

# To be eligible for a new Alcohol Beverage License, you must meet the relevant requirements or your application will not be processed.

- Sole Proprietorship: You must have been a resident of South Carolina for at least 30 days.
- General Partnership: The partnership must have been formed in South Carolina for at least 30 days.
- Corporation, Limited Liability Corporation (LLC), Limited Liability Partnerships (LLP): Entity must have been registered with the South Carolina Secretary of State (SCSOS) for at least 30 days.

The fastest, easiest way to submit the ABL-900 is by using our free online tax portal, MyDORWAY, available at **MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov**. You must have a MyDORWAY account before applying for the Special Event Permit. To apply on MyDORWAY, start by logging in, then click the **More** tab. On the next screen, select **Apply for a New Alcohol Beverage License**.

Or you can submit the ABL-900 by: Mail: SCDOR, ABL Section, PO Box 125, Columbia, SC 29214-0907 Email: ABL@dor.sc.gov

#### Submit all of the following documents at least 3 days before your special event:

- \_\_\_\_ 1. Completed ABL-900 application, signed and dated
- \_\_\_\_\_ 2. License and/or permit fees
- \_\_\_\_ 3. Completed ABL-946 for each principal
- 4. Criminal record check (CRC) for all principals that is less than 90 days old
  - If the principal has lived in SC for two years or more, submit the CRC from South Carolina State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) at www.sled.sc.gov.
  - If the principal has lived in SC for less than two years, the statewide CRC must be submitted from the previous state of residency and from SLED at www.sled.sc.gov.
  - If the principal is not an SC resident, the statewide CRC must be submitted from the current state of residency.
  - Attach a disposition for any charge that does not list the court charges determination.
- 5. Completed ABL-100. Your application will not be processed without this form
- 6. Retail License and Admissions Tax License numbers if you are charging an entry fee and/or selling tickets, selling food and/or beverages, and providing entertainment (for example: games, dancing, music, or plays). If you do not already have a Retail Sales License and an Admissions Tax License, apply online at dor.sc.gov/register.
- 7. Completed ABL-977 or a copy of your lease if the event location is currently licensed to sell beer, wine, and/or liquor.
- 8. Copy of your notification email to the (SLED)
  - You must notify SLED at least 24 hours before the event by emailing ABLSpecialEventPermits@sled.sc.gov.
  - Your email should include your name and your organization's name and the type, location, date, and time of the event.
  - Copy or forward your email to **ABLCompliance@dor.sc.gov**.

# A Special Event License or Permit will not be issued if there is a pending application for a permanent license or permit for the same location.

dor.sc.gov



#### STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE APPLICATION FOR SPECIAL EVENT BEER, WINE, AND/OR LIQUOR

ABL-900 (Rev. 5/17/23) 4281

### This application must be submitted at least 3 days prior to your special event.

Save time and paper! Complete your application on MyDORWAY at MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov.

Mail to: SCDOR, ABL Section, PO Box 125, Columbia, SC 29214-0907File NumberEmail: ABL@dor.sc.govFile Number

Check the license and/or permit types you're applying for. If your event continues past 11:59 PM, an additional day's fee is required.

License/permit type	Beginning date	Beginning time	Ending date	Ending time	Fee
Beer/Wine (TBP) \$10/day					
Liquor (TLP) \$35/day					
	•	•			

TOTAL:

PRINT ALL INFORMATION				
1. Legal entity name or sole proprietor		8. FEIN/SSN		
2. Physical location where event is to be held (no PO box)		9. Email		
Street		10. Type of event (dance, festival, fundraiser, etc.)		
City County State	ZIP			
3. Mailing address		11. Are you charging an entry fee or selling tickets for the event?     Yes   If yes, provide Retail Sales and Admissions Tax License number in box 14.		
In care of				
		12. Are you selling food and/or beverages at the event?		
Street		Yes No If yes, provide Retail Sales and Admissions Tax License number in box 14.		
City County State	ZIP	13. Are you providing entertainment at the event?		
4. Type of ownership		Yes No If yes, provide Retail Sales and Admissions Tax License number in box 14.		
Sole Proprietor Partnership Unincorporated associatio		14. Retail Sales License number Admissions Tax License number		
LLC/LLP SC Corporation Date of inc:				
Foreign corporation State inc: Date of inc:		15. Is the event location within SC municipal limits?		
Nonprofit organization Political party or affiliate		Yes No If yes, which municipality?		
Other (explain):		16. Is the event location currently licensed to sell beer, wine, and/or liquor? ☐ Yes ☐ No		
5. Are you registered with the SCSOS as a charity?		If yes, provide the following:		
		A. Alcohol Beverage License number		
6. Trade name (doing business as)		B. Name of business		
		Legal entity name or sole proprietor including trade name		
7. Business phone number Home phone number		A lease between you and the license and/or permit holder must be included.		

I understand that a misstatement or concealment of fact in an application is sufficient grounds for the revocation of the license and/or permit. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read and understood this form and the information I have provided is true, correct, and complete.



# E HO

#### STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE LAW ENFORCEMENT NOTIFICATION FOR SPECIAL EVENT APPLICATION

ABL-100 (Rev. 4/14/23) 4263

Special event organizers must submit this application to the Chief of Police of the municipality where their event is located. If the special event does not take place within municipal limits, submit this application to the Sheriff of the county where the event is located.

If the Chief of Police or Sheriff is unable to sign, you must include a written statement from the Chief of Police or Sheriff authorizing another law enforcement representative to sign on their behalf.

To be completed by the applicant			
Legal entity name or sole proprietor	_		
Physical location of event	Municipality (if applicable)	County	
Date(s) of special event	Beginning time	Ending time	

### To be Completed by the Chief of Police or Sheriff

I have been informed by the applicant above about their application for a Special Event license to sell beer, wine, and/ or liquor at the address shown above.

I do not object to the issuance of the Special Event License.

I object to the issuance of the Special Event License.

Signature of authorized law enforcement official

Name and title of authorized law enforcement official

Department

Date

Phone number

If this form is not completely filled out, your application will be returned to you.

The entire application **must** be presented to law enforcement officials with this form. Any alterations of this form will void the agreement.

If you are applying for multiple locations, this form must be submitted for each location.

ľ	З	5	0

dor.sc.gov

#### STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE CONSENT AND WAIVER

## If you're applying on MyDORWAY, the ABL-946 is part of the normal application workflow. You do not need to submit or attach a paper copy of the ABL-946 if applying on MyDORWAY.

Mail to: SCDOR, ABL Section, PO Box 125, Columbia, SC 29214-0907

#### Email: ABL@dor.sc.gov

#### What you need to know:

- The SCDOR cannot issue a license or permit to anyone who owes delinquent taxes, penalties, or interest.
- You are waiving your rights under SC Code Sections 12-54-240 and 30-2-1. You can read the full code sections at **dor.sc.gov/policy**.
- The SCDOR has the right to share information with other principals or applicants in order to process the application or renewal.

Legal entity name	FEIN
Principal's name	
Home address (no PO box)	Street
City	State ZIP
Date of SC residency (mm/dd/yyyy)	Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)
SSN FEIN	Percent of ownership
Principal types (Check one):	ner 🔄 Member (LLC) 🔄 Manager (LLC)
Employee/Manager Nonprofit officer	Fiduciary Publicly traded agent
Have you as an individual, or as an organization in w suspended in this state or any other state? Yes No <b>If yes, you must attach a</b>	hich you were a principal, had any license to sell beer, wine, or liquor revoked or an explanation.
Have you been convicted of a crime in South Carolin	a or any other state?
Yes No If yes, you must attach a	an explanation.
	fact in an application is sufficient grounds for the revocation of the license and/or ave read and understood this form and the information I have provided herein is

true, correct, and complete.

Principal's Signature

Date

#### **Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure**

It is mandatory that you provide your Social Security Number on this tax form if you are an individual taxpayer. 42 U.S.C. 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to use an individual's Social Security Number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201 mandates that any person required to make a return to the SCDOR must provide identifying numbers, as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your Social Security Number is used for identification purposes.

### **Special Event Guidelines**

The **Special Event Beer & Wine Permit (TBP)** authorizes the sale of beer and wine at special events for consumption on the licensed premises.

The **Special Event Alcoholic Liquors License (TLP)** authorizes the sale of alcoholic liquors at bona fide nonprofit events for consumption on the licensed premises. This permit is issued to nonprofit organizations only. To be eligible for this permit a nonprofit organization must have an eleemosynary charter from, or be a political party affiliate certified by, the South Carolina Secretary of State's office.

Special events cannot exceed 15 consecutive days per SC Code Section 61-4-550(A). Events continuing beyond 11:59 PM require an additional day's fee.

If the special event has outside vendors within the event, each location allowing the sale of liquor is required to obtain a Special Event License.

Liquor is required to be confined to the specific area from which it is sold. Fencing, signs, and bike racks are a few ways the area can be defined.

SC Code of Regs 7-202.3 states:

- The premises of a nonprofit organization must be separate from the premises of any business operation, including businesses licensed to sell liquor by the drink.
- The premises of a nonprofit organization are considered separate if the organization has its own address and separate entrance, and is not connected with another business premises by common doorways or passageways, either interior or exterior.

#### Special events where a license and/or permit is not required

A license or permit is not required if a person or entity provides beer, wine, and/or liquor at a function free of charge and free of any consideration whatsoever. This is referred to as an unlicensed social function.

An unlicensed social function is an event of a noncommercial nature where admission is not charged, and beer, wine, or liquor is being consumed, but not sold, and the person having the function does not have a beer and wine permit or liquor license. A wedding reception where beer, wine, or liquor is being consumed is an example of an unlicensed social function. A bartender, caterer, or event hall may NOT provide the beer, wine, or liquor for this type of event to be considered an unlicensed social function

If you're not sure which Special Event License or Permit you need, see the **Special Event** pages at **dor.sc.gov/tax/abl/licenses**.

### **Frequently Asked Questions**

#### Who should obtain the Special Nonprofit Event License or Special Event License?

If the host of the event is charging any fees where the alcohol is going to be provided, the host must obtain the Special Nonprofit Event License or Special Event License. The host, as the license holder, must acquire the beer and wine from a licensed wholesaler and liquor from a licensed Class B Retail Liquor Store. The host may hire someone to tend the bar only.

When a bartender, caterer, event hall, or other businesses provides the alcohol, they would be required to obtain the license instead of the host.

#### How long does it take to get a special event license?

Special event applications must be submitted at least 3 days prior to the event. The earlier we receive an application, the more time we have to resolve any issues that may arise.

#### Can I have liquor moving freely at my special event?

If you have multiple stations set up with outside vendors for an event, you must keep the liquor within the confined area from which it is sold. However, if there will not be any outside vendors present, liquor is allowed to move freely throughout the event space.

Per Regulation 7-202.3:

- 1. The premises of a nonprofit organization must be separate from the premises of any business operation, including business establishments licensed to sell alcoholic liquor by the drink.
- 2. The premises of a nonprofit organization will be deemed separate if the organization has its own address and separate entrance, and is not connected with another business premises by common doorways or passageways, whether interior or exterior.

#### May I purchase beer, wine and/or liquor from a retail store?

No. Once you obtain a special event license you become a retailer and all beer, wine, and liquor must be purchased from an SC licensed wholesaler.

### If I am having my event at a location that holds only a beer and wine permit may I obtain the special event for liquor and use the locations beer and wine permit?

No. In order to have a special event at a license location the location must lease the area to the event holder, that lease will render their beer and wine license invalid during the leased period. The beer, wine, and/or liquor must be provided by the same entity

### Can I sell tickets to an event and allow a nonprofit to obtain the permit if I am going to donate the proceeds to them?

No. The entity that collects the money must be the same as the one who holds the license.

#### Can I get a special event for my home?

No. We do not license personal residences.