Application for Liquor Warehouse License

APPLY FOR YOUR LIQUOR WAREHOUSE LICENSE ON MyDORWAY!

- It's faster and easier than completing a paper application and results in fewer errors.
- Many supplemental forms are included in the MyDORWAY application workflow.
- If you have multiple warehouses, each warehouse must have a separate Liquor Warehouse License.



Manage your tax accounts online for FREE!

My DC RWAY Fast. Easy. Secure.

One-stop shop!

Manage your SCDOR accounts all in one place

- Review your payment history
- Immediate access to correspondence
- Easily update your account information
 - + more!

Why MyDORWAY?

- Access your account 24/7
- Make ACH debit or credit card payments,
 with no convenience fees
- Receive immediate confirmation for transactions
- Reduce errors with automatic calculations
- Control who has access to your SCDOR accounts
- Always know you're using the most up-to-date forms

Ready to sign up for MyDORWAY? **Visit MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov to get started.**

You'll need your FEIN or SSN, License Number, and a Letter ID or copy of your last return.

Tutorials are available at dor.sc.gov/MyDORWAY



1350

dor.sc.gov



Submit all of the following documents for any entity type:

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

ABL-921 Checklist

(Rev. 1/18/23)

Save time and paper! Complete your application on MyDORWAY at MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov. See the instructions in this package for more information.

To be eligible for a new Alcohol License, you must meet the applicable requirement:

- Sole Proprietorship: You must have been a resident of South Carolina for at least 30 days.
- General Partnership: The Partnership must have been formed in South Carolina for at least 30 days.
- Corporation, Limited Liability Corporations (LLCs), and Limited Liability Partnerships (LLPs): The entity must have been registered with the South Carolina Secretary of State's (SCSOS) office for at least 30 days.

1. Completed application, signed and dated
2. Completed ABL-946 for each principal
3. Completed ABL-920
 4. Criminal record check (CRC) for all principals that is less than 90 days old. If the principal has lived in SC for two years or more, submit the CRC from SLED at www.sled.sc.gov. If the principal has lived in SC for less than two years, the statewide CRC must be submitted from the previous state of residency and from SLED at www.sled.sc.gov. If the principal is not an SC resident, the statewide CRC must be submitted from the current state of residency.
 Attach a disposition for any charge that does not list the court charges determination. The receipt or affidavit from the advertisement you ran in an approved newspaper. The advertisement must have run within the last 90 days. You can obtain a list of approved newspapers on the ABL-32, available at dor.sc.gov/forms.
6. Completed ABL-977 or a copy of your lease, deed, or tax bill. If subleased, provide a copy of the assignment of lease.
LLCs, LLPs, and General Partnerships are required to submit:
LLC Operating Agreement, Partnership Agreement, or the ABL-919

1350

dor.sc.gov



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

GENERAL INFORMATION FOR BEER, WINE, AND LIQUOR APPLICATIONS

ABL-921 Instructions

(Rev. 1/18/23) 4425

The information provided is for general guidance only. It should not be considered or substituted for legal advice. SCDOR representatives will not provide legal advice. Read the laws, regulations, and applicable court decisions carefully before applying.

The SCDOR will process your application within 6-8 weeks. This process will be delayed if the SCDOR denies your application. All applications that are denied or have been protested are subject to a hearing with the Administrative Law Court.

The fastest, easiest way to submit the ABL-921 is by using our free online tax portal, MyDORWAY, available at **MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov.** You must have a MyDORWAY account before applying for the ABL-921. To apply on MyDORWAY, start by logging in, then click the **More** tab. On the next screen, select **Apply for a New Alcohol Beverage License**.

Or you can submit the ABL-921 by:

Mail: SCDOR, ABL Section, PO Box 125, Columbia, SC 29214-0907

Email: ABL@dor.sc.gov

Applicable laws:

Beer, wine, and alcoholic liquors are governed by SC Code of Laws Title 61, Chapters 2, 4, and 6, Title 12 Chapters 21 and 33, Title 20 Chapter 7, and Title 33 Chapter 42. Find regulations in Chapter 7 of the Code of Regulations. Laws and regulations are available at **dor.sc.gov/policy**. Not all applicable legal statutes and regulations are included in this application.

GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS

A. Qualifications of applicants for all license types:

- 1. All principals, officers, and employees must be:
 - at least 21 years old
 - of good moral character
 - legal residents of or have legal authority to be in the United States, and
 - registered with the SCSOS and/or a legal resident of South Carolina for 30 days prior to submitting an application to the SCDOR.
- 2. The applicant must be the owner of the business seeking the license and/or permit.
- 3. The applicant must not have had a Beer and Wine Permit revoked within the last two years or a Liquor License revoked within the last five years.
- 4. The proposed business can apply for a Retail Sales License for \$50. If you will be charging admission, you must also apply for a free Admissions Tax License. Both license applications are available at **dor.sc.gov/register**.
- 5. Check with the city and county authorities to ensure you are in compliance with zoning laws and local business license requirements.

B. Tax liabilities:

A license and/or permit cannot be issued if the applicant or any principals have any outstanding tax liabilities with the SCDOR.

C. Sign posting:

- 1. A SLED Agent will post and remove a sign at the proposed place of business.
- 2. This sign must remain posted for 15 days. It can only be removed by the SLED Agent. If the sign is removed by anyone other than the SLED Agent, contact the SCDOR or SLED immediately.

D. Newspaper advertisements:

- 1. A Notice of Application must be placed at least once a week for three consecutive weeks in a newspaper approved by the SCDOR for the proposed business.
- 2. The notice must:
 - (a) be in the legal notices section of the newspaper or an equivalent section if the newspaper has no legal notices section;
 - (b) be in large type, covering a space of one column wide and at least two inches deep; and
 - (c) state the type of license and/or permit applied for and the exact location of the proposed business. An applicant applying for both a Beer and Wine Permit and a Liquor License may use the same advertisement for both if the SCDOR approves the advertisement.
- 3. The ad receipt from the approved newspaper must be submitted before the application can be processed.
- 4. The Affidavit of Publication must be submitted and approved by the SCDOR before a license and/or permit can be issued.

SAMPLE ADVERTISEMENT	
NOTICE (OF APPLICATION
Notice is hereby given that	intends to apply to the South Carolina Department of Revenue
for a license and/or permit that will allow the sale and(on/o	 :
at(exact street address, city, state and ZIP)	To object to the issuance of this license and/or permit, submit an
ABL-20 protest form by(16 days from the publication of the	e first advertisement)

E. Finding the correct newspaper to publish your advertisement:

Submit the ABL-20 online at MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov, or email to ABL@dor.sc.gov.

- 1. Refer to the ABL-32, Approved Newspapers for ABL Legal Advertisements, to determine the approved newspaper for the municipality or county where the proposed business is located.
- 2. If your business is located within a municipality with a qualifying newspaper, you may place your ad in one of the municipality-specific newspapers **or** in one of the county-wide newspapers.
- 3. If your business is not located within one of the listed municipalities, you **must** place your ad in one of the countywide newspapers.
- 4. If you place your advertisement in an incorrect newspaper, you will have to rerun the ad in an approved newspaper.

If you are unsure, contact the ABL section at 803-898-5864 before placing the ad in the newspaper.

Example:

- HORRY COUNTY
 The Sun News
- Conway
 The Horry Independent
- Garden City
 Myrtle Beach Herald
- If your business is located in **Aynor**, a municipality which is **not** listed under **HORRY COUNTY**, you must publish your advertisement in The Sun News.
- If your business is located in **Garden City**, a municipality which **is** listed under **HORRY COUNTY**, you can publish your advertisement in Myrtle Beach Herald or The Sun News.

Approved Newspapers for ABL Legal Advertisements

ABL-32 (Rev. 2/5/24)

If your business is located within a municipality with a qualifying newspaper, you may place your ad in one of the municipality-specific newspapers **or** in one of the county-wide newspapers.

If your business is not located within one of the listed municipalities, you **must** place your ad in one of the county-wide newspapers.

• ABBEVILLE COUNTY

The Press & Banner

AIKEN COUNTY

Aiken Standard The State

North Augusta

The Star

• ALLENDALE COUNTY

The People-Sentinel

ANDERSON COUNTY

Independent Mail

○ Belton

News-Chronicle

o Honea Path

News-Chronicle

Pelzer

The Journal

Piedmont

The Journal
• Williamston

The Journal

BAMBERG COUNTY

Bamberg County Leader

• BARNWELL COUNTY

The People-Sentinel

• BEAUFORT COUNTY

Bluffton Today
The Beaufort Gazette
The Island News
Hilton Head Island Packet

• BERKELEY COUNTY

The Berkeley Independent The Post & Courier

o Goose Creek

The Gazette

o Summerville

The Summerville Journal-Scene

• CALHOUN COUNTY

The Calhoun Times Leader

• CHARLESTON COUNTY

The Post & Courier

o Summerville

The Summerville Journal-Scene

• CHEROKEE COUNTY

Spartanburg Herald The Gaffney Ledger

• CHESTER COUNTY

The News & Reporter

• CHESTERFIELD COUNTY

Chesterfield County News & Shopper The Link

Jefferson

Pageland Progressive Journal

o Mt. Croghan

Pageland Progressive Journal

Pageland

Pageland Progressive Journal

• CLARENDON COUNTY

The Manning Times
The Sumter Item

• COLLETON COUNTY

The Press & Standard The Post & Courier

DARLINGTON COUNTY

Darlington County News & Press

○ Hartsville

Hartsville News Journal
The Hartsville Messenger

• DILLON COUNTY

The Dillon Herald

• DORCHESTER COUNTY

The Post & Courier

o St. George

The Dorchester Eagle-Record

Summerville

The Summerville Journal-Scene

EDGEFIELD COUNTY

The Edgefield Advertiser

• FAIRFIELD COUNTY

The State
The Voice of Fairfield County

• FLORENCE COUNTY

Morning News
The News Journal

GEORGETOWN COUNTY

Georgetown Times Coastal Observer

GREENVILLE COUNTY

Greenville Journal
The Greenville News

Greer

The Greer Citizen

Piedmont

The Journal

GREENWOOD COUNTY

Index Journal

HAMPTON COUNTY

The Hampton County Guardian

HORRY COUNTY

The Sun News
The Horry Independent

Garden City

Myrtle Beach Herald

∘ Loris

The Loris Scene

Murrells Inlet

Myrtle Beach Herald

 Myrtle Beach Myrtle Beach Herald

North Myrtle Beach
 North Myrtle Beach Times

Surfside Beach
 Myrtle Beach Herald

·

JASPER COUNTY
 Jasper County Sun Times

KERSHAW COUNTY

Chronicle-Independent The State

• LANCASTER COUNTY

The Lancaster News

Kershaw
 The News-Era

LAURENS COUNTY Laurens County Advertiser The Clinton Chronicle

• LEE COUNTY

Lee County Observer • LEXINGTON COUNTY

Free Times Lexington County Chronicle The State

 Batesburg-Leesville The Twin-City News

MARION COUNTY

Marion Star & Mullins Enterprise

MARLBORO COUNTY

Herald-Advocate

MCCORMICK COUNTY McCormick Messenger

NEWBERRY COUNTY

The Newberry Observer

OCONEE COUNTY

The Journal

• ORANGEBURG COUNTY

The Times & Democrat

PICKENS COUNTY

The Greenville News Pickens County Courier The Sentinel-Progress

Clemson

The Journal

RICHLAND COUNTY

Free Times
The Columbia Star
The State

Blythewood

The Country Chronicle

• SALUDA COUNTY

The Twin-City News

SPARTANBURG COUNTY Herald-Journal

SUMTER COUNTY

The Sumter Item

• UNION COUNTY Union County News

WILLIAMSBURG COUNTY

The News

YORK COUNTY

The Herald

1350



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE APPLICATION FOR LIQUOR WAREHOUSE LICENSE

ABL-921 (Rev. 6/21/23) 4425

dor.sc.gov

The fastest, easiest way to submit the ABL-921 is by using our free online tax portal, MyDORWAY, available at **MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov**.

File Number: _____

Mail to: SCDOR, ABL Section, PO Box 125, Columbia, SC 29214-0907 Email: ABL@dor.sc.gov

License Fee: \$600 biennially

PRINT ALL INFORMATION					TION		
1.	Legal entity name or	sole proprietor			5.	Trade name (doing business as)	
2.	Physical location of w	varehouse (no PO box)			6.	Business phone number	Principal's phone number
	Street			7. FEIN/SSN			
	City	County	State	ZIP			
3. Mailing address				8. Email			
Designated agent							
					9. Type of business and Alcohol Beverage License number		
Street				Liquor Producer or Importer Liquor Micro-Distillery Liquor Manufacturer			
	City	County	State	ZIP	Alc	cohol Beverage License number	
4. Type of ownership				10. Legal entity name and Alcohol Beverage License number of Liquor			
	Sole Proprietor	Partnership				Producer or Importer Representati	ve
	LLC/LLP	SC Corporation	Date of Inc.		Le	gal entity name	
	Foreign Corporation	State of Inc.	Date of Inc.		Alc	cohol Beverage License number	PLR
	Other (explain)						

DESIGNATED AGENT

You must designate a person to receive all notices from the SCDOR concerning your license and/or permit. These notices will be sent to the person at the mailing address provided in section 3. It is your responsibility to keep the SCDOR informed of any change to your designated agent or mailing address, as the law will presume you received all notices sent to the address you have given us.
Name of Designated Agent
CONTACT PERSON
The contact person must be a principal listed on the ABL-946, Consent and Waiver. Attorneys are only required to submit a Letter of Representation. Accountants are only required to submit an SC-2848.
SLED will conduct an investigation on this application, and will need to meet with the contact person at the location for which you are seeking a license and/or permit to discuss the business and ownership of the business. Provide the name, phone, and email of the contact person who can meet with the SLED agent for this purpose.
Name of Contact Person
Phone Email
The SCDOR will process your application within 6-8 weeks. This process will be delayed if the SCDOR denies your application. All applications that are denied or have been protested are subject to a hearing with the Administrative Law Court.
I certify that this business meets the legal requirements under South Carolina law for the license and/or permit type for which this application is being filed. For a general summary of the qualifications and legal requirements for beer, wine, and liquor permits and licenses, see the ABL-975. Beer, wine, and liquor are governed by SC Code of Laws Title 61, Chapters 2, 4, and 6; Title 12 Chapters 21 and 33; Title 20 Chapter 7, and Title 33 Chapter 42. Regulations are found in Chapter 7 of the Code of Regulations. Read the full code sections at dor.sc.gov/policy .

I understand that a misstatement or concealment of fact in an application is sufficient grounds for the revocation of the license and/or permit. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read and understood this form and the information I have provided herein is true, correct, and complete.

Principal's Signature	Date

Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure

It is mandatory that you provide your Social Security Number on this tax form if you are an individual taxpayer. 42 U.S.C. 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to use an individual's Social Security Number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201 mandates that any person required to make a return to the SCDOR must provide identifying numbers, as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your Social Security Number is used for identification purposes.