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SC REVENUE RULING #20-1 
 

 
SUBJECT: Sales of Boats, Boat Motors, and Airplanes 
 (Casual Excise Tax)  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2017  
 
SUPERSEDES: SC Revenue Ruling #08-8, SC Revenue Ruling #92-10, and all previous 

advisory opinions and any oral directives in conflict herewith. 
 
REFERENCES: S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-36-1710 (2014; 2019 Supp.) 
 S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-36-2110 (2014; 2019 Supp.) 
 S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-36-1720 (2014) 
 
AUTHORITY: S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-4-320 (2014) 
 S.C. Code Ann. Section 1-23-10(4) (2005) 
 SC Revenue Procedure #09-3 
 
SCOPE: The purpose of a Revenue Ruling is to provide guidance to the public 

and to Department personnel.  It is an advisory opinion issued to apply 
principles of tax law to a set of facts or general category of taxpayers.  It 
is the Department’s position until superseded or modified by a change in 
statute, regulation, court decision, or another Department advisory 
opinion. 

 
 
PURPOSE OF UPDATE  
 
As a result of legislative changes, this advisory opinion concerning the application of the casual 
excise tax on sales of airplanes, boats, and boat motors when the sales tax has not previously been 
paid is being updated.1  Effective July 1, 2017, sales or purchases of motor vehicles and 
motorcycles were no longer subject to a sales and use tax2 or casual excise tax; these transactions 
are now subject to an infrastructure maintenance fee upon first registering the vehicle with the 
South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. In addition, the maximum sales and use tax 
amount was increased to $500 from $300.
                                                 
1 See Act 40 of 2017, “The South Carolina Infrastructure and Economic Development Reform Act.” 
2 One exception exists for certain motor vehicle sales to nonresidents where the sales tax is remitted to the SC 
Department of Motor Vehicles. See South Carolina Information Letter #17-10 and Revenue Ruling #18-1 for further 
guidance.  
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QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 
 
TAX COMPUTATION, TAX RATES, AND PAYMENTS 
 
1.  Q.  What is the casual excise tax and when is it imposed on sales of boats, boat motors, or 

airplanes?   
  

A.  The casual excise tax is imposed upon the issuance of a certificate of title or other proof 
of ownership for every (1) boat, (2) boat motor, or (3) airplane required to be registered, 
titled, or licensed.  It only applies to the last sale before the application for title.  The 
casual excise tax does not apply to motor vehicles, motorcycles, trailers (including boat 
trailers), semitrailers, or pole trailers. See Code Sections 12-36-1710(A) and 12-36-1720. 

 
An individual or non-retailer located in South Carolina who sold the item is not responsible 
for collecting the casual excise tax. The purchaser is liable for paying the casual excise tax. 

  
2.  Q.  What is the casual excise tax rate?  
 
 A.  Below is a summary of the applicable tax rate that may be imposed on transfers of boats, 

boat motors, and airplanes.  
  

General Tax Rates: 
 
The casual excise tax is 5% of the “fair market value” of the boat or airplane purchased. 
(See Question 3 for the definition of “fair market value.”)  However, Code Section 12-36-
2110 provides that the casual excise tax on sales of boats or airplanes may not exceed 
$500 (maximum tax) on these transactions.     
  
The casual excise tax is 6% of the “fair market value” of a boat motor that is purchased 
alone (not permanently attached to the boat).  Since a boat motor is not a maximum tax 
item, the tax may exceed $500. 
 
Special Provision for Persons 85 and Older: 
 
South Carolina sales and use tax law provides for a 1% lower state tax rate for purchases 
by individuals 85 years of age and older for their personal use. The lower tax rate is 
referred to as the 1% exclusion or reduction.   
 
Therefore, the casual excise tax is 4% (instead of 5%) of the “fair market value” of the 
boat or airplane purchased by an individual 85 years or older for his personal use, not to 
exceed $500 (maximum tax). The casual excise tax is 5% (instead of 6%) of the “fair 
market value” of a boat motor that is purchased alone (not permanently attached to the 
boat) by an individual 85 years or older for his personal use.  See Code Section 12-36-2640. 
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Maximum Tax: 
 
The maximum tax provisions apply to the casual excise tax in the same manner that the 
maximum tax provisions apply to the sales tax and the use tax. 
 
Therefore, the maximum tax of $500 applies to a transfer of a boat or an airplane that is 
subject to the casual excise tax. The maximum tax does not, however, apply to the transfer 
of a boat motor sold alone (i.e., not permanently attached to a boat). 
 
Local Sales and Use Taxes: 
 
Local sales and use taxes administered and collected by the Department on behalf of local 
jurisdictions do not apply to transactions subject to the casual excise tax.  
 

3. Q. What is the amount on which the casual excise tax is computed?  
  
 A. The casual excise tax is computed on the “fair market value” which is defined as: (1) the 

total purchase price (i.e., price agreed upon by the buyer and seller) less any trade-in 
allowance of the boat, boat motor, or airplane, or (2) the valuation shown in a national 
publication adopted by the Department. The valuation shown in a national publication of 
used values, however, is used only in cases of necessity, for example, when closely held 
stock is exchanged for a motor vehicle.   

  
  The price agreed upon by the buyer and seller, less any trade-in, includes: (1) the amount 

of cash paid, (2) the amount of any loan assumed, (3) the value of any property 
exchanges, or (4) the amount paid at delinquent property tax sales.  

 
4. Q. When is the casual excise tax due? 
  
 A. The casual excise tax is due upon the issuance of a certificate of title, or other proof of 

ownership, of a boat, boat motor, or airplane required to be registered, titled or licensed. 
 
5. Q. How is the casual excise tax remitted? 
 
 A. Department of Revenue Form ST-236, “Casual or Use Excise Tax Return,” is used to 

compute the casual excise tax due on the transfer of a boat, boat motor, or airplane.  
   
  The tax may be paid at the Department of Revenue or the Department of Natural 

Resources when registering a boat or motor.  
 
 
APPLICABILITY OF SALES TAX, USE TAX, OR CASUAL EXCISE TAX 
 
6. Q. Is the sale of a boat, boat motor, or airplane by a non-retailer (a person not in the business 

of selling tangible personal property at retail, e.g., a casual sale by an individual) subject 
to the casual excise tax? 
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 A.  Yes. However, an individual or non-retailer located in South Carolina who sold the item is 
not responsible for collecting the casual excise tax upon the sale of a boat, boat motor, or 
airplane. The purchaser is liable for paying the casual excise tax. 

 
7.   Q.  Is the sale of a boat, boat motor, or airplane by a retailer subject to the casual excise tax? 
 

A.  No, however, the sale of a boat, boat motor, or airplane by a retailer is subject to the sales 
tax or the use tax. The South Carolina retailer collects and remits sales tax to the 
Department upon the sale of a boat, boat motor, or airplane.   

 
8.  Q.  Does a licensed South Carolina retailer have the option of not remitting the sales tax or 

the use tax on the sale of a boat or a boat motor since the Department of Natural 
Resources has the authority to collect the casual excise tax or the use tax when the boat or 
boat motor is registered, titled, or licensed? 

 
 A.  No. The retailer must remit the sales tax or the use tax on a retail sale (unless otherwise 

exempt) of a boat or boat motor when the delivery of the boat or boat motor is made in, 
or into, South Carolina. 

 
9.  Q.  If a South Carolina resident or business purchases a boat, boat motor, or airplane outside 

of South Carolina and brings the boat, boat motor, or airplane to South Carolina for use in 
South Carolina, is the South Carolina resident or business liable for the use tax or the 
casual excise tax? 

  
 A.  The tax to be collected (use tax or casual excise tax) depends on whether the boat, boat 

motor, or airplane purchased outside of South Carolina is purchased from a retailer or a 
non-retailer as explained below.  

 
Purchases from Retailer:  
 
The use tax applies to the storage, use, or other consumption in South Carolina of boats, 
boat motors, and airplanes purchased from a retailer located outside South Carolina for 
storage, use, or other consumption in South Carolina.  
 
If a sales or use tax was due and paid in another state on such purchases, a credit against 
the South Carolina use tax is allowed.  
 
Note: The use tax does not apply to property purchased from a retailer located outside 
South Carolina if the property is used substantially outside South Carolina by the 
purchaser before being stored, used, or consumed in South Carolina.  
 
Purchases from Non-Retailer:  
 
The casual excise tax applies to the issuance of every certificate of title, or other proof of 
ownership, for boats, boat motors, and airplanes purchased outside South Carolina from 
non-retailers if a sales or use tax has not been paid on the transaction necessitating the 
transfer of title.  
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Note: The casual excise tax does not apply to property purchased outside South Carolina if 
the property has been substantially used outside South Carolina by the purchaser before 
being titled, registered, or licensed in South Carolina.  

 
10. Q.  Does the maximum tax provisions for a boat and an airplane apply to the casual excise 

tax, as well as the sales tax and the use tax? 
 
 A.  Yes.  Note: Since boats may be sold with a boat motor and trailer, the Department has 

issued an advisory opinion, SC Revenue Ruling #18-13, concerning the application of the 
sales tax, the use tax, and the casual excise tax to the sale of boats, boat motors, and boat 
trailers. See SC Revenue Ruling #18-13 for a more detailed information. 

 
 
TRANSFERS NOT SUBJECT TO THE TAX 
 
11. Q.  Does the casual excise tax apply to a boat, boat motor, or an airplane transferred to 

another person as a gift or as a prize? 
 
 A.  No. The casual excise tax does not apply to property transferred as a gift or prize in that 

there has not been a sale to the person receiving the property. (See Code Section 12-36-
1710(B) for exclusions.)  

 
12. Q. What transactions are exempt from the casual excise tax? 
  
 A.  The following transfers of boats, boat motors, or airplanes are specifically exempted from 

the casual excise tax pursuant to Code Sections 12-36-1710 and 12-36-1720: 
 

• Transfers to members of the immediate family (i.e., spouse, parent, child, sister, 
brother, grandparent, and grandchild);     

• Transfers to a legal heir, legatee, or distributee;  
• Transfers from an individual to a partnership upon formation, or from a stockholder 

to a corporation upon formation;  
• Transfers to a licensed motor vehicle dealer or licensed motorcycle dealer for the 

purpose of resale;  
• Transfers to a financial institution for the purpose of resale;   
• Transfers to any other secured party, as a result of repossession, for the purpose of 

resale;  
• Transfers to the seller or secured party in partial payment (e.g., trade-ins);  
• Transfers where a sales or use tax has been paid on the transaction necessitating the 

transfer (this includes sales tax paid to an auctioneer licensed as a retailer);  
• Transfers of motor vehicles, motorcycles, or airplanes specifically exempted by 

Section 12-36-2120 from the sales or use tax (see Question 13 below);   
• Transfers that are a gift or prize; and  
• Vessels registered and documented by the United States Commissioner of Customs.  
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13. Q. What transfers are exempt from the casual excise tax because they are exempt from sales 
or use tax under Code Section 12-36-2120 or otherwise exempt or excluded under the 
law? 

 
A.  Below are examples of transfers of boats, boat motors, and airplanes that are exempt from 

sales and use tax under Code Section 12-36-2120 or otherwise exempt or excluded under the 
law and, therefore, exempt or excluded from the casual excise tax. These examples illustrate 
frequent methods of transfer, and are not intended to be all-inclusive.  

 
Type of Transfer Explanation of Tax Exemption 

Sales of Farm 
Machinery 

Airplanes used in planting, cultivating, or harvesting farm 
crops (e.g., crop dusting) are exempt. 
Code Section 12-36-2120(16).   

Sale of Entire Business
  

Depreciable assets used in the operation of a business are 
exempt when the entire business is sold by the owner, pursuant 
to a written contract, and the purchaser continues operation of 
the business. 
Code Section 12-36-2120(42). 

Sales by, or Sales to, the 
Federal Government or 
Federal Credit Unions   

When agents of the federal government purchase a boat, boat 
motor, or airplane on behalf of the federal government, the 
purchase is not subject to tax providing the credit of the agent 
is not advanced or risked, the purchase order discloses the 
purchase is made on behalf of the federal government, title to 
the property vests in the federal government, and the vendor is 
paid directly from the federal government. 
Code Section 12-36-2120(1) and (2). See SC Attorney General 
Opinion #S-OAG-59 that concluded federally chartered credit 
unions are instrumentalities of the federal government.  
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