State of South Carolina

Department of Revenue
301 Gervais Street, P. O. Box 125, Columbia, South Carolina 29214

SC REVENUE PROCEDURE #97-2

SUBJECT: Penalty Guidelines for Violations of the Video Game Machines
Act and Coin-Operated Devices Laws

EFFECTIVE DATE: Applies to all periods open under the statute.

SUPERSEDES: All previous documents and any oral directives in conflict
herewith.
REFERENCES: Code Ann. Section 12-21-2703 et.seq. (Supp. 1995)

S. C.

S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-21-2770 et.seq. (Supp. 1995)
S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-54-40 (Supp. 1995)

S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-54-90 (Supp. 1995)

AUTHORITY: S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-4-320 (Supp. 1995)
SC Revenue Procedure #94-1

SCOPE: A Revenue Procedure is a statement which provides information
of a procedural nature. It is valid and remains in effect until
superseded or modified by a change in the statute or regulations or
a subsequent court decision, Revenue Procedure or Revenue
Ruling.

INTRODUCTION:

This procedure is an advisory opinion providing guidance to be used by department
employees in assessing penalties for violations of the statutes and regulations governing
video game machines. The purpose of this procedure is to ensure uniform penalty
application. Flexibility is allowed to deal with situations that do not fall exactly within the
guidelines.

PROCEDURES:

The department recognizes that ensuring compliance with the law, not punishment, is the
reason for administrative penalties. Accordingly, except for the most serious offenses, the
department adopts a progressive response to assessing penalties. The penalties outlined
below include a monetary amount or a license revocation or both.



These are guidelines only and this advisory opinion does not establish a binding norm.
There often will be circumstances present that call for either more severe or less severe
sanctions for an offense. These guidelines do not restrict the department’s authority to
impose any sanctions within the statutory authority granted the department by the General
Assembly.

Note: For purposes of this document, the "machine owner" is the person who has been
issued the license required under Code Section 12-21-2720 or 12-21-2730 for the
operation of the machine in question. The "location operator” is the person who is
operating the business where coin-operated devices are located for play.

CIVIL VIOLATIONS AND PENALTY GUIDELINES:

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Penalty Signs - Each machine must have a
sign prominently displayed citing the penalties provided by Code Sections 12-21-2790,
12-21-2792 and 12-21-2974 on the wall above the machine or affixed prominently to the
machine.

Violation Section 12-21-2802
Penalty Sections 12-54-40(b)(3); 12-54-90
Penalty Amount $50 to $500; License revocation

Recommended Action First Offense - $300
Second Offense - $400
Third Offense - $500
Party Liable for Penalty  Location Operator
Other Notification None

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: More Than 5 Machines - No more than five
machines per single place or premises.

Violation Section 12-21-2804 (A); Regulation 117-190
Penalty Sections 12-21-2804 (A); 12-21-2804(F)
Penalty Amount Up to $5,000; Revocation of all machine licenses



Recommended Action

Party Liable for Penalty

Other Notification

A single violation of $5,000 will be written per single
place or premises. Therefore, 10 machines in a single
place or premises is one violation, not two violations.
A $5,000 penalty will be sought from each license
holder (machine owner) and location operator on the
premises.

In addition, all licenses for machines in a single place
or premises will be revoked, not just those in excess of
the statutory limitation. In accordance with Code
Section 12-21-2804(A), once the licenses are revoked,
machines may not be operated in the establishment for
a period of six months from the date of revocation.

Machine Owner and Location Operator

Since revocation of the machine licenses will prohibit
machines at the single place or premises for six
months, the location operator should be notified in
writing of the violation.

Note: If the department determines that the violation is willful, then it may refer the
violation to the Office of the Attorney General for prosecution. See Code Section 12-21-

2804(F).

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Advertising - No person who maintains a

place or premises for the operation of video game machines may advertise in any manner
for the playing of video game machines.

Violation Section
Penalty Section

Penalty Amount

Recommended Action
Second Offense

Third Offense

12-21-2804 (B); Regulation 117-190.2
12-21-2804(F); 12-54-90

Up to $5,000; Revocation of licenses issued by the
department and held by the location operator.

First Offense - $2,000
- $3,000

-$5,000 and the revocation of the location operator's
retail sales tax license.



Addt'| Offenses

Party Liable for Penalty

Other Notification

-$5,000 and revocation of all licenses issued by the
department and held by the operator of the single place
or premises, regardless of whether or not the licenses
are for the premises in violation (for example, liquor
licenses, beer and wine licenses, and Class C coin-
operated device owner/operator's license).

Location Operator

None

Note: If the department determines that the violation is willful, then it may refer the
violation to the Office of the Attorney General for prosecution. See Code Section 12-21-

2804(F).

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Inducements - No person may offer or allow

to be offered any special inducements to a person for the playing of video game

machines.
Violation Section
Penalty Section

Penalty Amount

Recommended Action
Second Offense

Third Offense

Addt'| Offenses

12-21-2804 (B); Regulation 117-190.1
12-21-2804(F); 12-54-90

Up to $5,000; Revocation of licenses issued by the
department and held by the location operator.

First Offense - $2,000
- $3,000

- $5,000 and the revocation of the location operator's
retail sales tax license.

-$5,000 and revocation of all licenses issued by the
department and held by the operator of the single place
or premises, regardless of whether or not the licenses
are for the premises in violation (for example, liquor
licenses, beer and wine licenses, and Class C coin-
operated device owner/operator's license).



Party Liable for Penalty  Location Operator and any other person offering
inducements or allowing inducements to be offered*

Other Notification None

Note: If the department determines that the violation is willful, then it ay refer the
violation to the Office of the Attorney General for prosecution. See Code Section 12-21-
2804(F).

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Sunday Operations - It is unlawful to
operate video game machines between the hours of midnight Saturday and 6 a.m.
Monday.

Violation Section 12-21-2804 (E)
Penalty Section 12-21-2804(F); 12-54-90
Penalty Amount Up to $5,000; Revocation of all machine licenses and

any other licenses issued by the department and held
by the location operator.

Recommended Action First Offense - $2,000
Second Offense - $3,000

Third Offense - $5,000 and the revocation of the
location operator's retail sales tax license.

Addt'l Offenses -$5,000 and revocation of all licenses
issued by the department and held by the operator of the
single place or premises, regardless of whether or not
the licenses are for the premises in violation (for
example, liquor licenses, beer and wine licenses, and
Class C coin-operated device owner/operator's license ).

Party Liable for Penalty  Location Operator

" The statute imposes the penalty for inducements on any person offering or allowing to be offered
special inducements for the playing of video game machines. As such, penalties could be imposed
on the location operator, the machine owner, an association or other third party, depending on the
circumstances.



Other Notification None

Note: If the department determines that the violation is willful, then it may refer the
violation to the Office of the Attorney General for prosecution. See Code Section 12-21-
2804(F).

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Payout to a Person Under Age 21 - No
person under the age of 21 may receive a payout as a result of the operation of a video
game machine.

Violation Section 12-21-2804 (C)
Penalty Section 12-21-2804(F); 12-54-90
Penalty Amount Revocation of all machine licenses and any other

licenses issued by the department and held by the
location operator.

Recommended Action First Offense - Revocation of the retail sales tax
license of the single place or premises.

Addt’l Offenses - Revocation of the retail sales tax
license of the single place or premises and all other
licenses issued by the department and held by the
location operator for the operation of that single place
or premises (for example: liquor license, beer and wine
license, admissions tax license, Class C coin-operated
device owner/operator license).

Party Liable for Penalty Location Operator

Other Notification None

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Residency Requirement - Owner, operator
or marketer may not be issued a Type Il machine license unless that person has been a
resident of South Carolina for two years. The department requires a statement of
residency at the time of application for a Type Il machine license.

Violation Section 12-21-2804 (D)

Penalty Section 12-21-2804(F); 12-54-90



Penalty Amount Up to $5,000; Revocation of licenses issued by the
department and held by the location operator.

Recommended Action First Offense - $5,000 and revocation of all machine
licenses, retail sales tax licenses, liquor licenses, beer
and wine licenses, and Class C coin-operated device
owner/operator's license.

Second Offense - Refer to the Criminal Investigation
Section of the Office of the General Counsel.

Party Liable for Penalty  Machine Owner
Other Notification None

Note: If the department determines that the violation is willful, then it may refer the
violation to the Office of the Attorney General for prosecution. See Code Section 12-21-
2804(F).

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Retail License Requirement - A coin-
operated device licensed under the provisions of Code Section 12-21-2720(A)(3) may not
be operated at a location unless that location is licensed under the provisions of Chapter
36 of Title 12 (Retail License).

Violation Section 12-21-2703

Penalty Section 12-54-40(b)(3); 12-54-90

Penalty Amount $50 to $500

Recommended Action $500 - Each day in violation is a separate offense.

Party Liable for Penalty  Location Operator
Other Notification None

Note: If the single place or premises is a business that sells tangible personal property at
retail, in addition to operating video game machines, then the above recommended action
should not be followed and the matter should be referred to the Criminal Investigation
Section of the Office of the General Counsel. See Code Section 12-36-560.



DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: No Owner Ildentification on the Coin-
Operated Device - A person who owns or operates a device licensed under Code
Sections 12-21-2720 or 12-21-2730 must have information attached to the device
identifying the owner or operator of the device. The identification must be placed on an
area on the device visible for inspection purposes

Violation Section
Penalty Section

Penalty Amount

Recommended Action

Party Liable for Penalty

Other Notification

12-21-2748
12-21-2738; 12-54-90
$50 or $2,500; Revocation of all machine licenses and
any other licenses issued by the department and held
by the location operator.
First Offense - Type | or Il Device $50

- Type |11 Device $2,500
Second Offense - Type | or 1l Device $50

- Type |11 Device $2,500

Addt'l Offenses - $50 or $2,500 (depending on whether
the device is a Type I, I, or 11l device) and revocation
of the machine licenses for the machines in violation.

Machine Owner

None

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Unlicensed or Improperly Licensed Coin-
Operated Devices - All devices defined under Code Sections 12-21-2720 or 12-21-2730

must be properly licensed.
Violation Section
Penalty Section

Penalty Amount

12-21-2720; 12-21-2730
12-21-2738; 12-54-90
$50 or $2,500; Revocation of all machine licenses and

any other licenses issued by the department and held
by the location operator.



Recommended Action All Offenses - Type I or Il Device $50
- Type Il Device $2,500

Party Liable for Penalty = Machine Owner

Other Notification None

Note: The machine owner must also pay the license fee required. This license fee will not
be prorated.

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Exceeding Pay-Out Limitation of 2,500
Credits - Cash pay-outs for credits earned for free games are limited to 2,500 credits per
player per location during any 24 hour period.

Violation Section 12-21-2791
Penalty Section 12-54-40(b)(3); 12-54-90
Penalty Amount $50 to $500; Revocation of licenses issued by the

department and held by the location operator.
Recommended Action First Offense - $500

Second Offense - $500 and revocation of the location
operator's retail sales tax license.

Addt'l Offenses - $500 and revocation of all licenses
issued by the department and held by the operator of
the single place or premises, regardless of whether or
not the licenses are for the premises in violation (for
example, liquor licenses, beer and wine licenses, and
Class C coin-operated device owner/operator's
license).

Party Liable for Penalty  Location Operator
Other Notification None
Note: This violation for exceeding 2,500 credits can be written in conjunction with a

violation for exceeding the pay-out limit of 5 cents per credit. See next discussion on
violation for paying out more than 5 cents per credit.



DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Exceeding Pay-Out Limitation of 5 Cents
Per Credit - Cash pay-outs for credits earned for free games are limited to 5 cents per

credit.
Violation Section
Penalty Section

Penalty Amount

Recommended Action

Party Liable for Penalty

Other Notification

12-21-2791
12-54-40(b)(3); 12-54-90

$50 to $500; Revocation of licenses issued by the
department and held by the location operator.

First Offense - $500

Second Offense - $500 and revocation of the location
operator's retail sales tax license.

Addt'l Offenses - $500 and revocation of all licenses
issued by the department and held by the operator of
the single place or premises, regardless of whether or
not the licenses are for the premises in violation (for
example, liquor licenses, beer and wine licenses, and
Class C coin-operated device owner/operator's
license).

Location Operator

None

Note: This violation for exceeding 5 cents per credit on a cash pay-out can be written in
conjunction with a violation for exceeding the pay-out limit of 2,500 credits per player
per location for any 24 hour period. See the previous discussion on violation for paying
out more than 2,500 credits per player per location for any 24 hour period.

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION: Failure to File Quarterly Report or Filing
an Incomplete Quarterly Report - Certain information concerning each video game
machine must be filed with the department on a quarterly basis.

Violation Section

Penalty Section

12-21-2776

12-54-40(b)(3); 12-54-90

10



Penalty Amount $50 to $500; Revocation of all machine licenses and
any other licenses issued by the department and held
by the location operator.

Recommended Action First Offense - $500

Addt’l Offense - $500 and revocation of all licenses
issued by the department and held by the machine
owner (for example, the department will seek
revocation of all machine licenses and the owner's
Class C coin-operated device owner/operator license.
Also, if the machine owner is operating a location or
several locations, the department will seek revocation
of the any retail sales tax licenses, liquor licenses and
beer and wine licenses).

Party Liable for Penalty = Machine Owner
Other Notification None

Note: The department also will refuse to issue any new machine licenses to any machine
owner who has failed to file a complete quarterly report as required by statute.

CRIMINAL VIOLATIONS

The following violations are subject to various criminal penalties.

DESCRIPTION OF THE VIOLATION CODE SECTION

Machine Tampering - Tampering with a 12-21-2790
machine with intent to interfere with its
proper operation.

Skimming Proceeds - Skimming of machine 12-21-2792
proceeds to exclude anything of value from

the deposit, counting, collection or

computation of revenues from machines.

Location Restrictions - Any location with 12-21-2793;
Type Il machines which provides for Reg. 117-190.3
pay-outs may not be located within 500 feet

in a county or 300 feet in a municipality

11



of a public or private elementary, middle,
or secondary school; a public or private
kindergarten; a public vocational or trade
school or technical education center; a
public or private college or university;

or a house of worship.

Machine Manipulation - Manipulating 12-21-2794
with intent the outcome, payoff, or
operation of a machine by physical or

any other means.

No Metering Device - Willfully placing 12-21-2796
on location a machine, or willfully causing

the operation of a machine, without the

state-approved metering device.

OTHER VIOLATIONS

This revenue procedure establishes guidelines for assessing penalties and revoking
licenses for violations of many of the provisions of Article 19 and Article 20 of Chapter
21 of Title 12. There are, of course, other possible violations and other penalties. All
other violations of these laws and other penalties (civil penalties, revocation of licenses,
criminal penalties) shall be considered on a case by case basis and the assessment of
penalties and revocation of licenses will be determined based on that review.

OTHER PENALTIES AND ENFORCEMENT PROVISIONS

As stated in the "Introduction,” nothing in this revenue procedure shall restrict the
department's authority to impose any sanctions authorized under the Code of Laws of

South Carolina.

February 11 , 1997
Columbia, South Carolina

SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

s/Burnet R. Maybank 11
Burnet R. Maybank, I11, Director
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