
2.    Total Capital and Paid in Surplus 
                                        x .001 plus 
       $15.00 but not less  
       than $25.00 Minimum  
       License Fee. . . . . . 
       (Do not enter less  
       than zero) 

A corporation requesting an extension of time must submit an SC1120-T and pay ALL the income tax shown to be due on the 
corporate tax return, plus ALL of the corporate license fee due, on or before the original due date of the corporate tax return.  A 
corporation may file SC1120-T online.  
  
Payment Only: Submit payment electronically for free at MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov.  
(No paper document is required if paying by this method)  
  
The Department may allow an extension not to exceed six months to file a corporate tax return. If the corporation has not fulfilled its 
filing requirements for any previous period, the Department cannot grant an extension, and the corporate tax return will be delinquent 
if not filed by the original due date. The Department will not send notice of the invalid extension. 
  
The Department will accept a federal extension.  Only one SC1120-T is needed to extend a South Carolina consolidated corporate tax 
return. A single payment may be made for the entire consolidated group. You do not need to list each member included in the 
consolidated return. The Department will accept a federal extension if all corporations in the consolidated group have filed or are 
included in a federal extension. 
  
If the amount remitted with the extension fails to reflect at least 90% of the tax to be paid for the period granted by the extension, an 
underpayment penalty applies from the date the tax was originally due on the difference between the amount remitted and the tax to 
be paid for the period until paid in full.  
  
Request an extension and pay online through MyDORWAY at MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov or mail SC1120-T to: SC Department of 
Revenue, Corporation, Columbia SC 29214-0006. Include Business Name and FEIN on both the form and the check. 
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

APPLICATION FOR AUTOMATIC EXTENSION 
OF TIME TO FILE CORPORATION TAX RETURN

SC CORPORATE FILE #   INCOME ACCT PERIOD END (MM-YY)

FEIN
Corporate Name and Address

3.    Balance Due 
       Remitted. . . . . . . . .  
       (line 1 plus line 2)

1.    Estimated Tax Due. . 
       (Do not enter less  
       than zero) 

First-time filer who has not filed a CL-1 
S Corporation 
Consolidated Return 
Bank or Savings & Loan 
Utility or Electric Cooperative

.

.00

.

00

00

PLACE AN 'X' IN THE BOX IF:

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

APPLICATION FOR AUTOMATIC EXTENSION 
OF TIME TO FILE CORPORATION TAX RETURN

SC1120-T 
(Rev. 7/22/16) 
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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

SC1120-T 
(Rev. 7/22/16) 
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SC1120-T INSTRUCTIONS

Line 1. Enter the estimated amount of income tax due minus (a) withholding credited to the taxpayer, (b) estimated income tax 
payments (including last year's overpayment transferred), and (c) income tax credits. Do not enter an amount less than $0. Enter $0 if 
filing CL-4. 
  
South Carolina imposes a tax rate of 5% on the South Carolina taxable income of corporations, S corporations, and nonprofit entities 
that have income subject to tax under federal law.  If the amount paid by the original due date is less than 90% of the tax due with the 
tax return, the underpayment is subject to a penalty of 0.5% per month. 
  
Line 2. Enter the license fee due minus credits against license fees. Do not enter an amount less than $0. Enter $0 if filing SC990T, 
SC1101B or SC1104. 
  
Most corporations owe an annual license fee under SC Code § 12-20-50 of $15 plus $1 for each $1,000, or fraction of $1,000, of 
capital common and preferred stock and paid-in or capital surplus of the corporation, as shown by the corporation’s records on the 
first day of the tax year in which the report is filed. When a corporation does business partly within and partly without South Carolina 
or uses its capital partly within and partly without South Carolina, the license fee is apportioned using the same apportionment ratio 
used for income tax purposes. The minimum license fee is $25. 
  
A waterworks company, power company, electric cooperative, light company, gas company, telephone company, telegraph company, 
express company, street railway company, or navigation company owes a license fee under SC Code § 12-20-100 equal to:  
     $1 for each $1,000 (or fraction of $1,000) of fair market value of property owned and used within South Carolina in the conduct of 
     business, as determined by the Department for property tax purposes for the preceding taxable year; plus  
     $3 for each $1,000 (or fraction of $1,000) of gross receipts derived from services rendered from regulated business within South 
     Carolina during the preceding taxable year.  This component does not apply to electric cooperatives other than distribution electric 
     cooperatives. 
  
Only entities taxed as corporations under Subchapter C or S of the Internal Revenue Code are liable for corporate license fees. 
Corporations listed in SC Code § 12-20-110 are also exempt. 
  
Line 3. Add lines 1 and 2 and remit this amount. 
  
Additional information 
  
Corporations who apply for an extension must place an 'X' in the box on the corporate tax return indicating that the corporation has 
filed for a federal or state extension. 
  
Report the amount paid on line 1 on SC1120, line 14(c); SC1120S, line 8(c); SC1120U, line 10(c); SC990T, line 10(c); SC1101B, line 
8(c); or SC1104, line 10(c). 
  
Report the amount paid on line 2 on SC1120, line 24(a); SC1120S, line 18(a); SC1120U, line 19(a); or CL-4, line 8(b).

X

X

X

X

X

30962047

Place an 'X' in the “First-time Filer” box if this will be your first corporate tax return and you have not filed a CL-1 Initial Annual 
Report of Corporations. Section 12-20-40(B) requires a corporation that has not filed an application for a Certificate of Authority 
from the Secretary of State's Office to file a CL-1 Initial Annual Report and pay the $25 initial annual license fee to the Department 
of Revenue within 60 days after initially doing business or using a portion of its capital in this State. 
  
Place an 'X' in the “S Corporation” box if the entity is taxed as a corporation under Subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Code. 
NOTE: A "qualified Subchapter S subsidiary" (also called a “QSSS” or a “Q-sub”) is not regarded as an entity separate from its 
parent S corporation. The parent S corporation is the entity responsible for filing a corporate return. 
  
Place an 'X' in the “Consolidated Return” box for two or more corporations filing a South Carolina consolidated corporate tax return 
under Section 12-6-5020. File a single SC1120-T for the entire group. Income taxes and license fees are computed separately for 
each corporation. Each license fee cannot be less than $25. 
  
Place an 'X' in the “Bank or Savings & Loan” box if the entity is taxed for South Carolina purposes as a bank under Section 
12-11-20 or as a savings and loan under Section 12-13-30. 
  
Place an 'X' in the “Utility or Electric Cooperative” if the entity is subject to the corporate license fee under Section 12-20-100 or 
files an SC1120U or CL-4. 


