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Chapter 13 
 

Nexus 
 
A. General Information 
 
Nexus is a sufficient connection between a person and a state, and a sufficient connection 
between an activity, property, or transaction and a state, that allows the state to subject the 
person and the activity, property, or transaction to its taxing jurisdiction. The Due Process and 
Commerce Clauses of the United States Constitution and other federal statutes provide 
limitations on a state’s powers to tax out-of-state businesses.  
 
On June 21, 2018, the United States Supreme Court in South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc., 585 U.S. 
__, 138 S. Ct. 2080 (2018), ruled that retailers (including online retailers) without physical 
presence in a state may be subject to sales and use tax. This decision overturned the Court’s 
longstanding position in Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298 (1992), and National Bellas 
Hess, Inc. v. Department of Revenue of Illinois, 386 U.S. 753 (1967), which allowed states to 
collect sales and use tax only from retailers with a physical presence. 
 
Below is a summary of South Carolina’s economic nexus and physical nexus standards for sales 
and use tax. 
 
B. Economic Nexus Standards1 
 
A remote seller (i.e., a retailer without a physical presence in South Carolina) whose gross 
revenue from sales of tangible personal property,2 products transferred electronically, and 
services delivered into South Carolina exceeds $100,000 in the previous calendar year or the 
current calendar year has economic nexus (i.e., substantial nexus) with South Carolina.  A 
remote seller who has economic nexus with South Carolina is responsible for obtaining a retail 
license and remitting South Carolina sales and use tax.  
 
The $100,000 economic nexus standard for a remote seller includes: 
 
■ the total gross revenue from all sales of tangible personal property delivered into South 

Carolina, including all taxable retail sales, exempt retail sales, and wholesale sales of tangible 
personal property;  

                                                 
1 The Department issued SC Revenue Ruling #18-14 to provide written guidance for remote sellers (i.e., persons 
engaged in the business of selling tangible personal property at retail without a physical presence in South Carolina) 
regarding sales and use tax registration and remittance in light of South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc., 585 U.S. __, 138 S. 
Ct. 2080 (2018). 
2 Code Section 12-36-60 defines “tangible personal property,” in part, as “personal property which may be seen, 
weighed, measured, felt, touched, or which is in any other manner perceptible to the senses. It also includes  services 
and intangibles, including communications, laundry and related services, furnishing of accommodations and sales of 
electricity, the sale or use of which is subject to tax under [the South Carolina sales and use tax law].” For services 
that are specifically subject to the sales and use tax, and therefore by definition are “tangible personal property,” see   
Code Sections 12-36-910(B), 12-36-1310(B), 12-36-920, and 12-36-2645. 
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■ the total gross revenue from all sales of products transferred electronically into South 

Carolina, whether or not the transfer of such product is subject to the South Carolina sales 
and use tax; and 

 
■ the total gross revenue from all services delivered into South Carolina, whether or not the 

service is subject to the South Carolina sales and use tax.  
 
Economic Nexus Established in Calendar Year 2017, or from January 1, 2018 through 
September 30, 2018 
 
Remote sellers who established economic nexus with South Carolina in calendar year 2017, or 
from January 1, 2018 through September 30, 2018, were required to obtain a retail license from 
the Department by November 1, 2018 and to remit the sales and use tax for all taxable sales 
made into South Carolina on and after November 1, 2018.  Sales and use tax, penalties, and 
interest will not be assessed against these remote sellers for taxable sales made into South 
Carolina before November 1, 2018. 
 
Economic Nexus Established on or after October 1, 2018 
 
Remote sellers who establish economic nexus with South Carolina on or after October 1, 
2018, are responsible for remitting the sales and use tax for all taxable sales made into South 
Carolina beginning the first day of the second calendar month after economic nexus is 
established.3 These remote sellers must obtain a retail license from the Department by the first 
day of the second calendar month after economic nexus is established. Sales and use tax, 
penalties, and interest will not be assessed against these remote sellers for taxable sales made 
into South Carolina before the first day of the second calendar month after economic nexus is 
established. 
  
Example: Assume a remote seller establishes economic nexus in South Carolina on December 
10, 2019 (i.e., it exceeds $100,000 in gross revenue from South Carolina). The remote seller 
must: (1) obtain a retail license by February 1, 2020 (the first day of the second calendar month 
after economic nexus is established) and (2) collect and remit the sales and use tax for all taxable 
sales made into South Carolina on and after February 1, 2020. 
 
Failure to Timely Register and Remit Tax  
 
Remote sellers who establish economic nexus with South Carolina as noted above, but who do 
not timely obtain a retail license from the Department are subject to sales and use tax assessment, 
penalties, and interest for all taxable sales made into South Carolina beginning with the date the 
remote seller was required to obtain a retail license. 
 
For more information regarding economic nexus in South Carolina, see Exhibit A (SC Revenue 
Ruling #18-14, “Retailers Without a Physical Presence – Remote Sellers – Economic Nexus”) 
and Exhibit B (Remote Sellers Frequently Asked Questions) at the end of this chapter. 
                                                 
3 This is approximately 30 days from the end of the month in which economic nexus is established. 
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C. Physical Nexus Standards4 
 
Physical presence can be established by a retailer maintaining a place of business in South 
Carolina.  This includes any retailer having or maintaining, directly or by a subsidiary, an office, 
distribution house, sales house, warehouse, or other place of business, or any agent operating 
within South Carolina under the authority of the retailer or its subsidiary, regardless of whether 
the business or agent is located here permanently or temporarily or whether the retailer or 
subsidiary is admitted to do business in South Carolina.   
 
South Carolina Revenue Ruling #14-4 is the Department’s most recent guidance on physical 
presence nexus for sales and use tax purposes. However, it is important to note that since 
developments in this area are constantly taking place, any response in SC Revenue Ruling #14-4 
is subject to change due to a future statute, regulation, court decision, or advisory opinion. 
 
The following pages contain a list of examples of how physical presence can be established in 
South Carolina.  Each example is based on the following assumptions:  
 
• The business is selling tangible personal property at retail to residents or others in South 

Carolina; 
 
• Each specific example by itself is the only possible nexus creating activity or relationship a 

business has in South Carolina; and 
 
• The activities described are not “de minimis.” 
 
A business that performs any of the below activities or has any of the below property or 
personnel in the state has physical nexus with South Carolina, even if the activity is the sole 
activity in South Carolina.  
 

                                                 
4 A retailer that does not have economic nexus with South Carolina may still be responsible for collecting and 
remitting state and local sales and use tax if the retailer has established physical nexus with South Carolina.  The 
discussion and examples in Section C only involve retailers who do not have economic nexus with South Carolina 
as discussed in Section B above. 
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EXAMPLES OF ACTIVITIES CREATING PHYSICAL NEXUS IN SOUTH CAROLINA 
 

 

• Affiliated with an entity that sells tangible 
personal property or services to customers in 
South Carolina, and: 
o the South Carolina affiliate sells similar 

merchandise and uses common trade 
names, trademarks, or logs; or  

o uses the South Carolina affiliate to accept 
returns, take orders, perform customer 
service, or distribute advertising materials 
on its behalf 

• Selling gift cards in affiliated South Carolina 
stores 

• Selling tangible personal property from 
outside South Carolina (e.g., by telephone, 
over the internet, or otherwise) and:  
o authorizing an employee or third party to 

solicit sales in South Carolina; or 
o shipping its product for distribution to a 

third-party distributor located in South 
Carolina that performs labeling, 
packaging, and shipping functions 

• Making remote sales of “canned software,” 
that constitutes tangible personal property, to 
South Carolina residents and then sending a 
representative to customize it to meet the 
customer’s specific needs or to provide other 
information technology services 

Activities of an Employee or Third Party (e.g., 
Sales Representative, Independent Contractor 
or Affiliated Company) 
 
• Presence of an employee, representative, or 

independent contractor soliciting or selling in 
South Carolina 

• Authorizing employee or third party to install, 
deliver, service, or repair merchandise in 
South Carolina or hiring independent 
contractor to perform warranty or repair 
services on tangible personal property in 
South Carolina 

• Using employee or third party to investigate, 
handle or resolve customer issues, provide 
training or technical assistance, or otherwise 
provide customer service to customers in 
South Carolina 

• Using a telemarketing firm with a South 
Carolina office 

• Collecting delinquent accounts using a 
collection agency in South Carolina or hiring 
attorneys or other third parties to file 
collection suits in South Carolina 

• In-state representative maintaining an in-
home office 



November 2022 Chapter 13, Page 5 

EXAMPLES OF ACTIVITIES CREATING PHYSICAL NEXUS IN SOUTH CAROLINA  

Property in South Carolina 
 
• Maintaining or using a place of business in 

South Carolina for: 
o selling tangible personal property; or 
o storing tangible personal property 

• Maintaining inventory  
• Maintaining or using a distribution facility 
• Maintaining tangible personal property for 

lease through a representative 
• Existence of unrelated in-state office (e.g., 

advertising) 
• Operating as mail-order catalog seller with 

property or solicitors in South Carolina 
• Drop-shipping catalogs in South Carolina, for 

mailing to residents within South Carolina 
• Selling tangible personal property from 

outside South Carolina (e.g., by telephone, 
over the internet, or otherwise) and:  
o delivering merchandise to customers in 

South Carolina in returnable containers; 
o delivering merchandise to customers in 

South Carolina by the business’ tractor-
trailers or railcars and leaving the trailer 
or railcar with the customer for a certain 
period of time; or 

o providing in-state telephone and kiosks 
that allow customers to access inventories 
and purchase merchandise from remote 
subsidiaries 

 
 

Delivery 
 
• In-state delivery via company-owned vehicles 
• Presence of a representative to deliver 

merchandise in South Carolina 
• Delivering merchandise in South Carolina by 

means other than common carrier or the U.S. 
Postal Service 
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Exhibit A 
 

SC Revenue Ruling #18-14:  Retailers Without a  
Physical Presence (“Remote Sellers”) – Economic Nexus 
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
300A Outlet Pointe Blvd., Columbia, South Carolina 29210 

P.O. Box 12265, Columbia, South Carolina 29211 
 

 
SC REVENUE RULING #18-14 

 
 
SUBJECT:  Retailers Without a Physical Presence (“Remote Sellers”) - Economic 

Nexus  
  (Sales and Use Tax) 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: For sales made on or after November 1, 2018, unless a later date is 

otherwise provided in this advisory opinion. 
 
SUPERSEDES: SC Revenue Advisory Bulletin #01-7 and all previous documents and 

oral directives in conflict herewith. 
 
MODIFIES: SC Revenue Ruling #14-4 and all previous documents and oral 

directives in conflict herewith. 
 
AUTHORITY: S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-4-320 (2014) 
  S.C. Code Ann. Section 1-23-10(4) (2005) 

SC Revenue Procedure #09-3 
 
SCOPE: The purpose of a Revenue Ruling is to provide guidance to the public. It 

is an advisory opinion issued to apply principles of tax law to a set of 
facts or general category of taxpayers. It is the Department’s position 
until superseded or modified by a change in statute, regulation, court 
decision, or another Departmental advisory opinion. 

 
I. OVERVIEW OF NEXUS AND WAYFAIR DECISION 
 
Nexus is a sufficient connection between a person and a state, and a sufficient connection 
between an activity, property, or transaction and a state, that allows the state to subject the 
person, and the activity, property, or transaction to its taxing jurisdiction. The Due Process and 
Commerce Clauses of the United States Constitution and other federal statutes provide 
limitations on a state’s powers to tax out-of-state businesses.  Over the years, the courts have 
provided limitations and guidelines in determining whether certain activities create nexus in a 
taxing state. 
 
On June 21, 2018, the United States Supreme Court in South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc., 585 U.S. 
      , 138 S. Ct. 2080 (2018), ruled that retailers (including online retailers) without physical 
presence in a state may be subject to sales and use tax.  This decision overturned the Court’s 
longstanding position in Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298 (1992) and National Bellas 
Hess, Inc. v. Department of Revenue of Illinois, 386 U.S. 753 (1967), which allowed states to 
collect sales and use tax only on retailers with a physical presence.

https://checkpoint.riag.com/app/main/docLinkNew?DocID=ie334566c86af11de83190a48868caa77&SrcDocId=T0SLACSOS%3A36289.1-1&feature=tcheckpoint&lastCpReqId=2791be
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South Carolina Code Section 12-36-70 defines “retailer” and “seller” to include persons not 
maintaining a physical presence in South Carolina, and reads in part: 
 

“Retailer” and “seller” include every person: 
 
(1)(a) selling or auctioning tangible personal property whether owned by the 
person or others; 

* * * 
(2)(a) maintaining a place of business or qualifying to do business in this State; or 
     (b) not maintaining an office or location in this State but soliciting business by 
direct or indirect representatives, manufacturers agents, distribution of catalogs, or 
other advertising matter or by any other means, and by reason thereof receives 
orders for tangible personal property or for storage, use, consumption, or 
distribution in this State (Emphasis added). 
 

South Carolina has not enforced this provision against retailers without a physical presence 
because of the constitutional nexus restrictions under National Bellas Hess and Quill.1  Because 
the United States Supreme Court has reversed its longstanding position and eliminated the 
physical presence requirement, South Carolina will require retailers who do not have a physical 
presence in South Carolina but who establish an economic presence as outlined below to remit 
the sales and use tax on a prospective basis beginning November 1, 2018, unless a later date is 
otherwise provided in this advisory opinion. 
 
The purpose of this advisory opinion is to provide written guidance for retailers (i.e., persons 
engaged in the business of selling tangible personal property at retail) without a physical 
presence in South Carolina regarding sales and use tax registration and remittance in light of 
Wayfair. 
 
For purposes of this advisory opinion, a retailer with no physical presence in South 
Carolina is referred to as a “remote seller” (e.g., marketplace,2 online, catalog, or mail 
order retailer). In addition, a remote seller includes any related entity assisting the remote 
seller in sales, storage, distribution, payment collection, or in any other manner with 
respect to the remote seller.3  
 

                                                 
1 See SC Revenue Procedure #92-2, “Filing Requirements Where Nexus Is an Issue;” SC Information Letter #92-19, 
“Nexus - Quill Corp. v. North Dakota;” and SC Information Letter #90-29, “Nexus - Economic Presence.” 
2 A “marketplace” is a person engaged in the business of facilitating a retail sale of tangible personal property by (1) 
listing or advertising, or allowing the listing or advertising of, the products of another person in any marketplace 
where sales at retail occur and (2) collecting or processing payments from the purchaser, either directly or indirectly 
through an agreement or arrangement with a third party, regardless of whether the marketplace receives 
compensation or other consideration in exchange for its services. A marketplace includes any related entity assisting 
the marketplace in sales, storage, distribution, payment collection, or in any other manner with respect to the 
marketplace.  
A marketplace may be physical or electronic and includes, but is not limited to, any space, store, booth, catalog, 
website, television broadcast, or similar place, medium, or forum. 
3 See the definition of the term “person” in Code Section 12-36-30, which includes “any group or combination 
acting as a unit.” 
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The prospective treatment outlined in this advisory opinion is limited to remote sellers and 
does not apply to retailers who have a physical presence in South Carolina or retailers 
currently licensed with the Department for sales and use tax purposes. 
 
Note: This advisory opinion reflects the Department’s official position at this time. Since 
developments in this area are taking place, any guidance is subject to change due to a future 
statute, regulation, court decision, or advisory opinion.  Any change in South Carolina’s position 
as set forth in this document that is not the result of a court case or change in statute or regulation 
will be prospective. Any change that is the result of a court case will apply to all periods open 
under the statute unless the court states otherwise and any change in statute or regulation will be 
applicable as of the effective date established by the General Assembly. 
 
II. SUBSTANTIAL NEXUS STANDARDS FOR REMOTE SELLERS 
 
In accordance with Code Section 12-36-70 and the principles of Wayfair, a remote seller whose 
gross revenue from sales of tangible personal property,4 products transferred electronically, and 
services delivered into South Carolina exceeds $100,000 in the previous calendar year or the 
current calendar year has economic nexus (i.e., substantial nexus) with South Carolina and is 
responsible for obtaining a retail license and remitting South Carolina sales and use tax. 
 
III.  CALCULATION OF THE $100,000 ECONOMIC NEXUS STANDARD 
 
The $100,000 economic nexus standard for a remote seller includes: 
 

 the total gross revenue from all sales of tangible personal property delivered into South 
Carolina, including all taxable retail sales, exempt retail sales, and wholesale sales of 
tangible personal property; 

 
 the total gross revenue from all sales of products transferred electronically into South 

Carolina, whether or not the transfer of such product is subject to the South Carolina 
sales and use tax; and, 
 

 the total gross revenue from all services delivered into South Carolina, whether or not 
the service is subject to the South Carolina sales and use tax. 

 
Example 1 – Sales on Own Website: Assume a remote seller makes sales into South Carolina via 
his own website. His annual South Carolina sales total $100,001. These sales consist of $75,000 
in taxable retail sales and $25,001 in exempt retail sales and wholesale sales. Since the remote 
seller’s total gross revenue from all sales into South Carolina exceeds $100,000, the remote seller 
meets South Carolina’s economic nexus standard and he is required to obtain a retail license and 
remit the sales and use tax to the Department. 
                                                 
4 Code Section 12-36-60 defines “tangible personal property,” in part, as “personal property which may be seen, 
weighed, measured, felt, touched, or which is in any other manner perceptible to the senses. It also includes services 
and intangibles, including communications, laundry and related services, furnishing of accommodations and sales of 
electricity, the sale or use of which is subject to tax under [the South Carolina sales and use tax law].” For services 
that are specifically subject to the sales and use tax, and therefore by definition are “tangible personal property,” see 
Code Sections 12-36-910(B), 12-36-1310(B), 12-36-920, and 12-36-2645. 
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Example 2 – Sales on Own Website and Via a Marketplace: Assume a remote seller makes sales 
on his own website. He also lists his products for sale on a marketplace that has economic nexus 
with South Carolina.  The remote seller sells $75,000 of items into South Carolina via his own 
website. A marketplace makes sales of $50,000 of products owned by the remote seller into 
South Carolina, and the marketplace collects or processes customer payments from these 
marketplace sales.  
 
The calculation of the remote seller’s economic nexus standard includes the gross revenue from 
property owned by the remote seller but sold via the marketplace. Since the remote seller’s total 
gross revenue from South Carolina exceeds $100,000 ($75,000 + $50,000), the remote seller 
meets South Carolina’s economic nexus standard. He is required to obtain a retail license and 
remit the sales and use tax to the Department on his “gross proceeds of sales”5 of $75,000.  
 
Since South Carolina’s economic nexus standard is based on “gross revenue,” revenue from the 
sales made via the marketplace in this example (Example 2) is included in the calculation for 
determining if the remote seller has established economic nexus with South Carolina. However, 
under South Carolina sales and use tax law, the sales made via the marketplace are sales by the 
marketplace, and the marketplace is required to obtain a retail license and collect and remit the 
sales and use tax on the marketplace’s “gross proceeds of sales,” which includes the $50,000 in 
sales of products owned by the remote seller but sold by the marketplace. 
 
IV. REGISTRATION AND TAX REMITTANCE BY REMOTE SELLERS 

WITH ECONOMIC NEXUS 
 
In accordance with Code Section 12-36-70, Code Section 12-4-320, and the principles of 
Wayfair, remote sellers with economic nexus must remit the sales and use tax for all taxable 
sales made into South Carolina on and after November 1, 2018, as provided below. Remote 
sellers who are not currently licensed for sales and use tax purposes with the Department should 
follow the guidelines below. 
 

A. Guidelines for Timely Registration and Remittance of Tax 
 

 1. Economic Nexus in Calendar Year 2017, or from January 1, 2018 through 
September 30, 2018 
 

Remote sellers having economic nexus with South Carolina in calendar year 2017, or from 
January 1, 2018 through September 30, 2018, are responsible for remitting the sales and 
use tax for all taxable sales made into South Carolina on and after November 1, 2018.  
These remote sellers must obtain a retail license from the Department by November 1, 
2018.  Sales and use tax, penalties, and interest will not be assessed against these remote 
sellers for taxable sales by these remote sellers before November 1, 2018.  
 

                                                 
5 “Gross proceeds of sales” is defined in Code Section 12-36-90. Generally, “gross proceeds of sales” is the value 
proceeding or accruing from the sale, lease, or rental of tangible personal property and, therefore, is the total amount 
charged in conjunction with the sale or rental of tangible personal property. However, see Code Section 12-36-90(2) 
for charges that are not included in “gross proceeds of sales.” For purposes of this advisory opinion, “gross proceeds 
of sales” applies to sales tax transactions and use tax transactions. 
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2. Economic Nexus Established on or after October 1, 2018 
 

Remote sellers who establish economic nexus with South Carolina on or after October 1, 
2018, are responsible for remitting the sales and use tax for all taxable sales made into 
South Carolina beginning the first day of the second calendar month after economic 
nexus is established.6 These remote sellers must obtain a retail license from the 
Department by the first day of the second calendar month after economic nexus is 
established.  Sales and use tax, penalties, and interest will not be assessed against these 
remote sellers for taxable sales made into South Carolina before the first day of the second 
calendar month after economic nexus is established.  
 
Example: Assume a remote seller establishes economic nexus in South Carolina on 
December 10, 2018 (i.e., it exceeds $100,000 in gross revenue from South Carolina). The 
remote seller must: (1) obtain a retail license by February 1, 2019 (the first day of the 
second calendar month after economic nexus is established) and (2) collect and remit the 
sales and use tax for all taxable sales made into South Carolina on and after February 1, 
2019. 
 
B. Failure to Timely Register and Remit Tax  
 
Remote sellers who establish economic nexus with South Carolina as noted above, but who 
do not timely obtain a retail license from the Department are subject to sales and use tax 
assessment, penalties, and interest for all taxable sales made into South Carolina beginning 
with the date the remote seller was required to obtain a retail license. 
 

V. VOLUNTARY REGISTRATION AND TAX REMITTANCE BY 
REMOTE SELLERS WITHOUT ECONOMIC NEXUS 

 
Remote sellers who are not required to collect and remit the South Carolina sales and use tax 
may voluntarily obtain a retail license from the Department at any time and remit the sales and 
use tax for all taxable sales made into South Carolina. The collection and remittance of the sales 
and use tax by the remote seller applies to all taxable sales made in South Carolina on and after 
the effective date of the retail license. The voluntary filer must continue to collect and remit the 
tax for all tax periods until the remote seller notifies the Department that the retail license is 
being closed.  
 
VI. SUBMITTING AN APPLICATION FOR A RETAIL LICENSE 

 
Remote sellers who have established economic nexus with South Carolina, or who wish to 
voluntarily collect and remit the South Carolina sales and use tax, must obtain a retail license.  

 
 

The Department’s online portal for obtaining a retail license can be found at 
MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov. Remote sellers using the online portal may submit the electronic 
application, along with the $50 fee, beginning September 28, 2018. 

                                                 
6 This is approximately 30 days from the end of the month in which economic nexus is established. 
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The Department’s paper application for a remote seller’s retail license is South Carolina Form 
DOR-111RS, “Remote Seller Sales and Use Tax Registration.” This form is on the Department’s 
website (dor.sc.gov). Remote sellers using this form may submit the paper application, along 
with the $50 fee, at any time. 

 
A remote seller who has obtained a retail license from the Department must file a sales and use 
tax return (paper or electronic) and report its total gross proceeds of sales for each month it is 
licensed beginning with the effective date of the retail license.  
 
VII. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 
 1. Filing Requirements 

 
Remote sellers licensed with the Department must file a monthly sales and use tax return. 
Each monthly return is due by the 20th day of the following month.  Returns must be filed 
for all months, even in those months the taxpayer has no sales into South Carolina or has 
no tax due. Exception: If a remote seller’s total state and local sales and use tax due does 
not exceed $100 for any month, then the remote seller may file quarterly upon approval by 
the Department.  

 
 2. Information for Remote Sellers  
 

Remote sellers may obtain additional information on the Department’s website 
(dor.sc.gov). The website provides information on the sales and use tax base, local sales 
and use taxes, exemptions and exclusions, obtaining a retail license, forms, and frequently 
asked questions. 
 

 
 SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 
 
 
 s/W. Hartley Powell 
 W. Hartley Powell, Director 
 
 September 18         , 2018 
Columbia, South Carolina 

 

http://www.dor.sc.gov/
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Exhibit B 
 

Remote Sellers Frequently Asked Questions 
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Exhibit B 
 

Remote Sellers Frequently Asked Questions 
 

These FAQs are divided into the following categories: 
 

A. General Questions 
 
B. Economic Nexus Standard for Remote Sellers 
 
C. Effective Date for Obtaining a Retail License and Remitting the Sales and Use Tax – 

Economic Nexus 
 
D. Effective Date for Obtaining a Retail License and Remitting the Sales and Use Tax – 

Physical Nexus 
 
E. Local Tax Nexus, Collection, and Remittance 
 
F. Taxable Transactions 
 
G. Exemptions and Exclusions 
 
H. State and Local Tax Rates 
 
I. Retail Licenses and Filing Requirements 
 
J. South Carolina Purchasers 

 
Note: The establishment of economic nexus with South Carolina requires an understanding of 
various terms – most of which are defined in the South Carolina sales and use tax law. The 
definitions for the terms “remote seller,” “marketplace facilitator,” “gross revenue,” and 
“tangible personal property” are summarized in these FAQs. 
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A. GENERAL QUESTIONS 
 
1. Q. What is the effect of the Wayfair decision in South Carolina? 
 

A. On June 21, 2018, in South Dakota v. Wayfair, the U.S. Supreme Court overturned the 
1992 case of Quill v. North Dakota, ruling that out-of-state sellers with no physical 
presence in a state can be required to collect and remit sales and use taxes in states where 
they meet certain economic thresholds.  

 
 In South Carolina, a remote seller whose gross revenue from sales delivered into South 

Carolina exceeds $100,000 in the previous calendar year or the current calendar year has 
economic nexus (i.e., substantial nexus) with South Carolina and is responsible for 
obtaining a retail license and remitting South Carolina sales and use tax. 

 
South Carolina’s economic nexus standard applies to sales made by remote sellers on and 
after November 1, 2018. For more details as to the effective date of South Carolina’s 
economic nexus standards, see the section of these frequently asked questions entitled: 
“Effective Date for Obtaining a Retail License and Remitting the Sales and Use Tax.” 

 
2. Q. Who is a “remote seller”? 
 

A. A remote seller is an out-of-state retailer (i.e., a person engaged in the business of selling 
tangible personal property at retail) that has no physical presence in South Carolina.   

 
3. Q. Is a “marketplace facilitator” without a physical presence in South Carolina a “remote 

seller”? 
 

A. Yes. Code Section 12-36-70 defines “retailer” and “seller” in part as every person 
operating as a marketplace facilitator.  Code Section 12-36-71 defines a “marketplace 
facilitator” as a person engaged in the business of facilitating a retail sale of  tangible 
personal property by (1) listing or advertising, or allowing the listing or advertising of, 
the products of another person in any marketplace where sales at retail occur and (2) 
collecting or processing payments from the purchaser, either directly or indirectly 
through an agreement or arrangement with a third party, regardless of whether the person 
receives compensation or other consideration in exchange for his services. A marketplace 
facilitator includes any related entities assisting the marketplace facilitator in sales, 
storage, distribution, payment collection, or in any other manner, with respect to the 
marketplace.  

 
A marketplace may be physical or electronic and includes, but is not limited to, any 
space, store, booth, catalog, website, television or radio broadcast, or similar place, 
medium, or forum.   

 
For more information on marketplace facilitators, see Code Section 12-36-71 and SC 
Revenue Ruling #19-6, “Marketplace Facilitators and Third Parties Whose Products are 
Sold Via a Marketplace – Guidance and Tax Obligations.”  
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4. Q. Are remote sellers currently licensed in South Carolina affected by the Wayfair decision? 
 

A. No. Remote sellers voluntarily licensed in South Carolina prior to the Wayfair decision 
must continue to collect and remit sales and use tax as long as they are licensed with 
South Carolina or meet South Carolina’s economic nexus standard.  

 
5. Q. Are remote sellers responsible for remitting the sales and use tax on sales into South 

Carolina prior to the Wayfair decision? 
 
 A. No. If a remote seller is not currently licensed with the Department and is subject to 

South Carolina sales and use tax only as a result of the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision in 
Wayfair, the remote seller is not required to collect and remit sales and use tax on sales 
that occurred prior to November 1, 2018.  

 
6. Q. May a remote seller who does not meet the economic nexus standard for South Carolina 

voluntarily obtain a retail license and begin collecting the South Carolina sales and use 
tax? 

 
 A. Yes. A remote seller who does not meet South Carolina’s economic nexus standard may 

voluntarily obtain a retail license and remit sales and use tax at any time.  
 
B. ECONOMIC NEXUS STANDARD FOR REMOTE SELLERS 
 
1. Q. What is the economic nexus standard in South Carolina that will require a remote seller 

to obtain a retail license and begin collecting and remitting the South Carolina sales and 
use tax for deliveries into South Carolina? 

 
 A. In South Carolina, a remote seller whose gross revenue from sales delivered into South 

Carolina exceeds $100,000 in the previous calendar year or the current calendar year has 
economic nexus (i.e., substantial nexus) with South Carolina and is responsible for 
obtaining a retail license and remitting South Carolina sales and use tax. 

2. Q. What is “gross revenue”? 
 
 A. “Gross revenue” includes: 

• the total gross revenue from all sales of tangible personal property delivered into 
South Carolina, including all taxable retail sales, exempt retail sales, and wholesale 
sales of tangible personal property; 

• the total gross revenue from all sales of products transferred electronically into South 
Carolina, whether or not the transfer of such product is subject to the South Carolina 
sales and use tax; and 

• the total gross revenue from all services delivered into South Carolina, whether or not 
the service is subject to the South Carolina sales and use tax. 
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Example 1 – Sales on Own Website: Assume a remote seller makes sales into South 
Carolina via his own website. His annual South Carolina sales total $100,001. These sales 
consist of $75,000 in taxable retail sales and $25,001 in exempt retail sales and wholesale 
sales. Since the remote seller’s total gross revenue from all sales into South Carolina 
exceeds $100,000, the remote seller meets South Carolina’s nexus standard and he is 
required to obtain a retail license and remit the sales and use tax to the Department. 
 
Example 2 – Sales by Own Website and Via a Marketplace: Assume a remote seller 
makes sales via his own website as well as via a marketplace.  The remote seller sells 
$75,000 of items into South Carolina via his own website. A marketplace facilitator 
makes sales of $50,000 of products owned by the remote seller and the marketplace 
facilitator collects or processes customer payments from these marketplace sales.  
 
The calculation of the remote seller’s economic nexus standard includes the gross 
revenue from property owned by the remote seller but sold via the marketplace. Since the 
remote seller’s total gross revenue from South Carolina exceeds $100,000 ($75,000 + 
$50,000), the remote seller meets South Carolina’s nexus standard. He is required to 
obtain a retail license and remit the sales and use tax to the Department on his “gross 
proceeds of sales” of $75,000.  
 
Since South Carolina’s economic nexus standard is based on “gross revenue” and not 
“gross proceeds of sales,” revenue from the sales made via the marketplace in this 
example (Example 2) are included in the calculation for determining if the remote seller 
has established economic nexus with South Carolina. However, under South Carolina 
sales and use tax law, the sales made via the marketplace are sales by the marketplace 
facilitator and the marketplace facilitator is required to report and remit the sales and use 
tax on the marketplace facilitator’s “gross proceeds of sales,” which includes the $50,000 
in sales of products owned by the remote seller but sold by the marketplace facilitator. 

 
3. Q. What is the difference between “gross revenue” and “gross proceeds of sales?” 
 
 A. For many remote sellers, gross revenue and gross proceeds of sales will be the same. 
 

In general, gross revenue is all revenue from sales into South Carolina, regardless of 
whether the revenue is subject to the South Carolina sales and use tax. Gross revenue is 
used solely for determining if a remote seller has economic nexus with South Carolina. It 
does not determine liability for the tax. 
 
Gross proceeds of sales is the basis or measure for the sales and use tax. It only applies to 
the sale of tangible personal property as defined in the South Carolina sales and use tax 
law.  
 
Example 1 – Gross Revenue and Gross Proceeds are the Same: Assume a remote 
seller sells t-shirts into South Carolina for $25 and charges $5 for shipping via the U.S. 
Postal Service. The “gross revenue” and “gross proceeds of sales” are the same for this 
transaction - $30. 
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Example 2 - Gross Revenue and Gross Proceeds are Different: Assume a remote 
seller sells software in three different ways. His gross revenue from South Carolina is as 
follows: 

  Disks and Flash drives  $  55,000 
  ASP (SaaS)      $  25,000 
  Downloads    $  30,000 
   Total    $110,000 
 

Since software sold on disks and flash drives and via an ASP (SaaS) are subject to the 
South Carolina sales and use tax, and software sold via downloads are not, “gross 
revenue” and “gross proceeds of sales” are different. Gross revenue for the remote seller 
in this example is $110,000 and gross proceeds of sales is $80,000 ($55,000 + $25,000). 
The remote seller meets South Carolina’s economic nexus standard because his “gross 
revenue” from South Carolina in the prior year or the current year exceeds $100,000, but 
he is only required to report $80,000 in “gross proceeds of sales” on his sales and use tax 
return. The South Carolina sales and use tax will be based on the $80,000 in “gross 
proceeds of sales.” 

 
4. Q. For purposes of calculating the South Carolina economic nexus standard, when is a sale 

deemed to occur? 
 
 A. Generally, sales by remote sellers are deemed to occur upon delivery in South Carolina. 
 
5. Q. What is “tangible personal property” for purposes of determining South Carolina’s 

economic nexus standard? 
 

A. “Tangible personal property” is personal property which may be seen, weighed, 
measured, felt, touched, or which is in any other manner perceptible to the senses. It also 
includes services and intangibles, the sale or use of which is subject to tax under South 
Carolina’s sales and use tax law. The services specifically subject to the South Carolina 
sales and use tax are:  

 
■ communications,  
 
■ laundry and related services,  
 
■ furnishing of accommodations, and  
 
■ electricity.  

 
For the services that are specifically subject to the sales and use tax, and therefore by 
definition are “tangible personal property,” see Chapters 2 and 3 of this manual. 
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6. Q. Does South Carolina have a separate economic nexus standard for local sales and use 
tax? 

 
A. No.  If a retailer has substantial nexus with South Carolina, the retailer has substantial 

nexus with each local jurisdiction in South Carolina for purposes of local sales and use 
taxes administered and collected by the Department.  

 
7. Q. What are examples that explain common types of sales that are included when 

determining South Carolina’s economic nexus standard? 
 
 A. Examples best illustrate the computation of the economic nexus standard for remote 

sellers selling various types and amounts of tangible personal property. It is important to 
understand that the economic nexus standard is based upon “gross revenue.” The 
examples assume the person is a remote seller (i.e., is an out-of-state seller with no 
physical presence in South Carolina) that only makes the sales listed in each specific 
example and the product is owned by that remote seller, unless otherwise stated.   
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Part A – Taxable, Exempt, and/or Wholesale Sales by Remote Seller 
 
Type of Sales Made Via Online, 
Catalog, or Phone Order 

Gross Revenue from SC 
in Previous Calendar 
Year 

Does Remote Seller Meet SC 
Economic Nexus Standard? 

Example 1: All taxable sales 
Remote seller sells common 
household items via his own 
website or through his own 
catalog and telephone sales 
operations (e.g., furniture, pet 
supplies, cosmetics, jewelry, 
etc.). 

Over $100,000 
 
 

Yes 
Remote seller must obtain a 
retail license and collect and 
remit SC sales and use tax on 
all taxable retail sales. 

$100,000 or less No 
Remote seller is not required 
to, but may voluntarily, obtain 
a retail license and collect and 
remit SC sales and use tax. 

Example 2: All nontaxable sales 
Remote seller sells only items 
that are exempt from SC sales 
and use tax (e.g., sales to federal 
government, sales of medicine by 
prescription, etc.). 

Over $100,000 Yes 
Remote seller must file “zero 
tax due” sales tax returns; 
seller may request quarterly or 
annual filings in lieu of 
monthly filings. 

Example 3: All wholesale sales 
Remote seller only sells items for 
resale (i.e., wholesale sales).  
Wholesale sales are not subject to 
SC sales and use tax. 

Over $100,000 Yes 
However, since the remote 
seller is not a retailer (i.e., does 
not make retail sales), he is not 
required to obtain a retail 
license or collect SC sales and 
use tax. 

Example 4: Both taxable and 
nontaxable sales  
Remote seller sells some items 
that are taxable and some items 
that are exempt from SC sales 
and use tax. 

Exempt = $  99,000 
Taxable = $    1,001  
Total     = $100,001 

Yes 
Remote seller must obtain a 
retail license and collect and 
remit SC sales and use tax on 
all taxable retail sales. 

Example 5: Sales exempt from 
State tax, but subject to local 
tax 
Taxpayer sells unprepared food, 
which is exempt from SC state 
sales and use tax, but is subject to 
local sales and use taxes in 
certain counties. 

Over $100,000 Yes 
See DOR website for local tax 
chart of counties imposing tax 
on unprepared food. 
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Part B – Sales Via a Marketplace 
 
Type of Sales of Tangible 
Personal Property in SC 

Gross Revenue from 
SC in Previous 
Calendar Year 

Does Remote Seller Meet SC 
Economic Nexus Standard? 

Example 6: Both sales via own 
website and sales via marketplace 
sales 
Remote seller sells via his own 
website.  He also lists his products 
for sale on a marketplace where the 
marketplace facilitator has 
economic nexus with South 
Carolina and collects or processes 
the customer’s payment. 

Own website sales 
= $99,000 
 
Sales of the remote 
seller’s product by a 
marketplace facilitator                    
= $300,000 

Yes 
Sales of a remote seller’s 
product by a marketplace 
facilitator (i.e., $300,000) and by 
his own website (i.e., $99,000) 
are used in computing the SC 
economic nexus standard of the 
remote seller. However, the 
remote seller is only responsible 
for reporting and remitting the 
SC sales and use tax on the 
$99,000 in sales he made via his 
own website. The marketplace 
facilitator is responsible for 
reporting and remitting the SC 
sales and use tax on the 
$300,000 from sales of the 
remote seller’s products made 
via the marketplace. 

Example 7: All marketplace sales 
Remote seller only sells via another 
person’s marketplace. 

Over $100,000 
 
 

Yes 
While the remote seller has 
economic nexus with SC (i.e., 
over $100,000 in sales via 
another person’s marketplace), 
the remote seller is not making 
retail sales under SC law and 
therefore is not a retailer. The 
remote seller is not required to 
obtain a retail license or collect 
SC sales and use tax. 

$100,000 or less No 
Example 8: Marketplace 
Facilitator is the remote seller    
Marketplace Facilitator sells items 
that it owns and items owned by 
many others via its website. 

Over $100,000 
 

Yes 
Marketplace Facilitator must 
obtain a retail license and collect 
and remit SC sales and use tax 
on all taxable retail sales, 
including all taxable retail sales 
of items owned by others. 
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Part C – Sales of Services  

Type of Sales of Tangible Personal 
Property in SC 

Gross Revenue from 
SC in Previous 
Calendar Year 

Does Remote Seller Meet 
SC Economic Nexus 
Standard? 

Example 9: All taxable services 
Taxpayer sells services subject to the 
SC sales and use tax (e.g., certain 
communications services). Services 
that are subject to tax are those 
defined as “tangible personal 
property” under SC sales and use tax. 

Over $100,000 Yes 
Remote seller must obtain a 
retail license and collect and 
remit SC sales and use tax 
on all taxable retail sales. 

$100,000 or less No 
Remote seller is not 
required to, but may 
voluntarily, obtain a retail 
license and collect and remit 
SC sales and use tax. 

Example 10: All nontaxable services 
Taxpayer only sells services that are 
not subject to the SC sales and use 
tax (e.g., professional services, 
security monitoring, etc.).  Services 
that are not subject to tax are those 
services not included in the definition 
of “tangible personal property” under 
SC sales and use tax law.  

Over $100,000 Yes 
Since the remote seller is 
not a retailer (i.e., does not 
make retail sales of tangible 
personal property as defined 
in SC law), he is not 
required to obtain a retail 
license or collect SC sales 
and use tax. 

 
C. EFFECTIVE DATE FOR OBTAINING A RETAIL LICENSE AND REMITTING THE 

SALES AND USE TAX - ECONOMIC NEXUS 
 
1. Q. What is the effective date for remote sellers to obtain a retail license and begin collecting 

and remitting sales and use tax in South Carolina following the Wayfair decision? 
 
 A. It depends on the date the remote seller first meets the nexus threshold.  Remote sellers 

who met South Carolina’s economic nexus standard in calendar year 2017, or from 
January 1, 2018 through September 30, 2018, are required to obtain a retail license from 
the Department and remit South Carolina sales and use taxes for all taxable sales 
(deliveries) beginning November 1, 2018.   

 
Remote sellers who meet South Carolina’s economic nexus standard on or after October 
1, 2018, are required to obtain a retail license from the Department and remit South 
Carolina sales and use taxes beginning the first day of the second calendar month after 
economic nexus is established. (This is approximately 30 days from the end of the month 
in which economic nexus is established.) 

 
The remote seller is not required to collect and remit sales and use tax on sales that 
occurred prior to November 1, 2018.  
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The following chart illustrates the date a remote seller must obtain a retail license and the date 
the remote seller must file his first South Carolina sales and use tax return once economic nexus 
is established. 
 
Date economic nexus 
threshold is met by remote 
seller 
 

Date responsible for 
obtaining a retail license 
and beginning collection of 
SC sales and use tax 

Due date of first sales 
and use tax return 
(Assume a monthly tax 
filer) 

Calendar Year 2017 
 

November 1, 2018 December 20, 2018 for 
the November 2018 
return 

From January 1, 2018 to 
September 30, 2018 

November 1, 2018 December 20, 2018 for 
the November 2018 
return 

On or after October 1, 2018 First day of second calendar 
month after economic nexus 
is established (See below 
examples) 

(See below examples) 

October 2018 December 1, 2018 January 21, 2019 for the 
December 2018 return* 

November 2018 January 1, 2019 February 20, 2019 for 
the January 2019 return 

December 2018 February 1, 2019 March 20, 2019 for the 
February 2019 return 

January 2019 March 1, 2019 April 22, 2019 for the 
March 2019 return* 

July 2020 September 1, 2020 October 20, 2020 for 
the September 2020 
return 

August 2020 October 1, 2020 November 20, 2020 for 
the October 2020 

 
*Monthly sales and use tax returns are due by the 20th of the following month. Since the 20th of 
the month in these examples falls on a Saturday or a Sunday, the due date is extended to the next 
business day. 
 
D. EFFECTIVE DATE FOR OBTAINING A RETAIL LICENSE AND REMITTING THE 

SALES AND USE TAX - PHYSICAL NEXUS 
 
1. Q. When is physical nexus established? 
 
 A. A retailer has physical nexus with South Carolina if it maintains within South Carolina, 

directly or by a subsidiary, an office, distribution house, sales house, warehouse, or other 
place of business, or any agent operating within South Carolina under the authority of the 
retailer or its subsidiary, regardless of whether the business or agent is located here 
permanently or temporarily or whether the retailer or subsidiary is admitted to do 
business within South Carolina.
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2. Q. What is the effective date for a retailer with physical nexus with South Carolina to obtain 
a retail license and begin collecting and remitting sales and use tax in South Carolina? 

 
 A. A retailer with physical nexus with South Carolina must begin collecting and remitting 

the South Carolina sales and use tax for deliveries into South Carolina effective the date 
physical nexus is established.  

 
3. Q. Is a remote seller who does not meet South Carolina’s standard for economic nexus but 

subsequently establishes physical nexus with South Carolina required to collect and remit 
the sales and use tax? 

 
 A. Yes. Once a retailer establishes physical nexus with South Carolina, the retailer must 

obtain a retail license and begin collecting and remitting the sales and use tax effective 
the date physical nexus is established. 

 
 
E. LOCAL TAX NEXUS, COLLECTION, AND REMITTANCE 
 
1. Q. Are local sales and use taxes administered by the Department remitted to the county or 

city imposing the tax or to the Department? 
 
 A. All local sales and use taxes administered by the Department are remitted to the 

Department. 
 
2. Q. Are remote sellers required to collect local sales and use taxes administered by the 

Department? 
 
 A. Yes. Remote sellers licensed with South Carolina for sales and use tax purposes must 

collect and remit to the Department the applicable local sales and use taxes.   
 
  Note: Certain counties have local hospitality taxes, which must be reported and paid 

directly to counties; however, this situation is rare for remote sellers. 
 
3. Q. How can a remote seller determine if local sales and use taxes administered and collected 

by the Department on behalf of local jurisdictions apply to a sale? 
 
 A. For information on local taxes administered and collected by the Department, visit the 

Department’s website (dor.sc.gov).  
 
4. Q. Does SC require a remote seller to register and file separate returns for local sales and use 

taxes? 
 
 A. No.  South Carolina state and local sales and use taxes are reported on one return. 
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F. TAXABLE TRANSACTIONS 
 
1. Q. What sales are taxable in South Carolina?  
 
 A. South Carolina imposes a sales and use tax on all sales of tangible personal property 

delivered into South Carolina, unless an exemption or exclusion applies.   
 

In addition, the following services are specifically subject to the South Carolina sales and 
use tax:  

 
■ communications,  
 
■ laundry and related services,  
 
■ furnishing of accommodations, and  
 
■ electricity.  

 
Note: See the FAQ section entitled “Exemptions and Exclusions” for examples of sales 
that are exempt or excluded from sales and use tax.   

 
2. Q. What is the measure of the sales and use tax? 
 
 A. The measure upon which the sales tax is based is “gross proceeds of sales” as defined in 

Code Section 12-36-90. The measure upon which the use tax is based is “sales price” as 
defined in Code Section 12-36-130.  

 
Note: See Code Sections 12-36-90 and 12-36-130 for information as to what is included 
and what is not included in “gross proceeds of sales” and “sales price.” 

 
3. Q. What is an example of “gross proceeds of sales” or “sales price”? 
 
 A. Generally, “gross proceeds of sales” and “sales price” are the total amount charged in 

conjunction with the sale or rental of tangible personal property.  
 

Example: Assume a remote seller sells a computer for $1,200 and ships it at no additional 
charge to a South Carolina customer. However, at the time of the purchase of the 
computer, the South Carolina customer exercises an option and purchases an extended 
warranty for $200. The total amount charged in conjunction with the sale of the 
computer, or the “gross proceeds of sales” or “sales price” of the computer, is $1,400. 

 
4. Q. Are remote sellers required to remit sales and use tax on sales made via the internet? 
 
 A. Yes. Remote sellers who meet South Carolina’s economic nexus standard are required to 

remit sales and use tax on all taxable sales into South Carolina, including sales made by 
the remote seller through his website or catalog and telephone sales operations.   
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The Internet Tax Freedom Act prohibits South Carolina from imposing sales and use tax 
on internet access services, but does not prohibit South Carolina from taxing sales made 
via the internet.  

 
 
G. EXEMPTIONS AND EXCLUSIONS 
 
1. Q. Are certain sales exempt or excluded from the South Carolina sales and use tax? 
 
 A. Yes. Sales of various items, and sales to certain entities, are specifically exempted or 

excluded from State and local sales and use taxes. For example, the following sales are 
exempt from State and local sales and use taxes: 

 
• Sales to the federal government 

 
• Sales of prescription medicine sold to an individual by prescription 

 
• Sales of clothing, computers, and school supplies during the annual Sales Tax 

Holiday (the first Friday, Saturday, and Sunday in August) 
 

• Sales of textbooks for use in a course of study at elementary schools, middle 
schools, high schools, and colleges 

 
In addition, sales of unprepared food (i.e., food that may be purchased with U.S. 
Department of Agriculture food stamps) are exempt from the State sales and use tax. 
Whether sales of such unprepared food are exempt from local sales and use tax depends 
on the type of local sales and use tax being imposed. 

 
Note: For information on all the exemptions and exclusions, or to obtain more details as 
to the requirements of the above examples, visit the Department’s website (dor.sc.gov). 

 
 
H. STATE AND LOCAL TAX RATES 
 
1. Q. What is South Carolina’s current State sales and use tax rate? 
 
 A. South Carolina imposes the following State tax rates under the sales and use tax law: 
 

General Sales and Use Tax Rate:  6%  
Accommodations Tax Rate:   7%  
900 and 976 Tax Rate:   11%  
Manufactured Home    5% + 2% for amounts over $6,0001 
Maximum Tax Items    5% (Maximum Tax: $500 or $300)  
Sales to Persons 85 and Older  5% 

                                                           
1 See South Carolina Code Section 12-36-2110 for information on maximum tax and exemption provisions that 
apply to certain energy efficient manufactured homes. 
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2. Q. What are the current tax rates for local sales and use taxes administered and collected by 

the Department? 
 
 A. Most local sales and use taxes administered and collected by the Department are 

currently imposed at a rate of 1%. Only the two local transportation sales and use taxes 
imposed in Charleston County are imposed at a rate other than 1% - with each being 
imposed at a rate of ½ of 1%. 

 
Note: As of December 2019, 43 of the 46 counties in South Carolina impose one or more 
county-wide local sales and use taxes. The total local sales and use tax rate in a particular 
county or city depends on the number of local sales and use taxes imposed in that county 
or city and can range from 0% to 3% at this time. Only one city, Myrtle Beach, imposes a 
city-wide local sales and use tax. 

 
 
I. RETAIL LICENSES AND FILING REQUIREMENTS 
 
1. Q. What is the fee for a South Carolina retail license?  
 
 A. The fee for a South Carolina retail license is $50 for each retail location. The retail 

license is valid as long as the sales and use tax account is open.  
 
2. Q. Is the fee for the South Carolina retail license paid annually? 
 
 A. No. The $50 fee is a one-time fee. 
 
  Note: If the remote seller subsequently closes his South Carolina retail license, he must 

pay another $50 to obtain a new retail license. 
 
3. Q. How do remote sellers obtain a retail license in South Carolina? 
 
 A. A remote seller required to obtain a retail license must register directly with the 

Department. A remote seller may register with the Department online using the 
Department’s tax portal, MyDORWAY, or by submitting a paper application.  The 
Department’s online portal for obtaining a retail license can be found at: 
MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov.  

 
The Department’s paper application for use by remote sellers in obtaining a retail license 
is South Carolina Form DOR-111RS, “Remote Seller Sales and Use Tax Registration.”  
This form is on the Department’s website (dor.sc.gov). 

 
4. Q. When are sales and use tax returns due?  
 

A. Sales and use tax returns are due by the 20th of the month following the end of the month 
in which the sales occurred. For example, for sales that occur in November, the 
November return must be filed by December 20th.  
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5. Q. Can I file quarterly or annually instead of monthly?  
 
 A. Yes, provided certain requirements are met and filing on a quarterly or annual basis has 

been approved by the Department. To determine if you are eligible to file quarterly or 
annually, please contact the Department’s Licenses and Registration Section.  

 
6. Q. Do I need to file a return if I don’t make any sales for a particular filing period (e.g., 

monthly, quarterly, annually)?  
 
 A. Yes. A sales and use tax return is due for each filing period the sales and use tax account 

is open, including filing periods for which the remote seller will file a “zero tax due” 
return. 

 
7. Q. Do I need to file a return if all my sales are exempt sales for a particular filing period 

(e.g., monthly, quarterly, annually)?  
 
 A. Yes. A sales and use tax return is due for each filing period the sales and use tax account 

is open, including filing periods for which the remote seller will file a “zero tax due” 
return.  

 
  In the case of a return in which all sales are exempt sales, the remote seller must still 

report its “gross proceeds of sales” and take a deduction for all exempt sales which will 
result in a “zero tax due” return. 

 
8. Q. Does the remote seller receive a discount for timely filing and remitting State and local 

sales and use tax? 
 
 A. Yes.  If returns are filed and the taxes are paid in full by the due date, the taxpayer is 

allowed a discount on taxes due. For taxes less than $100, you may take a 3% discount of 
the tax. For taxes of $100 or more, the discount is 2% of the tax. 

 
  The maximum discount allowed per taxpayer (all locations included) during the state’s 

fiscal year (July 1 - June 30) is $3,000. The discount is increased to a maximum of 
$3,100 if the retailer files his sales and use tax returns electronically. 

 
  Remote sellers not required by law to collect the South Carolina sales and use tax (i.e., do 

not have physical nexus or economic nexus), but who voluntarily register to do so, are 
allowed a maximum discount of $10,000 each fiscal year.  

 
  The discount (whether $3,000, $3,100, or $10,000) is calculated from the June return 

filed in July to the May return filed in June. 
 



November 2022 Chapter 13, Page 29 

 
J. SOUTH CAROLINA PURCHASERS 
 
1. Q. What is the effect of the Wayfair decision on South Carolina purchasers? 
 
 A. Purchasers in South Carolina may see an increased number of remote sellers charging 

South Carolina sales and use tax.  As before Wayfair, if a remote seller does not charge 
sales or use tax on a taxable item delivered in South Carolina, the purchaser should pay 
use tax on the purchase price.  For example, an individual may report the use tax on his 
South Carolina individual income tax return or by filing a Form UT-3.  

 
  For additional information, see SC Revenue Ruling #18-9, “Use Tax Information for 

Businesses, Individuals, and Nonprofits.” 




