

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

300A Outlet Pointe Blvd., Columbia, South Carolina 29210 P.O. Box 125, Columbia, South Carolina 29214-0575

SC INFORMATION LETTER #24-21

SUBJECT: Job Tax Credit - County Rankings for 2025

Fee in Lieu of Property Taxes – Reduced Investment Counties

Tax Moratorium – Qualifying Counties

DATE: December 18, 2024

REFERENCE: S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-6-3360

S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-6-3367
S. C. Code Ann. Section 12-44-30
S. C. Code Ann. Section 4-12-30
S. C. Code Ann. Section 4-29-67

AUTHORITY: S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-4-320

S.C. Code Ann. Section 1-23-10(4) SC Revenue Procedure #09-3

SCOPE: An Information Letter is a written statement issued to the public to announce

general information useful in complying with the laws administered by the

Department. An Information Letter has no precedential value.

INTRODUCTION

The job tax credit, the corporate tax moratorium, and the reduction in the minimum required fee in lieu of property tax investment are dependent, in part, on per capita income and unemployment rate data received from the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce and the United States Department of Commerce.

The purpose of this information letter is to provide the county rankings for purposes of the job tax credit, counties qualifying for the corporate tax moratorium, and counties qualifying for the reduced fee in lieu of property tax.

JOB TAX CREDIT - County Rankings

South Carolina's 46 counties are ranked and designated annually for job tax credit purposes with equal weight given to unemployment rate and per capita income as provided in South Carolina Code Section 12-6-3360(B). The final ranking of counties for (1) new full-time jobs created in

tax years that begin in 2025, where the job tax credit was first earned on or after January 1, 2025, and (2) increases in new full-time jobs in 2025 are listed below.¹

TIER IV	TIER III	TIER II	TIER I
Abbeville	Chester	Anderson	Aiken
Allendale	Chesterfield	Calhoun	Beaufort
Bamberg	Clarendon	Edgefield	Berkeley
Barnwell	Colleton	Florence	Charleston
Cherokee	Darlington	Georgetown	Dorchester
Dillon	Fairfield	Jasper	Greenville
Lee	Greenwood	Kershaw	Lexington
Marion	Hampton	Lancaster	Oconee
Marlboro	Horry	Newberry	Richland
Orangeburg	Laurens	Pickens	Spartanburg
Union	McCormick	Saluda	York
Williamsburg	Sumter		

TAX MORATORIUM – Qualifying Counties

South Carolina Code Section 12-6-3367, in part, grants a 10-year moratorium (15 years in certain cases) on corporate income taxes or insurance premium taxes for qualifying taxpayers in a county with an average annual unemployment rate of at least twice the state average during each of the last two completed calendar years, based on the most recent unemployment rates available, or in a county with one of the three lowest per capita incomes based on the average of the three most recent years of available average per capita income data. The moratorium begins the first full taxable year after the taxpayer qualifies in a county designated as a moratorium county.

For 2025, the following counties have been designated moratorium counties under South Carolina Code Section 12-6-3367.

Chesterfield		
Marlboro		
Union		

FEE IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES - Reduced Investment Counties

The minimum required investment necessary to qualify for the fee in lieu of property taxes is \$2.5 million for the "Little Fee" and "Simplified Fee," and \$45 million for the "Big Fee." See South Carolina Code Sections 4-12-30(B)(3), 12-44-30(14), and 4-29-67, respectively. This investment amount, however, is reduced to \$1 million for a company investing in a county with an average annual unemployment rate of at least twice the state average during each of the last 24 months, based on data available on November 1.

For 2025, Marlboro County qualifies for the \$1 million minimum investment under the "Little Fee," "Simplified Fee," and "Big Fee."

¹ For further information, see SC Revenue Ruling #19-11, Question 3 and the examples provided.