,126  

Minority Business Credit  38   219,875  

New Jobs Credit  518   8,082,871  

Nursing Home Credit  136   37,715  

Plug-In Hybrid Vehicle Credit  80   131,713  

Port Cargo Volume Increase Credit  6   57,326  

Premarital Preparation Course  47   6,461  

Qualified Conservation Contribution Credit  362   7,308,734  

Qualified Retirement Plan Contribution  74   159,795  

Renewable Fuel Facility Credit  10   235,385  

Research Expenses Credit  514   2,178,828  

Residential Retrofit Credit  208   228,455  

Retail Facilities Revitalization Credit  67   1,423,201  

SC Quality Forum Credit  <5   4,597  

Small Business Jobs Credit  96   768,833  

Solar Energy or Small Hydropower System Credit  2,296   9,052,290  

Solar Energy Property Credit  153   1,408,147  

Taxes Paid To Another State  100,506   266,225,241  



 

14 

 

  

Textiles Rehabilitation Credit  140   5,560,288  

Tuition Tax Credit 5,535  3,574,905  

Two Wage Earner Credit 381,821  51,768,661  

Venison For Charity Credit  17   6,250  

Venture Capital Investment Credit <5  1,103  

Water Resources Credit  15   25,221  

Prior Year Carryover  862   27,790,555  

TOTAL 625,094 $444,430,992 
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DEBT SETOFF COLLECTION 
TAX YEAR 2016 

Agency Number of Returns Amount 

AIKEN CENTER  61   $11,136  

AIKEN TECHNICAL COLLEGE  596   187,855  

ANDERSON HOUSING AUTH  42   13,761  

CENTRAL PIEDMONT COMM COLLEG  27   8,792  

CHARLESTON SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY  101   59,174  

CIT OF COLUMBIA CUSTOMER CARE DIVISION  41   5,943  

CITY OF YORK HOUSING AUTH  18   2,855  

CLEMSON UNIV PEKINS LOANS  68   40,096  

CLEMSON UNIV STUDENT ACCOUNT  291   152,379  

COASTAL CAROLINA - PERKINS  34   2,712  

COASTAL CAROLINA UNIVERSITY  25   11,480  

COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON PERKINS  58   27,998  

COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON STUDENT  203   80,441  

COLUMBIA COLLEGE  55   30,415  

CONNECTOR 2000 ASSOCIATION INC  49   3,193  

CONVERSE COLLEGE  14   6,621  

CORNERSTONE <5  60  

ERNEST E KENNEDY CENTER INC THE  90   26,312  

ERSKINE COLLEGE  23   9,396  

FLORENCE COUNTY  218   54,193  

FLORENCE-DARLINGTON TEC STUDENT  1,133   353,658  

FLORENCE-DARLINGTON TECH PERKINS  10   8,742  

FORREST JUNIOR COLLEGE  142   65,309  

FRANCIS MARION UNIVERSITY  451   172,757  

GASTON COLLEGE  15   5,789  

GREENVILLE COUNTY SCHOOL  10   2,722  

GREENVILLE TECH COLLEGE    75   12,108  

HORRY GEORGETOWN TECHNICAL COLLEGE  1,480   506,962  

HOUSING & REDEV OF MARLBORO  14   4,125  

HOUSING AUTHORITY OF CHARLESTON  231   53,415  

HOUSING AUTH OF FLORENCE  71   21,990  

HOUSING AUTH OF GREENWOOD  30   8,481  

HOUSING AUTH OF HARTSVILLE  16   3,515  

HOUSING AUTH OF MARION    63   15,308  

HOUSING AUTHORITY OF CHERAW  45   9,212  

HOUSING AUTHORITY OF MCCOLL <5  581  

HOUSING AUTHORITY OF COLUMBIA  137   42,949  

MULLINS HOUSING AUTHORITY  17   4,148  

HOUSING AUTHORITY OF NORTH CHARLESTON  66   32,063  

INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE  28,838   18,152,447  
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DEBT SETOFF COLLECTION 
TAX YEAR 2016 

Agency Number of Returns Amount 

LANCASTER COUNTY NATURAL GAS AUTHORITY F  71   9,510  

LANDER UNIVERSITY  232   108,817  

LEXINGTON COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NO 1  84   14,490  

LEXINGTON COUNTY TREASURER <5  2,124  

MEDICAL UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL AUTHORITY  11,998   5,054,848  

MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA  28   16,623  

MUNICIPAL ASSOCIATION OF SOUTH CAROLINA  12,470   2,851,857  

NORTHEASTERN TECH COLLEGE  208   59,377  

ORANGEBURG CALHOUN TECHNICAL COLLEGE  677   174,087  

PICKENS COUNTY COMMISSION ON ALCOHOL & D  111   17,908  

PIEDMONT TECHNICAL COLLEGE  1,130   307,384  

PRESBYTERIAN COLLEGE  16   9,066  

RICHMOND COMMUNITY COLLEGE  7   2,566  

ROWAN-CABARRUS COMM COLLEGE  52   12,557  

SALUDA CTY AMBULANCE SERVICE  20   7,603  

SANTEE COOPER AUTHORITY  2,161   430,409  

SC ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES  214,388   94,688,405  

SC COMMISSION FOR THE BLIND <5  733  

SC DEPT OF AGRICULTURE <5  257  

SC DEPT DISABILITIES & SP NE  9   3,509  

SC DEPT HEALTH & ENVIR <5  1,865  

SC DEPT OF EMPLOYMENT AND WORKFORCE  8,721   2,901,113  

SC DEPT OF EMPLOYMENT AND WORKFORCE INSURANCE  176   101,349  

SC DEPT OF MENTAL HEALTH  3,542   1,197,060  

SC DEPT OF MOTOR VEHICLE  528   89,788  

SC DEPT OF PROBATION PAROLE AND PARDON  1,691   393,839  

SC DEPT OF REVENUE ENTERPRISE  49,040   17,689,928  

SC DEPT OF REVENUE W/A/R  31,591   13,080,730  

SC DEPT OF SOCIAL SERVICES - CHILD SUPPORT  12,555   5,685,056  

SC DEPT OF SOCIAL SERVICES FOOD STAMPS  1,241   285,540  

SC DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION  25   9,249  

SC HOUSE ETHICS COMMITTEE <5  1,575  

SC PUBLIC EMPLOYEE BENEFIT A  42   32,723  

SC REGIONAL HOUSING DEV  118   32,368  

SC STATE UNIVERSITY  759   345,360  

SHERMAN COLLEGE OF STRAIGHT CHIROPRACTI  13   14,809  

SOUTH UNIVERSITY  11   8,367  

SPARTANBURG COMMUNITY COLLEGE  1,127   307,811  

SPARTANBURG METHODIST COLL  28   12,895  

STATE ETHICS COMMISSION  34   3,631  

THE CITADEL  11   6,960  

TRI COUNTY TECHNICAL CTR  88   10,082  
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DEBT SETOFF COLLECTION 
TAX YEAR 2016 

Agency Number of Returns Amount 

TRIDENT TECHNICAL COLLEG  1,371   557,063  

USC PERKINS  522   263,051  

USC  177   106,518  

USC BEAUFORT  35   17,962  

USC UPSTATE  197   88,757  

WILLIAMSBURG TECHNICAL COLLEGE  170   47,858  

WINTHROP UNIVERSITY  464   199,573  

WOFFORD COLLEGE  <5   2,854  

WOODRUFF HOUSING AUTH  12   2,366  

YORK TECHNICAL COLLEGE  760   236,692  

TOTAL  393,589   $167,718,014 
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JOB DEVELOPMENT AND TRAINING CREDITS 
  

Employers who create at least 10 jobs and make capital investments in the state may apply to 
the Coordinating Council for Economic Development to receive a portion of their withholding 
dollars as a refundable credit pursuant to a Revitalization Agreement.  
  
Retraining credits may also be approved for certain employers. Credits are paid quarterly only 
after job creation and certification of investment. The amount of the credit varies depending 
upon the economic development status of the county where the jobs are created. The SCDOR 
administers the credit applications.  
  

 

Enacted: 1995 

Statute: Title 12, Chapter 10 

Rate: 2% to 5% of Withholding 

Distribution: Credit to Qualified Taxpayers 

Fiscal Year 2017 
Credit Dollars Claimed: 

$78,872,350 

 

 

 

Withholding Period 
Job Development  

Credits 
Job Retraining  

Credits 
  Total Credits  

Claimed 

Quarter 1 (July 2016 – September 2016) $22,911,329 $453,938 $23,365,267 

Quarter 2 (October 2016 – December 2016) $18,588,068 $489,089 $19,077,157 

Quarter 3 (January 2017 – March 2017) $20,109,329 $326,083 $20,435,413 

Quarter 4 (April 2017 – June 2017) $15,639,667 $354,843 $15,994,511 

TOTAL $77,248,395 $1,623,955 $78,872,350 
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3. CORPORATE INCOME TAX 
 

The corporate tax rate is 5%. The starting point in determining South Carolina taxable income is 
federal taxable income with certain South Carolina modifications subject to allocation and 
apportionment.  This process means that multi-state corporations must directly allocate certain 
non-business related items of income and gains and losses from the sale of real estate on 
Schedule F and apply an apportionment ratio from Schedule M to all income remaining after 
allocation. 
 
Corporations manufacturing, selling, renting or dealing in tangible personal property (except for 
repair) use an apportionment ratio based on sales alone.  Most other corporations including 
financial businesses, service businesses, doctors, architects, installation and repair businesses 
and contractors use a gross receipts apportionment ratio.  Railroads, telephone companies, 
pipeline companies, airlines, and shipping lines use special apportionment methods.  A 
corporation may petition for, or the Department may require, another apportionment method 
if the other method does not fairly represent the extent of the corporation’s business activity.  
Also, in certain circumstances the Department may enter into an incentive agreement with a 
corporation establishing an alternative allocation and apportionment method for 5 years or 10 
years. 
 
Return and estimated tax payment due dates are the same as the federal requirements.  
Estimated tax payment rules are similar to federal rules. 
 
For a U.S. State comparison of state corporate income tax rates and brackets for Tax Year 2017 
please see the following Tax Foundation publication: Fiscal Fact No. 542: State Corporate 
Income Tax Rates and Brackets for 2017. 
 
 

Enacted: 1927 

Statute: 12-6-530 

Rate: 5% 

Distribution: State General Fund 

FY 2017 Collections: 
Yea2017:2017:Colle
ctions: 

$320,415,504 

 
Note: The Fiscal Year 2017 collections represented in this section includes gross revenue allocated to Property Tax 
Relief funds (PTRTF).  

  

https://files.taxfoundation.org/20170828112929/Tax-Foundation-FF542-8.28.pdf
https://files.taxfoundation.org/20170828112929/Tax-Foundation-FF542-8.28.pdf
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CORPORATE LICENSE FEE 
 

Corporations (and other entities taxed for income tax purposes as corporations) must pay an 
annual license fee.  For most corporations, the license fee is $1.00 for every $1,000.00 of capital 
stock and paid-in surplus plus $15.00.  Certain companies, such as power, gas, waterworks, 
telephone, and express companies, must calculate their license fees on the basis of South 
Carolina gross receipts and property.  Multi-state corporations use the apportionment ratio to 
arrive at the license fee.  The minimum license fee is $25.00. 
  
An initial license tax of $25.00 is paid with the initial annual report (CL-1). 
 

  

Enacted: 1927 

Statute: Chapter 20, Title 12, SC Code of Laws 

Rate: $1 for each $1,000 of capital stock and paid 
in surplus plus $15.  (Minimum $25) 

Distribution: State General Fund 

FY 2017 Collections: $68,181,266  
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STATE CORPORATE INCOME TAX RATES 
AS OF FEBRUARY 2017 

State Tax Rates (%) Brackets ($) 

Ala. 6.50 0 
Alaska 0.0 – 9.4 0 – 222K 

Ariz. 4.90 0 
Ark. (a) 1.0 – 6.5 0 – 100K 

Calif. 8.84 0  
Colo. 4.63 0 

Conn. (b) 9.00 0 
Del. (c) 8.70 0 

Fla. 5.50 0 
Ga. 6.00 0 

Hawaii 4.40 – 6.40 0 – 100K 
Idaho 7.40 0 
Ill. (d) 7.75 0 

Ind. (e) 6.25 0 
Iowa 6.0 – 12.0 0 – 250K 
Kans. 4.0 – 7.0  0 – 50K 

Ky. 4.0 – 6.0 0 – 100K 
La. 4.0 – 8.0 0 – 200K 

Maine 3.5 – 8.93 0 – 250K 
Md. 8.25 0 

Mass. 8.00 0 
Mich. 6.00 0 
Minn. 9.80 0 
Miss. 3.00 – 5.00 0 – 10K 

Mo. 6.25 0 
Mont. 6.75 0 
Nebr. 5.58 – 7.81 0 – 100K 

Nev. (c) None None 
N.H. 8.20 0 

N.J. (f) 9.00 0 - 100K 
N.M. (g) 4.80 – 6.20 0 – 500k 

N.Y. 6.50 0 
N.C. 3.0 0 
N.D. 1.41 – 4.31 0 – 50K 

Ohio (c)    
Okla. 6.00 0 
Ore. 6.60 – 7.60 0 – 1 million 

Pa. 9.99 0 
R.I. 7.00 0 
S.C. 5.0 0 
S.D. None None 

Tenn. 6.50 0 
Tex. (c)     

Utah 5.00 0 
Vt. 6.00 – 8.50 0 – 25K 

Va. (c)  6.0 0 
Wash. (c)     

W.V. 6.50 0 
Wis. 7.90 0 

Wyo. None None 
D.C. 9.00 0 

 

(a) Arkansas has a “benefit recapture,” by which 
corporations with more than $100,000 of taxable 
income pay a flat tax of 6.5% on all income, not just 
on amounts above the benefit threshold.  
 
(b) Rate includes a 20% surtax, which effectively 
increases the rate from 7.5% to 9%. Surtax is 
required by businesses with at least $100 million 
annual gross income.  
 
(c) Nevada, Ohio, Texas, and Washington do not have 
a corporate income tax but do have a gross receipts 
tax with rates not strictly comparable to corporate 
income tax rates. Delaware and Virginia have gross 
receipts taxes in addition to corporate income taxes.  
 
(d) Illinois’ rate includes two separate corporate 
income taxes, one at a 5.25% rate and one at a 2.5% 
rate.  
 
(e) The tax rate in Indiana will decrease to 6.0% on 
July 1, 2017.  
 
(f) Corporations with entire net income greater than 
$100,000 pay 9% on all taxable income, companies 
with entire net income greater than $50,000 and less 
than or equal to $100,000 pay 7.5% on all taxable 
income, and companies with entire net income less 
than or equal to $50,000 pay 6.5% on all taxable 
income.  
 
(g) The tax rate in New Mexico will decrease to 5.9% 
in 2018. Source: Tax Foundation; state tax statutes, 
forms, and instructions; Bloomberg BNA. 
 
Source: Tax Foundation; state tax statutes, forms, and 
instructions; Bloomberg BNA. Fiscal Fact: State Corporate 
Income Tax Rates and Brackets for 2017. 
 

 
 

 

https://files.taxfoundation.org/20170828112929/Tax-Foundation-FF542-8.28.pdf
https://files.taxfoundation.org/20170828112929/Tax-Foundation-FF542-8.28.pdf


 

22 

 

CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 
 
*Total includes amounts taken on TC-4 New Jobs Credit, TC-4SA Accelerated Small Business Jobs Tax Credit, and TC-
4SB Small Business Jobs Credit 
 
**Total credit carryforwards are for current returns that have claimed a credit for FY 16-17 
  
Note:  Figures are based on unaudited returns. Number of returns and amounts are for income tax returns 
processed during FY 16-17 regardless of the tax year. In some cases, returns for multiple tax years were processed 
during the fiscal year.  The total for each return may include carryovers from prior years.  Income tax credits for 
pass-through entities are included in the individual income tax credits.  The total number of credits does not equal 
the total number of returns claiming credits because taxpayers may take multiple credits on a single return.    

 

  

Credits Earned Number of Returns Amount 

TC- Column A Carry Forward (CF) From Previous Year  $1,363,029,789 

TC-1 Drip/Trickle Irrigation Systems <5 2,500 

TC-2 Socio/Econ Disadvantage Small Business <5 161,876 

TC-4 New Jobs*  320 58,722,669 

TC-6 Infrastructure 8 2,440,712 

TC-8 Corporate Headquarters 22 2,192,346 

TC-11 Capital Investment 234 33,228,839 

TC-12 Family Independence Payments 18 32,221 

TC-14 Community Development 6 818,578 

TC-17 Recycling <5 15,372,256 

TC-18 Research Expenses                        387 59,274,082 

TC-19 Gift of Land for Conservation 7 2,819,542 

TC-21 Certified Historic Structure <5 505,720 

TC-23 Textile Rehabilitation 12 1,867,195 

TC-24 Commercials <5 65,626 

TC-30 Port Cargo Volume Increase 18 564,700 

TC-31 Retail Facilities Revitalization <5 445,535 

TC-37 Whole Effluent Toxicity Testing <5 8,379 

TC-38 Solar Energy System 11 589,219 

TC-45 Apprenticeship 19 628,887 

TC-50 Biomass Resource 9 709,316 

TC-55 Abandoned Buildings Revitalization <5 146,790 

Infrastructure §12-20-105 <5 822,832 

Unidentified Taken 14 951,707 

Total Credits Earned plus CF  from Previous Year  $1,545,401,316 

Expired Credits  (29,034,536) 

Credits Utilized  (76,297,003) 

Total Credit Carryforward**  $1,440,069,777 
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4. SALES AND USE TAX 
 
Sales tax is imposed on the sale of goods and certain services in South Carolina.  Use tax is 
imposed on goods and certain services purchased out of state and brought into South Carolina 
on which no sales tax has been paid.  The statewide sales and use tax rate is 6%.  Counties may 
impose an additional 1% local option sales and use tax and other 1% special local taxes if voters 
in the county approve the tax.  Generally, all retail sales of tangible personal property are 
subject to the state’s sales or use tax. 
 
Sales Tax: 
South Carolina imposes a 6% sales tax on the gross proceeds of sales of every person engaged 
in the business of selling tangible personal property at retail. The retailer is liable for the tax. 
The sales tax is also imposed on the fair market value of items originally purchased at wholesale 
that are withdrawn for use by the business or by any person withdrawing the property. 
 
Use Tax: 
South Carolina imposes a 6% use tax on the sales price of tangible personal property purchased 
at retail for storage, use, or other consumption in South Carolina, regardless of whether the 
retailer is engaged in business in South Carolina. The use tax is the liability of the purchaser. 
South Carolina allows a credit against the use tax due in South Carolina for the state and local 
sales or use tax due and paid in another state on purchases of tangible personal property. 
 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Enacted: 1951 

Statute: Title 12, Chapter 36 

Rate: 6% plus local taxes 

Distribution 66.7% to General Fund 
16.7% to Education Improvement Act  
16.7% to Homestead Exemption  

FY 2017 Collections: $2,896,271,260 
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$3,000 MAXIMUM TAXPAYER DISCOUNT 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 

Total Discounts Taxpaying Establishments Discounts Taken 

$0 - $500 60,165 $5,216,315 

$500 - $1,000 6,467 $4,593,325 

$1,000 - $1,500 2,918 $3,564,241 

$1,500 - $2,000 1,658 $2,859,925 

$2,000 - $2,500 1,067 $2,384,709 

$2,500 - $3,000 1,109 $3,100,784 

Over $3,001* 3,615 $11,268,270 

Total 76,999 $32,987,571 

 

Note*: Taxpayers that file and pay electronically have a maximum discount of $3,100 

 

 

 

$10,000 MAXIMUM TAXPAYER DISCOUNT 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 
 

  

Total Discounts Taxpaying Establishments Discounts Taken 

$0 - $500 >5 $0.00 

$2,000 - $2,500 0 $0.00 

$4,000 - $5,000 0 $0.00 

$5,000 - $6,000 >5 $5,218 

$6,000 - $7,000 0 $0.00 

$10,000 and over >5 $20,000 

Total >5 $25,218 
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GROSS AND NET TAXABLE SALES BY COUNTY 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 

County Sales Accounts Gross Sales Total Net Taxable Sales 

 Abbeville  334          $245,425,582                $83,740,660  

 Aiken  2,470                 3,144,273,511                       1,322,198,369  

 Allendale  128                    270,789,557                             20,482,063  

 Anderson  3,484                 5,696,133,656                       1,922,172,665  

 Bamberg  228                    282,937,325                             61,612,121  

 Barnwell  363                    264,226,773                          110,560,460  

 Beaufort  4,005                 4,617,923,914                       2,928,224,587  

 Berkeley  2,870              12,448,462,652                       2,022,258,262  

 Calhoun  228                    237,673,911                             47,890,173  

 Charleston  10,881              16,473,712,584                       8,571,238,521  

 Cherokee  908                 1,696,060,601                          452,989,339  

 Chester  529                    843,055,520                          158,688,366  

 Chesterfield  708                    887,667,232                          224,559,904  

 Clarendon  552                    441,819,099                          162,241,709  

 Colleton  680                    722,856,267                          316,901,616  

 Darlington  1,136                 1,320,787,870                          399,501,598  

 Dillon  499                    596,760,315                          177,375,750  

 Dorchester  2,155                 2,918,887,617                          981,373,518  

 Edgefield  316                    316,669,342                             70,946,070  

 Fairfield  322                    677,849,239                             94,873,878  

 Florence  3,050                 5,828,161,209                       2,014,791,522  

 Georgetown  1,558                 1,380,387,982                          723,521,993  

 Greenville  11,046              18,101,346,910                       7,826,662,561  

 Greenwood  1,256                 2,290,772,816                          681,779,564  

 Hampton  314                    326,997,304                             77,412,194  

 Horry  7,992              11,293,213,460                       6,755,706,411  
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County Sales Accounts Gross Sales Total Net Taxable Sales 

 Jasper  530 $1,412,583,379  $443,003,137  

 Kershaw  1,062                 1,418,318,131                          408,709,772  

 Lancaster  1,295                 1,492,956,881                          576,848,172  

 Laurens  909                 1,419,015,090                          349,132,111  

 Lee  276                    461,906,776                             44,165,248  

 Lexington  5,936              15,322,329,485                       4,970,733,918  

 Marion  528                    610,968,842                          179,097,618  

 Marlboro  397                    440,645,763                          105,124,029  

 McCormick  128                       78,327,213                             22,634,994  

 Newberry  695                    954,004,986                          291,046,209  

 Oconee  1,264                 2,132,152,261                          581,246,029  

 Orangeburg  1,647                 2,856,295,275                          743,304,571  

 Pickens  1,915                 2,570,001,285                       1,075,162,228  

 Richland  7,582              11,268,798,594                       4,905,856,842  

 Saluda  253                    168,644,385                             46,848,628  

 Spartanburg  5,835              10,500,105,950                       3,354,604,196  

 Sumter  1,623                 2,132,544,597                          852,144,124  

 Union  418                    340,976,906                          141,833,632  

 Williamsburg  527                    563,486,151                          203,609,042  

 York  4,424                 7,014,811,756                       2,945,309,521  

 Out of State  18,133              57,527,427,025                    14,897,160,996 

Grand Total 113,389 $214,011,152,979 $75,347,278,894 
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GROSS SALES BY CITY AND COUNTY 

FISCAL YEAR 2017 

City and County Gross Sales 
 

City and County Gross Sales 
ABBEVILLE  BAMBERG 

Abbeville $114,752,586  Bamberg $77,396,897 

Calhoun Falls $33,082,414  Denmark $38,914,485 

Donalds $1,164,448  Ehrhardt $8,988,867 

Due West $9,943,344  Olar $1,010,570 

Honea Path $3,454,165  Unincorporated $156,626,506 

Unincorporated $80,056,080  Total $282,937,325 

Ware Shoals $2,972,545  BARNWELL 
Total $245,425,581  Barnwell $190,534,304 

   Blackville $12,358,462 

AIKEN  Elko                      $543,810 

Aiken $1,063,825,820  Hilda $506,090 

Burnettown $251,621  Kline $142,414 

Jackson $8,503,087  Snelling $156,334 

Monetta $4,695,044  Unincorporated $16,378,649 

New Ellenton $27,156,937  Williston $43,606,710 

North Augusta $453,229,562  Total $264,226,773 

Salley $1,083,137  BEAUFORT 
Unincorporated $1,562,423,979  Beaufort $676,170,344 

Wagener $20,971,505  Bluffton $556,551,452 

Windsor $2,132,819  Hilton Head Island $1,609,775,746 

Total $3,144,273,511  Port Royal $113,604,239 

   Unincorporated $1,659,717,290 

ALLENDALE  Yemassee $2,104,843 

Allendale $213,188,481  Total $4,617,923,914 

Fairfax $13,841,161    

Unincorporated $43,759,915  BERKELEY 
Total $270,789,557  Bonneau $12,781,472 

   Charleston $204,621,753 

ANDERSON  Goose Creek $702,835,175 

Anderson $1,698,932,951  Hanahan $174,167,570 

Belton $113,598,273  Jamestown $6,408,920 

Clemson $7,091  Moncks Corner $2,353,032,678 

Easley $1,533,290  North Charleston $28,053,970 

Honea Path $76,431,436  St Stephen $22,591,870 

Iva $21,880,753  Summerville $776,120,686 

Pelzer $28,571,836  Unincorporated $8,167,848,558 

Pendleton $78,111,945  Total $12,448,462,652 

Starr $3,968,880  CALHOUN 
Unincorporated $3,609,120,574  Cameron $11,970,815 

West Pelzer $8,800,199  St Matthews $39,786,438 

Williamston $55,176,428  Unincorporated $185,916,658 

Total $5,696,133,656  Total $237,673,911 
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City and County Gross Sales 
 

City and County Gross Sales 
CHARLESTON  CLARENDON 

Awendaw $29,726,448  Manning $268,786,797 

Charleston $5,656,512,118  Paxville $1,077,974 

Folly Beach $101,403,402  Summerton $19,821,100 

Goose Creek $667,713  Turbeville $38,523,204 

Hollywood $42,249,919  Unincorporated $113,610,024 

Isle of Palms $189,022,394  Total $441,819,099 

James Island $71,708,982    

Kiawah Island $187,575,368  COLLETON 
Lincolnville $97,071  Cottageville $10,382,279 

McClellanville $15,238,478  Edisto Beach $56,015,914 

Meggett $1,849,896  Lodge $1,700,899 

Mt Pleasant $2,288,840,592  Smoaks $2,115,552 

North Charleston $6,519,741,816  Unincorporated $241,586,310 

Ravenel $117,913,852  Walterboro $409,167,271 

Rockville $2,618,912  Williams $1,888,041 

Seabrook Island $23,176,331  Total $722,856,267 

Sullivans Island $29,339,204  DARLINGTON 
Summerville $4,960,432  Darlington $202,755,238 

Unincorporated $1,191,069,654  Hartsville $481,154,389 

Total $16,473,712,584  Lamar $10,977,380 

   Society Hill $2,894,687 

CHEROKEE  Unincorporated $623,006,175 

Blacksburg $120,688,378  Total $1,320,787,870 

Chesnee $11,386,956    

Gaffney $852,368,125  DILLON 
Unincorporated $711,617,143  Dillon $287,408,765 

Total $1,696,060,601  Lake View $11,424,167 

CHESTER  Latta $63,971,827 

Chester $251,906,526  Unincorporated $233,955,555 

Fort Lawn $6,622,540  Total $596,760,315 

Great Falls $16,148,903  DORCHESTER 
Lowrys ***  Harleyville $16,272,967 

Richburg $53,400,110  North Charleston $476,970,752 

Unincorporated $514,771,550  Reevesville $5,195 

Total $843,055,520  Ridgeville $10,162,295 

   St George $109,481,926 

CHESTERFIELD  Summerville $826,985,345 

Cheraw $496,683,941  Unincorporated $1,479,009,137 

Chesterfield $70,899,844  Total $2,918,887,617 

Jefferson $21,132,487    

McBee $9,773,465  EDGEFIELD 
Mount Croghan $2,654,546  Edgefield $28,994,601 

Pageland $120,425,746  Johnston $44,011,332 

Patrick $3,818,006  North Augusta $1,830,107 

Ruby $1,436,931  Trenton $1,749,952 

Unincorporated $160,842,266  Unincorporated $240,083,350 

Total $887,667,232  Total $316,669,342 
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City and County Gross Sales 
 

City and County Gross Sales 
FAIRFIELD  HAMPTON 

Jenkinsville $1,110,058  Brunson $2,902,737 

Ridgeway $12,711,926  Estill $37,111,483 

Unincorporated $315,719,577  Furman $6,372,796 

Winnsboro $348,307,678  Gifford $16,881 

Total $677,849,239  Hampton $187,714,413 

   Luray *** 

FLORENCE  Scotia $30,244 

Coward $12,624,959  Unincorporated $27,838,657 

Florence $2,475,239,641  Varnville $47,375,918 

Johnsonville $41,656,281  Yemassee $17,594,582 

Lake City $1,111,737,668  Total $326,997,304 

Olanta $25,804,430    

Pamplico $26,134,037  HORRY 
Quinby $11,053,917  Atlantic Beach $4,470,304 

Scranton $9,803,573  Aynor $58,973,813 

Timmonsville $76,633,751  Briarcliffe Acres *** 

Unincorporated $2,037,472,952  Conway $1,163,575,832 

Total $5,828,161,209  Loris $108,336,488 

   Myrtle Beach $2,711,639,445 

GEORGETOWN  North Myrtle Beach $973,144,277 

Andrews $67,871,385  Surfside Beach $186,708,838 

Georgetown $449,457,483  Unincorporated $6,086,358,888 

Pawleys Island $150,999,740  Total $11,293,213,460 

Unincorporated $712,059,374    

Total $1,380,387,982  JASPER 
GREENVILLE  Hardeeville $237,334,677 

Fountain Inn $168,861,186  Ridgeland $141,588,540 

Greenville $5,896,227,084  Unincorporated $1,033,660,163 

Greer $798,472,977  Total $1,412,583,379 

Mauldin $1,391,201,177  KERSHAW 
Simpsonville $576,676,323  Bethune $130,007,655 

Travelers Rest $249,453,903  Camden $481,975,800 

Unincorporated $9,020,454,260  Elgin $76,448,912 

Total $18,101,346,910  Unincorporated $729,885,764 

   Total $1,418,318,131 

GREENWOOD  LANCASTER 
Greenwood $1,015,385,253  Heath Springs $6,907,509 

Hodges $13,618,933  Kershaw $62,332,948 

Ninety Six $10,861,906  Lancaster $531,297,936 

Troy $2,163  Unincorporated $892,418,488 

Unincorporated $1,228,727,169  Total $1,492,956,881 

Ware Shoals $22,177,392    

Total $2,290,772,816    
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City and County Gross Sales 
 

City and County Gross Sales 
LAURENS  MCCORMICK 

Clinton $191,143,541  McCormick $27,476,895 

Cross Hill $1,031,250  Plum Branch $720,143 

Fountain Inn $150,280,351  Unincorporated $50,130,175 

Gray Court $140,221,494  Total $78,327,213 

Laurens $379,837,304    

Unincorporated $551,882,975  NEWBERRY 
Ware Shoals $55,326  Chappells $21,133 

Waterloo $4,562,848  Little Mountain $7,007,817 

Total $1,419,015,090  Newberry $450,753,310 

LEE  Peak $3,045,763 

Bishopville $357,244,935  Pomaria $771,563 

Lynchburg $1,048,738  Prosperity $36,492,221 

Unincorporated $103,613,103  Silverstreet $1,402,417 

Total $461,906,776  Unincorporated $443,645,253 

LEXINGTON  Whitmire $10,865,508 

Batesburg Leesville $248,893,077  Total $954,004,986 

Cayce $2,708,843,299  OCONEE 
Chapin $594,906,040  Salem $11,924,527 

Columbia $649,391,793  Seneca $537,746,122 

Gaston $174,538,846  Unincorporated $1,059,172,723 

Gilbert $21,743,786  Walhalla $416,282,561 

Irmo $98,786,759  West Union $53,037,717 

Leesville $22,404,482  Westminister $53,988,612 

Lexington (Town) $1,893,596,739  Total $2,132,152,261 

Pelion $26,574,263    

Pine Ridge $28,950,146  ORANGEBURG 
South Congaree $13,015,954  Bowman $45,775,441 

Springdale $80,088,012  Branchville $9,728,983 

Summit ***  Cope *** 

Swansea $25,512,940  Cordova $1,718,847 

Unincorporated $7,985,852,453  Elloree $676,482,875 

West Columbia $749,175,247  Eutawville $21,244,152 

Total $15,322,329,485  Holly Hill $48,535,910 

   Livingston $119,957 

MARION  Neeses $2,326,539 

Marion $159,693,502  North $18,161,556 

Mullins $83,587,161  Norway $16,388,682 

Nichols $8,286,366  Orangeburg $633,505,903 

Sellers $59,058  Rowesville $18,064,555 

Unincorporated $359,342,755  Santee $83,317,152 

Total $610,968,841.66  Springfield $3,851,593 

MARLBORO  Unincorporated $1,274,587,789 

Bennettsville $170,658,120  Vance $1,177,027 

Blenheim $13,452,155  Woodford *** 

Clio $54,026,160  Total $2,856,295,275 

McColl $16,015,945    

Tatum $239,481    

Unincorporated $186,253,901    

Total $440,645,763    



 

31 

 

City and County Gross Sales 
 

City and County Gross Sales 
PICKENS  SUMTER 

Central $87,426,596  Mayesville $540,514 

Clemson $285,211,503  Pinewood $182,868 

Easley $948,931,888  Sumter $1,382,279,004 

Liberty $65,776,961  Unincorporated $749,542,211 

Norris $847,244  Total $2,132,544,597 

Pickens $368,856,081    
Six Mile $6,191,611  UNION 
Unincorporated $806,759,400  Carlisle $1,291,682 

Total $2,570,001,285  Jonesville $12,565,831 

RICHLAND  Lockhart $94,681 

Arcadia Lakes $7,871,794  Unincorporated $73,552,318 

Blythewood $87,124,433  Union $253,472,394 

Cayce $1,806,372  Total $340,976,906 

Columbia $4,613,287,987    
Eastover $3,021,651  WILLIAMSBURG 
Forest Acres $275,999,724  Andrews $3,478,141 

Irmo $342,310,126  Greeleyville $13,154,389 

Unincorporated $5,937,376,507  Hemingway $66,376,503 

Total $11,268,798,594  Kingstree $104,664,524 

   Lane $890,886 

SALUDA  Stuckey $5,187,955 

Batesburg Leesville $807,774  Unincorporated $369,733,752 

Monetta $142,438  Total $563,486,151 

Ridge Spring $18,389,557  YORK 
Saluda $68,725,387  Clover $202,025,830 

Unincorporated $80,346,191  Fort Mill $405,900,079 

Ward $233,038  Hickory Grove $954,582 

Total $168,644,385  McConnells $8,452,977 

SPARTANBURG  Rock Hill $2,479,076,368 

Campobello $19,190,639  Sharon $6,840,020 

Central Pacolet $2,569,884  Smyrna $811,184 

Chesnee $63,345,493  Tega Cay $93,645,525 

Cowpens $14,982,803  Unincorporated $2,875,723,451 

Duncan $321,531,762  York $941,381,740 

Greer $504,423,316  Total $7,014,811,756 

Inman $42,013,592    

Landrum $64,041,835     

Lyman $67,487,607 

 OUT OF STATE TOTAL  

             
$57,527,427,025 

Pacolet $8,452,814  STATE TOTAL $156,483,725,955 
Reidville $381,511  STATE GRAND TOTAL $214,011,152,979 
Spartanburg $3,073,451,335    
Unincorporated $6,230,295,338    
Wellford $23,579,494    
Woodruff $64,358,527    

Total $10,500,105,950  
*Indicates too few entities to report.  
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SALES TAX COLLECTIONS BY 

NORTH AMERICAN INDUSTRY CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM (NAICS) 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 

NAICS NAICS Classification 
Number of 

Returns Gross Sales 
Total Net 
Taxable 

11 Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting 664  $             86,182,775   $             32,024,503  

21 Mining 180                 32,540,330                    5,893,901  

22 Utilities 1,241            6,446,915,286             1,721,255,555  

23 Construction 6,775            1,471,317,223                412,689,750  

31 - 33 Manufacturing 13,334          18,546,520,507             1,041,421,967  

42 Wholesale Trade 15,607            7,480,995,773             1,985,798,797  

44 - 45 Retail Trade 431,429          90,117,978,387           37,148,089,620  

48 - 49  Transportation and Warehousing 1,159               197,658,962                  63,495,012  

51 Information 48,094          27,528,856,749           10,386,278,703  

52 Finance and Insurance 1,013                 33,174,897                  28,242,413  

53 Real Estate Rental and Leasing 11,421            1,676,640,119             1,127,355,517  

54 Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services 12,674               696,670,433                204,195,089  

55 Management of Companies and Enterprises 70                   6,544,507                    1,121,069  

56 Admin./Support/Waste/Remediation Services 9,370            2,209,394,729                700,724,534  

61 Educational Services 672                 14,984,688                    8,798,759  

62 Health Care and Social Assistance  10,360            2,549,395,230                354,036,797  

71 Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation 14,392            1,536,184,657                921,880,140  

72 Accommodation and Food Services 152,198          12,054,370,700           11,007,929,753  

81 Other Services (except Public Administration) 53,109            2,605,796,318             1,378,840,641  

92 Public Administration 361                   8,329,921                    8,039,297  

 Invalid NAICS 78,287 38,710,700,786 6,809,167,095 

 TOTAL  862,410 $214,011,152,979 $75,347,278,911 
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5. LOCAL OPTION SALES AND USE TAX 
 

Thirty two counties in South Carolina impose an additional 1% local option sales and use tax 
which is authorized under Code Section 4-10-10 et. seq. This tax is a general sales and use tax 
on all sales at retail (with a few exceptions) taxable under the state sales and use tax. It is 
imposed to reduce the property tax burden on persons in the counties that impose this type of 
local tax. It is collected by the Department of Revenue on behalf of these counties.  
  

Enacted: 1991 

Statute: §§4-10-10 et. Seq. 

Rate: 1% 

Distribution: 71% Property Tax rollback; 29% 
Counties/Municipalities 

FY 2017 Allocations: $337,872,675 

 

 

LOCAL CAPITAL PROJECTS TAX  
 

Twenty counties in South Carolina impose an additional 1% local capital projects tax.  The local 
capital projects sales and use tax is authorized under Code Section 4-10-300 et. seq. This tax is a 
general sales and use tax on all sales at retail (with a few exceptions) taxable under the state 
sales and use tax. This tax is imposed specifically to defray the debt service on bonds issued for 
various capital projects in the counties that impose this type of local tax.  The tax is collected by 
the Department of Revenue on behalf of these counties. 
 

Enacted: 1994 

Statute: §§4-10-300 et. Seq. 

Rate: 1% 

Distribution: 100% minus SCDOR administration 
costs goes to County Treasurer to be 
used for projects as outlined in 
referendum 

FY 2017 Allocations: $135,441,708 
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LOCAL EDUCATION CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT TAX 
 

Seven counties in South Carolina impose an additional 1% local education capital improvement 
tax (ECI).  The school district or school districts within a county may impose a 1% sales and use 
tax within the county for specific education capital improvements for the school district for not 
more than 15 years. The tax is authorized under Code Section 4-10-410 et. seq. (Act No. 316 of 
2008) and must be approved by a referendum open to all qualified electors residing in the 
county. Pursuant to a memorandum of agreement, a portion of the revenue may be shared 
with the area commission (governing body of a technical college) or higher education board of 
trustees (governing body of a public institution of higher learning) or both, for specific 
education capital improvements in the county listed in the referendum. This tax may only be 
imposed in counties which have collected at least $7 million in state accommodations taxes in 
the most recent fiscal year for which data is available. Once the threshold is met, a county 
remains eligible to impose this tax. This tax may not be imposed in a county that is imposing or 
is scheduled to impose a local sales and use tax for public school capital improvements.  
 

Enacted: 2009 

Statute: §§4-10-410 et. seq 

Rate: 1% 

Distribution: 100% minus SCDOR administration 
costs goes to County Treasurer to be 
used for projects as outlined in 
referendum 

FY 2017 Allocations: $227,039,932 
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LOCAL SCHOOL DISTRICT TAX 
 

Seven counties in South Carolina impose an additional 1% local school district tax.  The General 
Assembly has authorized certain school districts to impose a sales and use tax within the county 
under Code Section 4-10-300 et.seq.  These taxes are generally imposed to pay debt service on 
general obligation bonds and/or the cost of capital improvements.   
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

LOCAL TRANSPORTATION TAX 
 

Five counties in South Carolina impose up to a 1% transportation tax. The local transportation 
projects sales and use tax is authorized under Code Section 4-37-30 et. seq. and is a general 
sales and use tax on all sales at retail (with a few exceptions).  This tax is imposed specifically to 
defray the debt service on bonds issued for various transportation projects in the counties that 
impose this type of local tax.  The tax is collected by the Department of Revenue on behalf of 
these counties. 
 

Enacted: 1995 

Statute: §4-37-30 

Rate: Up to 1% 

Distribution: 100% minus SCDOR administration 
costs goes to County Treasurer to be 
used for projects as outlined in 
referendum 

FY 2017 Allocations: $168,648,535 

 

  

Enacted: 1997 

Statute: §§4-10-300 et. seq. 

Rate: 1% 

Distribution: 100% minus SCDOR administration 
costs goes to County Treasurer to be 
used for projects as outlined in 
referendum 

FY 2017 Allocations: $61,899,134 
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LOCAL TOURISM DEVELOPMENT TAX 
 

One city in South Carolina imposes an additional 1% local tourism development tax. 
The local tourism development sales and use tax is authorized under Code Section 4-10-910 et. 
seq. This tax is a general sales and use tax on all sales at retail (with a few exceptions) taxable 
under the state sales and use tax and may only be imposed by a municipality located in a 
county where revenue from the state accommodations tax is at least $14 million in a fiscal year. 
As of this date, only Horry County meets this criteria; therefore, only municipalities in Horry 
County may impose this tax.  Currently, Myrtle Beach is imposing this tax. This tax may be 
imposed by an ordinance adopted by a two-thirds majority of the municipal council or by 
approval by a majority of qualified electors voting in a referendum authorized by a majority of 
the municipal council. The tax is imposed specifically for tourism advertisement and promotion 
directed at non-South Carolina residents; however, in the third and subsequent years of this tax 
a portion of the tax may be used for certain property tax rollbacks. The tax is collected by the 
Department of Revenue on behalf of these municipalities. 
 

 

Enacted: 2009 

Statute: §§4-10-910 et. seq. 

Rate: 1% 

Distribution: 100% minus SCDOR administration 
goes to city to be used for projects as 
outlined in referendum 

FY 2017 Allocations: $28,619,878 
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LOCAL OPTION SALES TAX ALLOCATIONS 

BY COUNTY/ MUNICIPALITY 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

Local Option Sales Tax  Capital Projects Tax 

Abbeville $1,657,179  Aiken $18,156,813  

Allendale 505,459  Allendale 40,936  

Bamberg 1,027,407  Bamberg  844,641  

Barnwell 1,894,476  Barnwell 126,643  

Berkeley 28,177,328  Chester 2,792,781  

Calhoun 1,038,065  Colleton 4,226,437  

Charleston 111,218,716  Florence 22,244,615  

Cherokee 6,658,986  Georgetown 10,040,752  

Chester 2,960,646  Greenwood 672,128  

Chesterfield 3,692,997  Hampton 1,247,489  

Clarendon 2,776,408  Horry 6,341,803  

Colleton 4,975,661  Lancaster 8,590,391  

Darlington 6,608,684  Lee 747,470  

Dillon 2,995,026  Marion 2,226,944  

Edgefield 1,623,865  McCormick 31,465  

Fairfield 2,335,833  Newberry  3,819,681  

Florence 25,435,766  Orangeburg 9,280,665  

Hampton 1,713,209  Sumter 10,629,071  

Jasper 4,479,892  Williamsburg 143,217  

Kershaw 6,800,140  York 33,237,766  

Lancaster 10,200,120  Total: $135,441,708 

Laurens 5,602,768  Education Capital Improvement Tax 

Lee 1,143,489  Aiken  $17,924,986  

Marion 2,702,892  Anderson  22,788,305  

Marlboro 1,685,339  Charleston  100,605,944  

McCormick 573,252  Cherokee  5,901,977  

Pickens 16,207,121  Darlington 1,451,630 

Richland 65,320,916  Horry 76,999,631 

Saluda 1,155,902  Kershaw 1,367,454 

Sumter 12,224,077  Total: $227,039,932 

Union 176,009    

Williamsburg 2,305,047  School District Tax 

Total: $337,872,675  Chesterfield $3,099,929 

Transportation Tax  Clarendon 2,742,849 

Berkeley  27,774,138   Darlington 4,162,304 

Charleston  60,147,328   Dillon 2,534,955 

Dorchester  16,034,681   Jasper 3,869,088 

Jasper  324,468   Lexington 44,092,212 

Richland  64,367,920   Marlboro 1,397,794 

Total: $168,648,535  Total: $61,899,134 

     

Tourism Development Tax    

Myrtle Beach $28,619,878    

     
Note: The counties reported are those that had taxes in effect during Fiscal Year 2017. 
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6. ACCOMMODATIONS TAX 
 

A 7% statewide sales tax is imposed upon the gross proceeds from the rentals or charges for 
sleeping accommodations furnished at any place (with exceptions)  in which rooms, lodgings or 
sleeping accommodations of any kind are furnished, including but not limited to hotels, motels, 
inns, campgrounds, tourist courts, tourist camps, condominiums and residences.  
 
The breakout of accommodations tax is as follows:  
2% Accommodations 
5% State-wide sales tax 
Plus local taxes, if applicable 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ACCOMMODATIONS TAX ALLOCATIONS BY QUARTER 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Enacted: 1984 

Statute: §12-36-920 

Rate: 2% 

Distribution: Local Governments 

FY 2017 Collections: $69,577,895 

Quarter Tax Collected 

Quarter 1 (July 2016 – September 2016) 

 
$27,730,123 

Quarter 2 (October 2016 – December 2016) 

 
$14,051,132 

Quarter 3 (January 2017 – March 2017) 

 
$8,976,884 

Quarter 4 (April 2017 – June 2017) 

 
$18,819,755 
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ACCOMMODATIONS TAX ALLOCATIONS BY COUNTY 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 

County Tax Collected County Tax Collected 
Abbeville $15,222 Greenwood $208,295 

Aiken 582,269 Hampton 27,230 

Allendale 4,425 Horry 21,358,333 

Anderson 695,877 Jasper 389,495 

Bamberg 6,830 Kershaw 171,221 

Barnwell 35,539 Lancaster 64,207 

Beaufort 8,659,023 Laurens 140,948 

Berkeley 772,213 Lee 17,878 

Calhoun 715 Lexington 1,145,402 

Charleston 17,611,666 McCormick 29,642 

Cherokee 153,928 Marion 28,546 

Chester 106,754 Marlboro 23,004 

Chesterfield 56,423 Newberry 135,197 

Clarendon 154,100 Oconee 306,895 

Colleton 767,155 Orangeburg 736,616 

Darlington 153,745 Pickens 564,955 

Dillon 125,627 Richland 3,541,442 

Dorchester 174,545 Saluda 10,489 

Edgefield 11,498 Spartanburg 1,186,437 

Fairfield 39,649 Sumter 389,784 

Florence 1,368,400 Union 32,734 

Georgetown 2,004,998 Williamsburg 14,420 

Greenville 4,373,550 York 1,180,556 

    
  Total $69,577,895 
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7. ADMISSIONS TAX 
  

Admissions tax must be collected by all places of amusement when an admission price has been 
charged. The tax is 5% of the paid admissions. If you operate a place of amusement, you must 
obtain an admissions tax license. There is no charge for the license. You may also be required to 
obtain a retail license.  
  
Examples of places of amusement: 
Nightclubs, college and professional sporting events, amusement parks, golf courses, 
miniature golf or putt-putt courses, tennis courts, bowling alleys, water slides, movie 
theatres, musical concerts, health clubs, spas, gyms, swimming pools, skating rinks, 
baseball batting cages, craft shows. 
  

 
  Enacted: 1923 

Statute: §12-21-2420 to §12-21-6540  
§12-62-60 

Rate: 5% 

Distribution: Commercial Fisheries Division (DNR) 
 
Tourism Infrastructure Development Fund  
     Counties & Municipalities 
     Advisory Coordinating Council 
 
General Fund - Parks, Recreation and Tourism   

FY 2017 Collections: $40,288,530 
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ADMISSIONS TAX COLLECTIONS BY COUNTY 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 

County Tax Collected 
 

County Tax Collected 

Abbeville                     $1,190   Greenwood  318,834  

Aiken                   855,940   Hampton  1,678  

Allendale                           743   Horry  10,132,827  

Anderson                   528,982   Jasper  61,819  

Bamberg                             48   Kershaw  27,766  

Barnwell                        6,055   Lancaster  97,069  

Beaufort                3,979,042   Laurens  60,036  

Berkeley                   913,153   Lee  24,381  

Calhoun                        8,362   Lexington  747,105  

Charleston                6,554,782   Marion  9,768  

Cherokee                   149,263   Marlboro  9,172  

Chester                     32,449   McCormick  64,312  

Chesterfield                     23,720   Newberry  15,723  

Clarendon                     38,724   Oconee  263,414  

Colleton                     63,685   Orangeburg  147,342  

Darlington                   591,547   Pickens  1,967,213  

Dillon                     31,087   Richland  3,611,770  

Dorchester                   410,554   Saluda  15,457  

Edgefield                     27,635   Spartanburg  640,619  

Fairfield                     50,382   Sumter  162,009  

Florence                   451,113   Union  4,070  

Georgetown                   694,473   Williamsburg  14,606  

Greenville                3,597,472   York  2,208,190  

     
   Unallocated Total $672,951 
      Total                                                                                                          $40,288,530 
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ADMISSIONS TAX COLLECTIONS BY EVENT TYPE 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 

Type of Admission 
Number of 

Returns Tax Collected 

Archery 82                $34,539  

Amusement Parks 358             3,860,048  

Amusement Rides 188             1,413,112  

Athletic Events 448             3,551,011  

Auto Racing, Motorcycle 153                342,082  

Bands 181                127,812  

Bowling 413                797,875  

Carnival 7                132,021  

Dances 307             1,158,470  

Driving Range, Tennis 379             1,066,566  

Fishing Pier 66                   44,079  

Gardens 52             1,403,082  

Golf 3244          10,738,933  

Gyms, Spas, Body Bldng & Fitns 140                403,881  

Horse Racing, Shows & Rides 19                   14,715  

Itinerant Shows 68                236,673  

Miniature Golf Course 310                769,156  

Miniature Raceway (*Go-Karts) 52                314,713  

Miscellaneous 2512             5,192,438  

Night Clubs 1116                580,650  

Promoter 282             2,231,024  

Skating 273                299,782  

Sight Seeing Attractions 133                336,790  

Swimming 153                437,347  

Theaters 645             4,801,731  

Total 11,581       $40,288,530 
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8. PROPERTY TAX 
 

Most property taxes are administered and collected by local governments, with assistance from 
the SCDOR to ensure equitable and uniform assessments throughout the State. Real and 
personal property are subject to the tax. Municipalities levy a tax on property situated within 
the limits of the municipality for services provided by the municipality. The tax is paid by 
individuals, corporations, partnerships, etc. who own property within the state.  
  
Real and personal property of manufacturers, utilities, railroads, carlines and airlines and 
business personal property of merchants are assessed by the SCDOR. The county assessor 
assesses all other real property and the county auditor assesses all other personal property. 
 
Each class of property is assessed at a ratio unique to that type of property. The assessment 
ratio is applied to the market value of the property to determine the assessed value of the 
property. Each county, municipality or other taxing entity then applies its millage rate to the 
assessed value to determine the tax due. A mill is a unit of monetary value, equal to one-tenth 
of a cent, or one-thousandth of a dollar (.001). 
  
The following assessment ratios are applied to the value of the property to determine the 
assessed value for purposes of taxation: 
  

 

  

Business Personal Property 10.5%  

Manufacturing Property 10.5% of FMV of real property 

Utility Property 10.5% of FMV 

Railroads, Private Carlines, Airlines and Pipelines 9.5% of FMV 

Primary Residences 4.0% of FMV 

Agricultural Property (privately owned) 4.0% of use value 

Agricultural Property (corporate owned) 6.0% of use value 

Other real estate 6.0% of FMV 

Vehicles (privately owned) 6.0% 
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BUSINESS PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX 
  

All businesses assessed by the SCDOR are required to file an annual business personal property 
tax return with the Department. All furniture, fixtures and equipment are to be reported at 
acquisition cost with a deduction allowed for depreciation not to exceed 90%.   
 

 
 

 
 
 

MOTOR CARRIER PROPERTY TAX 
  

Motor carriers must file an annual property tax return with the SCDOR no later than June 30 for 
the preceding calendar year and remit one-half of the tax due or the entire tax due as stated on 
the return. If one-half of tax due is paid with the filed return, the other half is due by December 
31.  
  

  
 

 
 
 

PRIVATE CARLINES PROPERTY TAX 
  

On or before April 15, every person whose private cars are operated upon the railroads in this 
state at any time during a calendar year should file with the SCDOR a report setting forth 
specifically the information prescribed by the SCDOR to enable it to make the assessment.  
 

Enacted: 1976  

Statute: §§12-37-2110 to 12-37-2190  

Rate: Average statewide millage   

Distribution: State General Fund  

FY 2017 Collections: $5,499,151 

  

Enacted: 1962  

Statute: §12-37-710  

Rate: Local Millage  

Distribution: Local Governments  

FY 2017 Collections: Collected by Local Governments 

Enacted: 1997  

Statute: §12-37-2810 to 12-37-2880  

Rate: Average statewide millage  

Distribution: Local Governments  

FY 2017 Collections: $29,539,145 



 

46 

 

ASSESSED PROPERTY BY SCHOOL DISTRICT 
BASED ON 2016 VALUES 

 

School District Real Property 
Personal 
Property 

Fee in Lieu/ 
Joint Ind. 

Parks 

Manufacturi
ng Property 

Utility, 
Railroad & 

Pipeline 

Business 
Personal 

Motor 
Carriers 

Total 

ABBEVILLE  $36,927,282 $9,325,380 $1,170,534 $3,701,330 $8,270,246 $1,399,484 $908,310 $61,702,566 

AIKEN  $455,196,911 $91,200,180 $35,741,463 $51,013,450 $61,642,156 $22,766,330 $1,483,362 $719,043,852 

ALLENDALE $8,324,880 $2,082,541 $122,720 $7,417,390 $5,541,375 $584,700 $34,733 $24,108,339 

ANDERSON 1 $137,942,340 $29,985,619 $13,723,870 $6,880,665 $16,873,899 $7,493,250 $121,948 $213,021,591 

ANDERSON 2 $37,276,440 $9,073,998 $1,604,290 $3,320,372 $9,765,241 $2,676,700 $47,847 $63,764,888 

ANDERSON 3 $22,509,390 $5,755,214 $3,730,390 $4,226,392 $7,551,386 $1,337,370 $30,335 $45,140,477 

ANDERSON 4 $78,790,100 $13,172,315 $14,891,910 $3,003,513 $5,863,413 $3,052,460 $76,487 $118,850,198 

ANDERSON 5 $233,354,507 $42,798,037 $34,135,460 $6,824,399 $16,654,819 $16,869,830 $239,780 $350,876,832 

BAMBERG 1 $10,608,410 $2,900,690 $20 $1,429,150 $2,463,920 $669,920 $464,390 $18,536,500 

BAMBERG 2 $6,616,780 $1,660,910 $80 $868,260 $3,221,770 $522,920 $313,540 $13,204,260 

BARNWELL 19 $5,760,920 $1,753,397 $335,624 $416,810 $2,159,130 $145,042 $107,451 $10,678,374 

BARNWELL 29 $7,489,950 $1,930,861 $361,821 $3,865,560 $1,172,304 $301,745 $151,903 $15,274,144 

BARNWELL  45 $20,157,660 $5,384,827 $956,305 $86,360 $4,432,403 $1,774,464 $330,122 $33,122,141 

BEAUFORT   $1,574,340,200 $146,857,140 $15,734,539 $2,466,941 $51,717,430 $38,631,190 $4,131,161 $1,833,878,601 

BERKELEY   $626,594,560 $105,587,096 $140,786,532 $18,734,748 $60,262,980 $24,818,580 $2,314,846 $979,099,342 

CALHOUN   $32,235,490 $8,872,875 $18,852,913 $11,831,335 $7,857,366 $2,751,990 $818,694 $83,220,663 

CHARLESTON   $2,886,266,142 $284,172,304 $125,281,643 $20,460,470 $116,471,110 $96,183,410 $2,491,003 $3,531,326,082 

CHEROKEE   $97,085,320 $21,833,190 $24,165,540 $26,737,080 $22,908,346 $6,686,230 $1,165,697 $200,581,403 

CHESTER   $53,132,290 $12,168,186 $6,872,804 $18,388,070 $16,763,945 $4,627,410 $950,519 $112,903,224 

CHESTERFIELD   $63,078,960 $16,737,266 $16,182,403 $17,567,690 $12,704,047 $3,832,540 $636,464 $130,739,370 

CLARENDON  1 $25,112,830 $3,688,423 $171,023 $141,400 $2,721,560 $607,060 $692,737 $33,135,033 

CLARENDON  2 $39,425,090 $8,414,097 $799,350 $619,020 $3,548,270 $2,081,930 $448,793 $55,336,550 

CLARENDON  3 $6,604,620 $1,982,890 $51,312 $39,530 $881,920 $465,700 $71,002 $10,096,974 

COLLETON   $126,846,310 $17,726,960 $1,986,090 $3,832,090 $15,879,710 $4,910,920 $1,562,353 $172,744,433 

DARLINGTON   $103,311,900 $30,238,440 $16,116,812 $14,721,267 $81,669,280 $4,881,162 $ $250,938,861 

DILLON  3 $9,413,690 $2,689,578 $1,264,852 $2,512,220 $1,677,100 $819,980 $171,979 $18,549,399 

DILLON   4 $32,842,040 $7,982,444 $406,889 $5,175,700 $6,149,652 $2,486,180 $756,384 $55,799,289 

DORCHESTER  2 $395,383,470 $65,999,977 $14,478,722 $8,715,580 $21,240,860 $7,128,708 $785,809 $513,733,126 

DORCHESTER  4 $32,535,760 $7,059,740 $8,448,824 $10,998,680 $5,965,120 $1,857,709 $126,043 $66,991,876 

EDGEFIELD   $48,092,440 $12,349,252 $2,272,888 $6,791,050 $9,519,310 $1,614,420 $899,000 $81,538,360 

FAIRFIELD   $48,539,476 $10,320,064 $ $1,906,030 $82,391,621 $2,906,550 $857,800 $146,921,541 

FLORENCE  1 $270,062,586 $55,628,956 $37,667,811 $22,135,831 $22,055,530 $15,504,807 $1,994,889 $425,050,410 

FLORENCE  2 $8,808,991 $2,752,066 $ $434,669 $2,406,350 $289,730 $72,725 $14,764,531 

FLORENCE  3 $27,768,389 $7,730,947 $3,053,523 $9,096,772 $4,124,607 $1,949,083 $202,712 $53,926,033 

FLORENCE  4 $9,554,172 $3,257,785 $9,018,317 $936,107 $1,485,300 $693,072 $96,188 $25,040,941 

FLORENCE  5 $7,769,260 $2,629,831 $583,036 $507,764 $1,181,999 $593,847 $57,039 $13,322,776 

GEORGETOWN   $464,786,321 $47,688,107 $18,153,610 $26,754,020 $10,150,610 $9,574,850 $2,251,340 $579,358,858 

GREENVILLE   $1,692,607,505 $270,113,463 $163,499,640 $71,128,560 $100,211,202 $107,928,110 $9,732,784 $2,415,221,264 

GREENWOOD  50 $115,188,222 $23,046,620 $26,449,286 $11,950,012 $11,349,344 $8,896,756 $1,034,335 $197,914,575 

GREENWOOD  51 $7,723,902 $2,367,698 $760,763 $1,109,970 $1,788,270 $253,410 $111,054 $14,115,067 

GREENWOOD  52 $7,357,922 $4,134,414 $33,584,553 $3,822,441 $2,969,013 $903,290 $200,432 $52,972,065 

HAMPTON  1 $22,284,430 $4,538,878 $ $269,600 $6,814,479 $1,630,940 $502,048 $36,040,375 

HAMPTON  2 $7,553,320 $1,777,051 $535,820 $2,085,710 $3,104,409 $655,670 $37,872 $15,749,852 

HORRY   $1,758,492,814 $253,469,902 $36,042,392 $11,364,470 $39,163,420 $71,365,120 $5,756,003 $2,175,654,121 

JASPER   $77,948,800 $15,244,821 $15,511,368 $1,851,730 $18,232,748 $7,758,700 $817,677 $137,365,844 

KERSHAW   $151,034,513 $32,194,876 $12,406,600 $13,807,340 $19,305,090 $6,359,640 $1,575,001 $236,683,060 

LANCASTER   $272,287,050 $46,088,017 $19,560,538 $8,203,730 $16,420,620 $9,908,799 $1,334,270 $373,803,024 

LAURENS  55  $60,622,790 $15,470,756 $9,586,015 $6,451,720 $9,574,010 $4,599,650 $913,590 $107,218,531 

LAURENS  56 $31,661,380 $7,247,958 $6,662,636 $2,108,310 $5,188,960 $1,711,820 $473,910 $55,054,974 

LEE   $22,859,080 $5,547,663 $213,483 $3,463,890 $4,328,400 $1,659,187 $627,074 $38,698,777 

LEXINGTON  1 $382,996,800 $79,999,710 $33,801,160 $15,688,790 $45,282,970 $13,005,080 $1,017,605 $571,792,115 

LEXINGTON  2 $166,883,290 $37,953,580 $45,863,020 $10,874,250 $20,996,000 $20,666,950 $494,110 $303,731,200 

LEXINGTON  3 $31,790,600 $6,294,117 $520,900 $1,850,470 $4,935,690 $1,725,770 $154,699 $47,272,246 
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School District Real Property 
Personal 
Property 

Fee in Lieu/ 
Joint Ind. 

Parks 

Manufacturi
ng Property 

Utility, 
Railroad & 

Pipeline 

Business 
Personal 

Motor 
Carriers 

Total 

LEXINGTON  4 $20,241,380 $5,940,880 $1,134,640 $1,463,990 $5,036,160 $926,540 $66,165 $34,809,755 

LEXINGTON  5 $367,053,100 $66,017,820 $5,492,290 $6,315,920 $44,628,670 $13,201,510 $806,803 $503,516,113 

MARION CNTY   $50,185,896 $11,478,635 $1,360,576 $3,270,390 $8,413,656 $3,513,470 $970,054 $79,192,677 

MARLBORO   $33,288,140 $8,962,910 $12,755,000 $6,688,990 $6,778,800 $1,911,710 $763,200 $71,148,750 

MCCORMICK   $32,484,190 $4,881,816 $73,270 $1,166,890 $4,315,557 $490,350 $837,982 $44,250,055 

NEWBERRY   $92,091,800 $17,963,297 $12,996,200 $13,193,340 $12,945,720 $4,562,640 $1,235,320 $154,988,317 

OCONEE   $333,937,375 $42,504,784 $23,601,024 $8,390,953 $164,428,624 $7,367,923 $3,469,729 $583,700,412 

ORANGEBURG  3 $42,531,894 $8,441,987 $8,239,124 $3,354,110 $7,222,500 $4,560,690 $534,102 $74,884,407 

ORANGEBURG  4 $24,476,020 $8,283,814 $2,042,760 $3,425,470 $30,966,285 $4,212,140 $634,630 $74,041,119 

ORANGEBURG  5 $98,228,425 $18,362,726 $21,211,309 $17,871,440 $10,955,727 $13,436,188 $1,296,454 $181,362,269 

PICKENS   $354,642,830 $52,297,565 $15,211,063 $9,249,480 $37,663,150 $14,608,980 $3,172,963 $486,846,031 

RICHLAND  1 $543,940,540 $93,943,893 $36,333,039 $45,918,550 $91,762,200 $47,860,240 $968,653 $860,727,115 

RICHLAND  2 $398,138,830 $80,734,327 $8,320,935 $17,996,840 $28,377,050 $17,663,480 $610,091 $551,841,553 

SALUDA   $31,958,490 $6,859,376 $22,942 $3,635,900 $4,539,440 $918,240 $747,415 $48,681,803 

SPARTANBURG  1 $78,826,036 $14,069,855 $566,875 $2,553,990 $7,931,505 $2,707,270 $377,458 $107,032,989 

SPARTANBURG  2 $148,801,771 $28,887,255 $7,024,440 $10,348,580 $10,105,396 $6,179,360 $853,969 $212,200,771 

SPARTANBURG  3 $29,004,290 $6,445,942 $8,995,655 $14,613,970 $5,849,748 $1,719,430 $209,992 $66,839,027 

SPARTANBURG  4 $33,933,355 $7,121,520 $761,324 $5,477,820 $5,485,559 $1,035,670 $254,523 $54,069,771 

SPARTANBURG  5 $140,982,061 $26,642,903 $63,021,352 $25,888,190 $10,144,312 $14,102,790 $4,352,310 $285,133,918 

SPARTANBURG  6 $177,860,090 $30,497,099 $19,163,982 $20,946,260 $13,252,521 $15,817,160 $964,387 $278,501,499 

SPARTANBURG  7 $148,855,928 $24,506,350 $3,773,569 $11,478,310 $13,730,825 $17,146,400 $609,507 $220,100,889 

SUMTER   $208,748,720 $44,451,920 $19,733,130 $11,525,780 $18,967,050 $12,572,220 $442,360 $316,441,180 

UNION   $34,615,470 $9,210,150 $10,923,265 $7,009,460 $7,978,860 $2,356,137 $994,216 $73,087,558 

WILLIAMSBURG   $45,729,000 $12,951,012 $21,085,995 $970,430 $11,199,115 $2,952,580 $1,508,257 $96,396,389 

YORK  1 $60,830,460 $13,446,282 $2,448,626 $6,430,690 $12,974,001 $4,280,520 $463,355 $100,873,934 

YORK  2 $138,031,239 $26,350,075 $1,960,514 $3,510,080 $157,668,137 $4,901,445 $471,026 $332,892,516 

YORK  3 $317,532,042 $59,060,990 $32,210,623 $35,690,426 $15,962,220 $20,269,240 $732,002 $481,457,543 

YORK  4 $264,042,160 $45,544,716 $24,608,453 $13,679,560 $12,326,034 $10,343,315 $463,355 $371,007,593 

Total $17,110,829,827 $2,682,741,006 $1,339,194,069 $802,654,517 $1,778,619,532 $806,137,803 $81,458,127 $24,601,634,881 
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9. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAX AND LICENSE 
  

The alcoholic liquors tax is imposed on all manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers of alcoholic 
liquors. Anyone selling alcoholic liquors must apply to the SCDOR for a license. 

 ALCOHOLIC LIQUORS TAX 

Filing Fee: 

$200 
   

License Fee: 

Liquor Manufacturer’s License:    $50,200 every two years 
Registered Producer’s Certificate of Registration:  $400 every two years 
Producer Representative’s Certificate of Registration:  $250 every two years 
Liquor Micro Distillery License:    $5,200 every two years 
Liquor Producer Warehouse License:    $600 every two years 
Liquor Wholesaler’s License:     $20,200 every two years 
Retail Liquor License:      $1,400 every two years 
Business Liquor by the Drink License:    $1,700 every two years 
Nonprofit Organization Liquor by the Drink License:  $1,700 every two years 
Food Manufacturing Liquor License:    $1,400 every two years 
Special Bakery Liquor License:    $1,200 every two years 
Sunday Local Option Permit (Option 1):   $200 per Sunday 
Sunday Local Option Permit (Option 2):   $3,050/52-week period 
1-day Liquor by the Drink Special Event License:  $35 per day 
120-day Temporary Liquor by the Drink License:  $25 
120-day Temporary Retail Liquor License:    $25 
  

Excise Tax: 
Per 8 ounces of alcohol:     $0.17 
Per liter:       $0.71825 
Standard case (wholesalers):     $1.81 
Standard case (retailers to wholesalers):   $2.99 
Standard case (additional case tax paid by wholesalers): $0.56 
Surtax:                       9% 

 

  
Enacted: 1935 

Statute: Title 61 and Chapter 33 of Title 12 

Rate: See Above 

Distribution: State General Fund 
Local Option Permits to Local Governments 

FY 2017 Collections: $82,609,746 



 

49 

 

BEER AND WINE TAX 
  

All wholesale distributors, retailers, breweries and wineries doing business within South 
Carolina are required to be licensed by the SCDOR. New businesses must pay a $300 filing fee 
with the license application in addition to the appropriate license fees. 

  

Permit Fees: 

Beer and Wine Producer’s Permit:    $400 every two years 

Beer and Wine Wholesale License:    $2,200 every two years 
In-state or Domestic Winery Permit:    $400 every two years 
Seven-day Winery Permit:     $1,500 every two years 
Brewpub Permit:      $2,200 every two years 
Wine Shippers Permit:     $600 every two years 
On Premises Beer & Wine Permit:    $600 every two years 
Off Premises Beer & Wine Permit:    $600 every two years 
Seven-day Off Premises Beer & Wine Permit:  $2,200 every two years 
Sunday/Sabbath Beer & Wine Permit:   $650 every two years  
1-day Beer & Wine Special Event Permit:   $10 
120-day Temporary Beer & Wine Permit:   $25 

7-day On Premises Beer & Wine Permit:   $2,200 every two years 
 

Tax: 

Beer per ounce:      $0.006 
 

Wine U.S. Sized Containers:        

Per 8 ounce up to 1 gallon     $0.06 

Per gallon       $0.90 

Additional tax per 8 ounce     $0.012 

Additional tax per gallon     $0.18  
 

Wine Metric Sized Containers: 

Per liter       $0.2535 

Additional tax per liter     $0.0507 

 

 

 

  

Enacted: 1933 

Statute: Title 61 and Chapter 21 of Title 12 

Rate: See Above 

Distribution: State General Fund; Local Option Permits 
distributed to local governments 

FY 2017 Collections: $109,576,642 
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LOCAL OPTION PERMIT FOR SUNDAY BEER, WINE AND ALCOHOLIC 

BEVERAGE SALES 

 

 

 

 

 
  

County 
Local Option 

Permit 
7-Day Beer 
and Wine 

Beaufort YES YES 

Berkeley YES YES 

Charleston YES YES 

Chester YES YES 

Clarendon YES YES 

Colleton YES YES 

Dorchester YES YES 

Fairfield YES YES 

Georgetown YES YES 

Greenville YES YES 

Greenwood YES NO 

Horry YES YES 

Jasper YES YES 

Kershaw YES YES 

Lancaster YES YES 

Lee YES YES 

Lexington YES YES 

Marion YES YES 

Newberry YES YES 

Oconee YES YES 

Orangeburg YES YES 

Richland * YES YES* 

Saluda YES YES 

Spartanburg  YES YES 

York YES YES 

City 
Local Option 

Permit 
7-Day Beer 
and Wine 

Aiken YES YES 

Anderson YES NO 

Central YES YES 

Chapin YES YES 

Clemson YES NO 

Columbia (Richland) YES YES 

Darlington YES YES 

Easley YES YES 

Florence YES NO 

Gaffney YES YES 

Greeleyville NO YES 

Hartsville YES YES 

Irmo YES YES 

Lake City YES YES 

North Augusta YES YES 

Pendleton YES YES 

Sumter YES NO 

   

* Richland County’s 7-Day Beer and Wine Permit is for the unincorporated areas of Richland County only 
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10. TOBACCO TAX 
  
The business license tax applies to all tobacco products sold in South Carolina. Every person, 
firm, corporation, club or association engaging in the business of selling, purchasing, 
distributing or importing tobacco products within the state of South Carolina are required to 
pay the business license tax.  If tobacco products are purchased from a licensed distributor, 
then the retailer would owe no tax.  
  
All persons first receiving untaxed tobacco products, including cigarettes, for sale or distribution 
in South Carolina must file a monthly report and remit the tobacco tax.  
 

Enacted: 1923  

Statute: §§12-21-610 to 12-21-810  

Rate: Cigarettes: 
$0.57 per pack of 20 cigarettes 
$0.7125 per pack of 25 cigarettes 
$0.0285 per cigarette  
 
Other Tobacco Products: 
5% of the manufactured purchase price  

Distribution: $0.07 - State General Fund 
$0.50 Surtax  
     Department of Health & Environmental Control   
     Medical University of South Carolina 
     Department of Health and Human Services   

FY 2017 Collections: $157,945,736 
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TOBACCO TAX COLLECTIONS BY MONTH 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 

Month Cigarettes Other Tobacco Products Total 

Jul – 16 $1,529,082 $952,928 $2,482,010 

Aug – 16 1,557,598 184,968 1,742,566 

Sep – 16 1,707,557 813,680 2,521,238 

Oct – 16 1,550,170 630,645 2,180,815 

Nov – 16 1,574,454 706,163 2,280,617 

Dec – 16 1,503,734 660,654 2,164,388 

Jan – 17 1,473,569 787,815 2,261,385 

Feb – 17 1,387,288 613,884 2,001,173 

Mar – 17 1,311,292 599,936 1,911,228 

Apr – 17 1,553,781 189,992 1,743,773 

May – 17 1,495,530 1,387,044 2,882,575 

Jun – 17 1,690,227 732,436 2,422,664 

Total $18,334,288 

 
$8,260,149                       

8,260,149.78 

 

$26,594,438 

  

CIGARETTE SURTAX COLLECTIONS 
$0.50 PER PACK 

 

Month Cigarette Surtax 
Jul-16 $11,311,983 

Aug-16 11,126,169 

Sep-16 12,197,075 

Oct-16 11,072,650 

Nov-16 11,246,335 

Dec-16 10,741,192 

Jan-17 10,525,733 

Feb-17 9,909,202 

Mar-17 9,366,609 

Apr-17 11,095,918 

May-17 10,682,598 

Jun-17 12,075,827 

Total $131,351,297 
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 EXCISE TAX RATES ON CIGARETTES 
AS OF JANUARY 1, 2017 
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11. OTHER TAXES AND LICENSING 
 

AIRCRAFT TAX 
  

All airline companies operating in the State shall make an annual property tax return on or 
before April 15 in each year for the preceding calendar or fiscal year of their flight equipment to 
the SCDOR. Each type and model of flight equipment shall be separately returned, valued and 
apportioned. 

  

Enacted: 1976 

Statute: §12-37-2410 to §12-37-2490 

§55-5-280 

Rate: Average statewide millage 

Distribution: State General Fund 

State Aviation Fund 

FY 2017 Collections: $ 4,435,404 

 

BANK TAX 
  

Banks are taxed under Chapter 11 of Title 12 of the SC Code of Laws.  Any person who is 
engaged in a banking business in this State, other than a cash depository, must pay an annual 
bank tax of 4.5% of its entire net income.  The bank tax is a franchise tax based upon net book 
income.  Bank income is subject to allocation and apportionment.  Banks are required to pay 
estimated tax. 
  

 

Enacted: 1937  

Statute: §§12-11-10 to 12-11-60  

Rate: 4.5% of entire net income  

Distribution: State General Fund  

FY 2017 Collections: $53,357,725 
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BINGO TAX 
  

Nonprofit groups organized for fraternal, religious or charitable purposes which have been 
certified as tax exempt by the Internal Revenue Service and domiciled in South Carolina for at 
least three years may apply for a license to conduct Bingo in South Carolina.  
  

BINGO LICENSE: 
License Type   License Fee   Entrance Fee 

Class AA   $4,000    $18 

Class B   $1,000    $ 5 

Class C   No Cost   $ 0 

Class D   $100 or $200*   $ 5 (optional) 

Class E    $500    $ 5 (optional) 

Class F    $100    $ 3 (optional) 
*Fair License- $100 for 10 days or less; $200 for more than 10 days.  

  

Class AA, B, and C licensed organizations conducting Bingo must designate a promoter, who 
also must be licensed. Under certain circumstances, a Class C licensed organization does not 
have to designate a promoter. The promoter’s license is $1,000 annually. Each organization 
licensed to operate Bingo must file quarterly financial reports with the SCDOR. 

 

At least 50% of the gross proceeds from the sale of Bingo cards taken in by a Bingo operation 
during a single session must be returned to the players in the form of prizes.  

  

The SC Bingo Law requires the SCDOR to make specific allocations of revenue collected from 
Bingo to other state agencies.  

  

Enacted: 1982  

Statute: 12-21-3910 to 12-21-4300  

Rate: (for each dollar of face value 

for each Bingo card sold) 
$0.10 (Class B) 
$0.04 (Class C) 
$0.05 (Class F)  

Distribution: General Fund 
Bingo Charities 
Division on Aging 
Parks, Recreation and Tourism 
Commission on Minority Affairs 

FY 2017 Collections: $6,720,701 
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COIN-OPERATED DEVICE TAX 
  

Coin operated devices must have a current coin operated license affixed to the machine. The 
owner of the machine must obtain an owner/operator’s license.  
  
The owner/operator’s license fee is equivalent to the highest fee for any machines owned or 
operated.  Only one owner/operator’s license is required no matter how many machines may 
be owned or operated.  The owner/operator’s license is renewable on June 1 and expires May 
31 two years later.  
  

 

Enacted: 1939  

Statute: §§12-21-2720 to 12-21-2750  

Rate: See statute 

Distribution: State General Fund  

FY 2017 Collections: $1,265,119 

 

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE TAX 

  
No dealer may possess any marijuana or controlled substance upon which a tax is imposed 
unless the tax has been paid on the marijuana or other controlled substance as evidenced by a 
stamp or other official indicia. The SCDOR has adopted a uniform system of providing, affixing 
and displaying official stamps, official labels or other official indicia for marijuana and controlled 
substances on which a tax is imposed.  
  

 

Enacted: 1993  

Statute: §§12-21-5010 to    
12-21-6050  

Rate: See statute 

Distribution: State General Fund  

FY 2017 Collections: $305 
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DEED RECORDING FEE 
  

South Carolina imposes a recording fee when any lands, tenements or other realty is 
transferred to another person. The fee is $1.85 for each $500 of the realty’s value. The value is 
the consideration paid or to be paid in money or money’s worth for the realty.  
  
The state’s portion of the fees collected by the Clerks of Court and Registers of Deeds will be 
reported and remitted to the SCDOR on a monthly return which is due on or before the 20th of 
the month following the month in which the transaction was recorded. Counties retain their 
portion of the fee: $0.55 of each $1.85.  
  

 

Enacted: 1923  

Statute: §12-24-10 to 12-24-150  

Rate: See statute 

Distribution: $0.75 — State General Fund 
$0.10 — Heritage Land Trust 
$0.20 — SC Housing Trust Fund 
$0.25 — Conservation Bank   
$0.55 — County General Fund 

FY 2017 Collections: $89,110,662 
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DEED RECORDING FEE COLLECTIONS BY COUNTY 
FISCAL YEAR 2017 

 

 

County Tax Collections County Tax Collections 

ABBEVILLE  $120,675    GREENWOOD  $524,275  

AIKEN  1,669,968    HAMPTON  152,304  

ALLENDALE  67,009    HORRY  9,654,281  

ANDERSON  2,023,169    JASPER  510,415  

BAMBERG  87,854    KERSHAW  588,747  

BARNWELL  98,384    LANCASTER  1,727,805  

BEAUFORT  6,934,808    LAURENS  440,271  

BERKELEY  5,407,979    LEE  39,646  

CALHOUN  72,147    LEXINGTON  4,194,705  

CHARLESTON  16,598,773    MARION  94,348  

CHEROKEE  355,358    MARLBORO  59,580  

CHESTER  203,785    MCCORMICK  81,541  

CHESTERFIELD  171,545    NEWBERRY  229,727  

CLARENDON  226,160    OCONEE  1,196,350  

COLLETON  445,214    ORANGEBURG  632,980  

DARLINGTON  251,169    PICKENS  1,422,881  

DILLON  120,973    RICHLAND  6,284,281  

DORCHESTER  2,887,560    SALUDA  102,024  

EDGEFIELD  179,206    SPARTANBURG  3,923,845  

FAIRFIELD  290,181    SUMTER  780,451  

FLORENCE  1,005,026    UNION  82,719  

GEORGETOWN  1,401,188    WILLIAMSBURG  110,397  

GREENVILLE  10,158,134   YORK  5,500,828  

 
   State Total:             $89,110,662 
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DRY CLEANING FACILITY FEES AND SURCHARGES 
  

The SCDOR collects certain fees and surcharges on behalf of the Department of Health and 
Environmental Control (DHEC) for the Dry Cleaning Restoration Trust Fund.  Owners of dry-
cleaning facilities must pay registration fees for each of their “wet-site” locations. The initial 
and annual registration fees are based upon the number of employees at the facility the 
previous year.  Fees may be paid on an annual or quarterly basis. An environmental surcharge is 
due on the privilege of producing in South Carolina or importing into the state halogenated and 
nonhalogenated solvent. A person importing or producing one of the solvents must register 
with the SCDOR for purposes of remitting the surcharge and pay a $30 registration fee.  The 
surcharge imposed is $10 a gallon on halogenated and $2 a gallon on nonhalogenated solvent.  
  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
ELECTRIC POWER TAX 
  

Every person who sells electric power for resale and every public utility and cooperative that 
sells electric power to the consumer must pay an electric power tax. The tax does not apply to 
electric power purchased from vendors previously taxed under the statute. The tax is 5/10 of 
one mill (.0005) upon each kilowatt-hour of electric power sold.  
  

  
 

 
 
 
 
 

Enacted: 1995  

Statute: §§44-56-410 to 44-56-495  

Rate: See statute 

Distribution: Special fund for environmental 
cleanup from dry cleaning 
operations  

FY 2017 Collections: $1,001,766 

Enacted: 1931  

Statute: §§12-23-10 to 12-23-130  

Rate: $0.0005  

Distribution: State General Fund  

FY 2017 Collections: $ 28,278,267 
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EMERGENCY SERVICE USER FEE 
  

The 911 charge is imposed with respect to commercial mobile radio service (CMRS) connection 
and prepaid wireless retail transaction and is paid to the SCDOR.  
 
CMRS 911 User Fee: CMRS Connection is each mobile number assigned to a CMRS customer. 
Commercial Mobile Radio Service (CMRS) is defined under Sections 3(27)and 332(d), Federal 
Telecommunications Act of 1996 (47 U.S.C. Section 151, et seq.), Federal Communications 
Commission Rules, and the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993. The term includes any 
wireless two-way communication device, including radio-telephone communications used in 
cellular telephone service, personal communication service, or the functional and/or 
competitive equivalent of a radio-telephone communications line used in cellular telephone 
service, a personal communication service, or a network radio access line. The term does not 
include services that do not provide access to 911 services, a communication channel suitable 
only for data transmission, a wireless roaming service or other nonlocal radio access line 
service, or a private telecommunications system.  The fee is calculated at a rate of $0.62 per 
mobile identification number. 
 
Prepaid Wireless 911 Charge: Prepaid wireless sellers are required to collect these charges 
from prepaid wireless consumers pursuant to Code Section 23-47-68. A prepaid wireless retail 
transaction is the purchase of prepaid wireless telecommunications service from a prepaid 
wireless seller for any purpose other than resale. A prepaid wireless seller is a person or entity 
that sells prepaid wireless telecommunications service to another person or entity for any 
purpose other than resale.  
 
A charge is calculated at a rate of $0.62 per prepaid wireless retail transaction and collected by 
the SCDOR.  All funds are transferred and kept by the State Treasurer in a fund separate and 
apart from the general fund to be expended as provided in Section 23-47-65.  
  

  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  

Enacted: 1931  

Statute: Chapter 47 of Title 23  

Rate: See Above 

Distribution: 39.8% - 911 System Operations 
58.2% - System Maintenance 
2% - Independent Auditor  

FY 2017 Collections: $ 29,876,223 

http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t23c047.php#23-47-68
http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t23c047.php#23-47-65
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EMERGENCY SERVICE USER FEE  
  

Universal Service Fund Charge: Code Section 58-9-280(E) requires telecommunications 
companies to collect charges from their customers and to contribute them to a Universal 
Service Fund (USF) in order to provide basic local exchange telephone service at affordable 
rates and to assist with alignment of prices and recovery of costs to carriers of last resort. The 
Department must issue an assessment and collect fund contributions from any 
telecommunications company that does not have a certificate issued by the Public Service 
Commission (PSC). The Office of Regulatory Staff (ORS) must certify to the Department the USF 
factor and the amounts to be assessed. Telecommunications companies that have certificates 
issued by the PSC must continue to remit their contributions to ORS.  
 
Prepaid wireless sellers must collect USF contributions from consumers for prepaid wireless 
communications services. This fixed per-transaction fee is established annually by ORS. Prepaid 
wireless sellers must collect the USF contribution on each retail transaction occurring in South 
Carolina. 
 
Prepaid wireless sellers may retain 3% of the gross USF contribution as an administrative fee. 
 
Dual Party Relay Charge: Code Section 58-9-2530 authorizes the Public Service Commission 
(PSC) to require local exchange carriers to collect and remit a dual party relay charge. The PSC 
may require each local exchange provider, Commercial Mobile Radio Service (CMRS) provider, 
Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service provider and prepaid wireless seller to impose a dual 
party relay charge not to exceed 10 cents (reduced from 25 cents). The charge will fund a dual 
party relay system that allows deaf, hearing or speech impaired users to communicate with an 
intermediary who orally relays the message or request to a third party.  
 
No other tax, fee, surcharge, or other charge for dual party relay system funding may be 
imposed by any State entity.  
 
Rules are provided for sourcing transactions, limiting the number of charges in certain 
instances, and addressing situations where services overlap.  
 

  
 

 
 
 
 
 

  

Enacted: 2017 

Statute: 58-9-280(E), 58-9-2530 

Rate: See Above 

Distribution: Office of Regulatory Staff 

FY 2017 Collections: $12,202,981 
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FOREST RENEWAL AND PRODUCT ASSESSMENT TAX 
  

The forest renewal tax is assessed on all primary forest products harvested from South Carolina 
and is paid by the processor of primary forest products. The tax is paid quarterly on the 25th of 
the month following the end of the quarter. Processors are required to maintain product 
records for three fiscal years.  
 

  

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
INDIGENT HOSPITAL TAX 
  

The Indigent Care Fund was established to assist citizens who cannot afford to pay for hospital 
care due to inadequate financial resources or catastrophic medical expenses.  
  

Enacted: 1989  

Statute: §§12-23-810 to 12-23-840  

Rate: Based on the total expenditures of each 
hospital as a percentage of total hospital 
expenditures statewide  

Distribution: Medical Expansion Fund  

FY 2017 Collections: $267,253,101 

  
 

 
 
 
 

Enacted: 1922  

Statute: §§48-28-10 to 48-28-100  
§§48-30-10 to 48-30-80  

Rate: See statute 

Distribution: Forest Renewal Fund  

FY 2017 Collections: $ 890,973 
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MOTOR FUEL USER FEE 
 

A motor fuel user fee (commonly referred to as gas tax) of 16 cents per gallon is imposed upon 
all gasoline, gasohol, or blended fuels containing gasoline used or consumed in this state for 
any purpose and upon all diesel fuel, substitute fuels, or alternative fuels, or blended fuels 
containing diesel fuel used or consumed in this state in producing or generating power for 
propelling motor vehicles. All suppliers and importers doing business in South Carolina are 
responsible for collecting the user fee and reporting and remitting it to the SCDOR. 
 
In addition to the motor fuel user fee, there may be charged an inspection fee of one-fourth 
cent (.0025) and an environmental impact fee of one-half cent (.0050) per gallon on petroleum 
products. The liability for these fees arises at the same time and are payable by the same 
person as the motor fuel user fee. The total user fee is (.1675) per gallon of motor fuel. 
 
Terminal suppliers, permissive suppliers, terminal operators, exporters, transporters, importers, 
tank-wagon operators, fuel vendors, manufacturers and blenders are required to obtain a 
license and pay applicable fees before operating. 
 

Enacted: 1922  

Statute: §§12-28-110 to12-28-2930  

Rate: $0.1675/gallon  

Distribution: $0.16 — User Fee, Department of Transportation, DNR 
$0.005 — Environmental Impact Fee, Department of 
Health and Environmental Control  
$0.002 $0.005 —  Petroleum Inspection Fee, 
Department of Agriculture 

FY 2017 Collections: $ 629,075,793 
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RETAIL LICENSE FEE 

  
Before engaging in business in South Carolina, every retailer shall obtain a retail license for each 
permanent branch, establishment or agency and pay a license tax of $50 for each retail license 
at the time of application. Every artist and craftsman selling products they have created or 
assembled at arts and crafts shows and festivals shall obtain a retail license and pay a license 
tax of $20 at the time of application.  Every retailer operating a transient or temporary business 
within this state shall obtain a retail license and pay a license tax of $50 at the time of 
application. In every case, the license may be used for only one location at a time.  
  
  
 

 
 
 
 
 
SAVINGS AND LOAN TAX 
  

Savings and loan associations are taxed under Chapter 13 of Title 12 of the SC Code of 
Laws.  Associations pay a tax of 6% of net income, excluding tax exempt income, from all 
sources. Associations are exempt from the tax for their first three years of 
operation. Association income is subject to allocation and apportionment.  Associations are 
required to pay estimated tax. 
  

 

Enacted: 1957  

Statute: §§12-13-10 to 12-13-100  

Rate: 6% of Net Income  

Distribution: State General Fund  

FY 2017 Collections: $ 1,881,527 

 

 
 

Enacted: 1951  

Statute: §12-36-510  

Rate: $20 or $50 at time of application  

Distribution: State General Fund  

FY 2017 Collections: $ 798,063 
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SOLID WASTE EXCISE TAX 
  

Retailers of tires and batteries and wholesalers of appliances and motor oil are required to 
report and pay the solid waste excise tax on the sale of these items. The tax is $2 per tire, 
battery and appliance sold and $0.08 for each gallon of motor oil sold.  
 

  

Enacted: 1991 

Statute: §44-96-120 to 44-96-235 

Rate: $0.08 / gallon oil 
$2.00 / tire 
$2.00/ battery 
$2.00 / white good 

Distribution: Solid Waste Management Fund  
(Local Governments) 

FY 2017 Collections: $ 10,404,642 

 

 
 


