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SCOPE: The purpose of a Temporary Revenue Advisory Bulletin is to 

provide immediate guidance to the public and to Department 
personnel.  It is a written statement issued to apply principles of tax 
law to a specific set of facts or a general category of taxpayers.  A 
Temporary Revenue Advisory Bulletin does not have the force 
or effect of law, and is not binding on the public. It is, however, 
temporary, and is binding on agency personnel only until superseded 
or modified by a change in statute, regulation, court decision, or 
advisory opinion. 

 
Code Section 12-6-3385 provides a refundable individual income tax credit for college tuition.  
The purpose of this advisory opinion is to address some common questions that have arisen 
concerning this tax credit since its amendment during the 1999 legislative session.   
 
QUESTIONS: 
 
1. Who is an eligible student? 
 
To qualify for the tuition tax credit, an individual enrolled in an institution of higher learning 
must meet all of the following requirements: 

 
1. have graduated from high school during or after May 1997; 

 
2. within 12 months before enrolling in the institution of higher learning: 

a. graduated from a South Carolina high school,  
b. completed a South Carolina high school home school program, or  
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c. graduated from a preparatory high school outside of South Carolina while a dependent 
of a parent or guardian who is a legal resident of South Carolina has custody of the 
student; 

 
3. be eligible for in-state tuition; 

 
4. be admitted, enrolled, and classified as a degree-seeking undergraduate or be enrolled in 

a certificate or diploma program of at least 1 year and be in good standing at the 
institution (whether or not a student is in good standing is determined by the qualifying 
institution); and,    

 
5. have completed at least 30 credit hours at the end of the taxable year for which the credit 

is claimed, or its equivalent as determined by the Commission on Higher Education. (A 
student is considered to have Acompleted@ a course regardless of the grade achieved, 
however, a student receiving an incomplete or withdrawing from a course is not 
considered to have Acompleted@ a course for purposes of the 30 credit hour requirement.) 
  

 
NOTE: There is not a minimum Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) requirement or grade point 
average requirement to qualify for the tuition credit, however, the student must be in good 
standing at the institution to claim the credit. 
  
2. Who is not an eligible student? 
 
The tuition tax credit is not available to an individual enrolled in an institution of higher learning 
who:  
 

1. obtained a GED; 
 

2. is a Palmetto Fellowship recipient; 
 

3. is a Legislative Incentives for Future Excellence (LIFE) Scholarship recipient; 
 

4. is in default of a federal Title IV or South Carolina educational loan or owes a refund on 
a South Carolina student financial aid program; or, 

 
5. has been adjudicated delinquent or been convicted or pled guilty or nolo contendere to 

any felonies, or any alcohol or drug related offenses.   
 

NOTE 1: This ineligibility requirement does not apply to a student whose record has 
been expunged. 

 
NOTE 2: If a student has been adjudicated delinquent or been convicted or pled guilty or 
nolo contendere to any alcohol or drug related misdemeanor offense, then this 
ineligibility requirement applies only for the taxable year in which the adjudication, 
conviction, or plea occurred. 
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3. Can a student who does not currently meet the credit requirements later qualify? 
 
Yes. A student may currently be a Palmetto Fellowship or LIFE scholarship recipient or be in 
default of a student loan, but later lose the scholarship or repay the loan.  At such time if the 
student meets all the tuition credit eligibility requirements, the student is eligible for the tuition 
credit for the remaining time in the 4-year credit period. (See Question 12 for the maximum 
years a credit may be claimed.)  
 
For example, a student is a LIFE scholarship recipient for the 1999-2000 school year (fall 1999 
and spring 2000 semesters), but does not qualify for the LIFE scholarship in the 2000-2001 
school year (fall 2000 and spring 2001 semesters.)  The student is a qualifying student meeting 
all requirements of the tuition tax credit in the fall 2000 semester and may claim the tuition tax 
credit for that semester provided the student completed 30 credit hours during the tax year 2000. 
 The student may not claim the credit for the 1999 tax year or for the spring 2000 semester since 
the student was a LIFE scholarship recipient during that time. 
 
4. What institutions qualify? 
 
Currently tuition paid to the institutions of higher learning listed in Exhibit A qualifies for the 
credit.  The list of institutions in Exhibit A is derived from the following statutory criteria for 
qualifying institutions of higher learning and designated institutions: 
 

1. A South Carolina public institution is any state-supported-post secondary educational 
institution, including technical and comprehensive educational institutions. See South 
Carolina Code Section 59-103-5. 

 
2. An independent institution is any independent eleemosynary junior or senior college in 

South Carolina whose major campus and headquarters are located within South Carolina 
and which is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools. 
See South Carolina Code Section 59-113-50. 

 
3. A public or independent bachelor=s level institution chartered before 1962 whose major 

campus and headquarters are located within South Carolina; 
 

4. An independent bachelor=s level institution which has attained an Internal Revenue Code 
Section 501(c)(3) tax status and is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and 
Secondary Schools or the New England Association of Colleges and Schools; or 

 
5. A public or independent two-year institution which has attained an Internal Revenue Code 

Section 501(c)(3) tax status.   
 
5. What institutions do not qualify? 
 
An institution does not qualify if its sole purpose is: 
 

1.  religious or theological training, or 
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2. granting professional degrees. 

 
6. What qualifies as tuition? 
 
Qualifying tuition is the amount charged by a 2-year or 4-year public institution of higher 
learning, including required fees, necessary for undergraduate enrollment.   
 
Qualifying tuition at an independent institution is, however, defined as the Aaverage tuition at the 
4-year public institutions of higher learning,@ not to exceed the actual tuition charged.  The 1999 
average tuition at 4-year institutions of higher learning has been determined by the Commission 
on Higher Education to be $3,547 per year, or $1,764 per regular semester, for a student enrolled 
only in the fall or spring semester.  See Questions 16, 17, and 18 for credit computations for 
schools on a traditional semester system and for schools not on a traditional semester system. 
  
Required fees do not include fees or charges for books, room and board, student activities, 
athletics, meal plans, insurance, equipment, transportation, or personal, living, or family 
expenses. 
 
7.  What are scholarship grants that reduce tuition? 
 
Any amounts received toward tuition payment by scholarship grants must be deducted before 
calculating the credit.  Examples of scholarship grants include academic scholarships, athletic 
scholarships, South Carolina tuition grants, Pell grants, and Supplemental Educational 
Opportunity Grants. Grants which do not reduce tuition, and are not used to pay tuition, e.g., a 
grant for room and board, are not deducted from tuition before calculating the credit. 
 
Scholarship grants do not include student loans, educational assistance plans under Internal 
Revenue Code Section 127, payments for teaching, research or other services performed by the 
student whether or not required as a condition for receiving a tuition reduction, or veteran 
educational assistance benefits.  Therefore, tuition amounts paid with the student=s earnings, a 
loan, a gift, inheritance, or personal savings constitute tuition paid by the student for purposes of 
the tuition tax credit.  
 
Further, to the extent contributions to the South Carolina Tuition Prepayment Program are 
considered paid by the student (beneficiary of the Program), the prepayment amounts constitute 
tuition paid by the student.  Likewise, if tuition is paid by the student with money from an 
Education IRA, the payment constitutes tuition paid by the student (beneficiary of the IRA.)  In 
both instances, the qualifying student, not the parent, is eligible to claim the tuition tax credit.   
 
8. What is the credit amount? 
 
For a student attending a 4-year institution, the credit is equal to 25% of the tuition paid during a 
taxable year, not to exceed $850.   
 
For a student attending a 2-year institution, the credit is equal to 25% of the tuition paid during a 
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taxable year, not to exceed $350. 
 
For a student attending both a 2-year and a 4-year institution in the same tax year, the credit is 
equal to 25% of the tuition paid during the taxable year, not to exceed $850. 
 
The credit amount for any student per tax year may not exceed $850 in any circumstance.  
 
NOTE: Before calculating the credit amount two adjustments may be necessary: 
 

1. Students attending an independent institution must reduce the actual tuition paid to that 
of the Aaverage tuition at the 4-year public institutions of higher learning,@ not to exceed 
the actual tuition charged.  (See Question 6 for the average tuition amounts to use in 
computing the 1999 credit amount and Exhibit A for a list of 4-year independent 
institutions. The Aaverage tuition@ amount will be adjusted annually by the Commission 
on Higher Education,) and 

 
2. Scholarship grants received toward tuition payments must be deducted from qualifying 

tuition.   
 
If both adjustments apply, they must be made in the order listed above. 
 
9. What tuition payments and credit hours are used to compute the credit? 
 
Tuition Payments: 
 
Amounts paid for tuition during the current tax year (winter/interim term 1999, spring semester 
1999, summer semester 1999, fall semester 1999, and tuition prepaid in 1999 for the spring 2000 
semester by students attending a qualifying institution in the current tax year) for qualifying 
students should be used to determine the tuition tax credit claimed on the 1999 South Carolina 
individual income tax return due April 17, 2000.  
 
Students Attending a Full Year at a Traditional Semester School: 
 
The Commission on Higher Education, in accordance with Code Section 12-6-3385, has 
authorized that the 30 credit hour requirement can be met by any combination of hours 
completed during the winter, interim, spring, summer, and fall terms in the current tax year. 
 
Students Attending One Regular Semester at a Traditional Semester School: 
 
The Commission on Higher Education, in accordance with Code Section 12-6-3385, has 
authorized that a student enrolled in either the fall or spring semester (but not both) at a 
traditional semester school in the current tax year must complete 15 credit hours in the one 
regular semester in order to be eligible for the tax credit. Further, the Commission on Higher 
Education determined that summer school hours do not count in meeting this 15 hour per regular 
semester requirement.



Students Attending a Full Year at a NonTraditional Semester School: 
 
The Commission on Higher Education, in accordance with Code Section 12-6-3385, has 
authorized that the 30 credit hour requirement, or its equivalent, can be met by any combination 
of hours completed during the winter, interim, spring, summer, and fall terms in the current tax 
year for the following institutions:  
 
 
Institution 

 
AEquivalent Hour@ Requirements 

 
Converse 

 
Must earn 30 hours in the tax year 

 
Erskine 

 
Must earn 30 hours in the tax year 

 
Furman 

 
Must earn 30 hours in the tax year 

 
Johnson and Wales 

 
Must earn 36 hours in the tax year 

 
Wofford  

 
Must earn 30 hours in the tax year 

 
Students Attending One Regular Semester at a NonTraditional Semester School: 
 
The Commission on Higher Education, in accordance with Code Section 12-6-3385, has 
authorized that a student not enrolled in both the fall and spring semesters of a tax year in one of 
the following institutions must complete the following credit hours in either the fall or spring 
semester: 
 
 
Institution 

 
AEquivalent Hours@  

 
Converse 

 
12 hours 

 
Erskine 

 
13 hours 

 
Furman 

 
  8 hours 

 
Johnson and Wales 

 
12 hours 

 
Wofford  

 
12 hours 
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EXAMPLES: 
 
Examples best explain when the credit is first available.  The examples assume the students are 
qualifying students enrolled in a qualifying institution on a traditional semester system.  
 
 
EXAMPLES 

 
TAX 
YEAR 
TUITIO
N PAID 

 
SEMESTERS 
ENROLLED 

 
HOURS 
COMPLETED 
DURING TAX 
YEAR 

 
CREDIT 
ALLOWED 
FOR TUITION 
PAID DURING 
TAX YEAR 

 
Student A 

 
1999 
1999 

 
Spring 99 
Fall 99 

 
15 
15 

 
 
yes 

 
Student B 

 
1999 

 
Fall 99 

 
12 

 
no 

 
Student C 

 
1999 

 
Fall 99  

 
15 

 
yes 

 
Student D 

 
1999  
1999 

 
Fall 99 
Spring 00 

 
15 
15 to be completed in 
>00 

 
 
yes                      

 
Student E 

 
1999 
1999 
1999 

 
Spring 99 
Summer 99 
Fall 99 

 
12 
  6 
12 

 
 
 
yes 

 
Student F 

 
1999 
1999 

 
Summer 99 
Fall 99 

 
  6 
  9 

 
 
no    

 
Student G 

 
1999 
1999 
1999 

 
Spring 99 
Summer 99 
Fall 99 

 
  8 
  6 
15 

 
 
 
no 

 
Student H 

 
1999 

 
Summer 99 
Fall 99 

 
  6 
15 

 
 
yes 

 
Student I 

 
1999 

 
Spring 00 

 
 0 (15 to be completed 
in tax year 2000) 

 
 
no 

 
These examples illustrate that a student must complete at least 30 semester hours during the tax 
year. The 30 hour requirement can be met in any combination of hours completed during 
the winter, interim, spring, summer, and fall terms.  If the student enrolls in only one regular 
semester in a tax year, but not both, it does not affect the student=s qualification for the credit 
provided the student completes at least 15 semester hours during the regular semester attended 
(see example of Students B and C.)  Further, unlike the 30 hour requirement, summer school 
hours do not enter into the calculation of the 15 hour requirement when a student attends only 
one regular semester in a tax year (see example of Student F.)   
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Students A and E completed 30 hours during the tax year (each in different combinations) and 
qualify for the credit.  Student G, however, completed only 29 hours during the tax year and does 
not qualify for the credit. 
 
Student=s B, C, F, and H attended only one regular semester in 1999.  Student B does not qualify 
for the credit in 1999 since only 12 hours (not the required 15 Aequivalent hours@ per regular 
semester when only one regular term is attended) were completed in 1999.  Student C qualifies 
for the credit since the 15 Aequivalent hours@ requirement was met. Student F completed 15 hours 
in the summer and fall semesters, but does not qualify for the credit in 1999 since the required 15 
Aequivalent hours@ per regular semester when only one term is attended is not met (summer 
school hours are not counted in determining the 15 semester hour requirement.)  Student H, 
however, completed 15 hours in the fall semester and qualifies for the credit for the summer and 
fall semesters. Students B, F, and G may qualify for the remaining portion of the credit in future 
years.  (See Question 12 for the maximum years the credit may be claimed.) 
 
Student D is allowed a credit for tuition paid for the fall 1999 semester and prepaid in the 1999 
tax year for the spring 2000 semester since the student completed 15 semester hours for the one 
regular semester enrolled for in 1999 (the fall semester).  The number of hours Student D is 
enrolled for in 2000 is not used in the 1999 credit calculation.   
 
Student I does not qualify for the credit in 1999 for tuition prepaid in 1999 for the spring 2000 
semester since the student did not attend college during the tax year. 
 
Also, see Questions 16, 17, and 18 for computation of the credit. 
 
10. Who do I contact for questions concerning the Aequivalent hour@ requirement for 

institutions not on a traditional semester system?  
 
Code Section 12-6-3385(B)(3)(b) provides that a qualifying student must complete at least 30 
credit hours each year, or its equivalent, as determined by the Commission on Higher Education, 
at the end of the tax year for which the credit is claimed.   See Question 9 above for a list of 
Aequivalent hours@ approved by the Commission on Higher Education. 
 
Questions concerning equivalent hours for any school not on a traditional semester system 
should be directed to: 
 

Director, Student Services 
Commission on Higher Education 
1333 Main Street, Suite 200 
Columbia, South Carolina 29201-3245 
Phone - 803-737-2260 Fax - 803-737-2297 

 
11. What is the semester hour equivalent for a student with a disability? 
 
The Americans with Disabilities Act may permit certain disabled students to qualify for the 
credit by completing a lesser number of Aequivalent hours.@  The Commission on Higher 
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Education determines Aequivalent hours.@  The Commission on Higher Education has informed 
the Department to instruct each student with a disability to contact the Disability Services 
Provider at the qualifying institution for approval of the required Aequivalent hours.@  South 
Carolina Commission on Higher Education Form Number ACHE-400@ entitled AStudents With 
Disabilities - Equivalent Hour Authorization for Tuition Tax Credit@ must be completed and 
attached to the South Carolina tax return each year the tuition credit is claimed. 
 
12. How many years can the credit be claimed? 
 
The credit may be claimed for no more than 4 consecutive years after the qualifying student first 
enrolls in an eligible institution.  The credit is available for a total of no more than 5 tax years 
since the maximum 4-year credit period runs from the date the student first enrolls and continues 
for 4 years from that date so that the credit is allowed for tuition paid for no more than 8 
consecutive regular semesters and any summer school or interim period tuition paid during the 4-
year period. 
 
For example, if a student enrolls in a qualifying 4-year institution on August 17, 1999, the credit 
period is for qualifying tuition paid for school enrollment from August 17, 1999 to 
 
August 16, 2003.  The credit may be claimed on the 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, and 2003 South 
Carolina income tax returns.  
 
NOTE: Since the credit is effective for tax years beginning after 1997, a student graduating from 
high school in May 1997 and attending college in 1997 will begin counting the 4-year credit 
period with the first semester enrolled in the 1998 tax year so that the student will not lose a 
portion of the 4-year credit period. 
 
NOTE: Exceptions may be granted to extend the Afour year consecutive@ credit period  
due to medical necessity as defined by the Commission on Higher Education. Questions 
concerning extension of the credit period due to medical necessity should be directed to the 
Commission on Higher Education=s Director of the Division of Student Services at the address 
provided in Question 10. 
 
The following examples indicate the tax years the tuition credit may be claimed.  The examples 
assume, unless stated otherwise,  the students are qualifying students graduating from high 
school in May 1999 and enrolled in fall semesters August 17 through December 15 and spring 
semesters from January 7 through May 12 for the years indicated. 
 
 

 
TAX YEARS TUITION PAID 

 
Tax 
Year 

 
School 
Semeste
r 

 
Student 
A 

 
Student 
B 

 
Student C 

 
Student D 

 
Student E 

 
1999 

 
Fall 99 

 
1999 

 
1999 

 
1999-2 yr 
school 

 
1999-2 yr 
school 

 
did not 
attend 
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2000 Spring 
00 
Fall 00 

2000 
2000 

1999 
2000 

withdraws 
from school 

1999-2 yr 
school 
2000-2 yr 
school 

did not 
attend 

 
2001 

 
Spring 
01 
Fall 01 

 
2001 
2001 

 
2000 
2001 

 
2001-2 yr 
school 
2001-2 yr 
school 

 
2001-4 yr 
school 

 
2000 
2001 

 
2002 

 
Spring 
02 
Fall 02 

 
2002 
2002 

 
2001 
2002 

 
2002-2 yr 
school 
2002-2 yr 
school 

 
2002-4 yr 
school 

 
2001 
2002 

 
2003 

 
Spring 
03 
Fall 03 

 
2003 
N/A 

 
2002 
N/A 

 
2003-2 yr 
school 
2003-2 yr 
school 

 
2003-4 yr 
school 
2003-4 yr 
school 

 
2002 
2003 

 
2004 

 
Spring 
04 
Fall 04 

 
N/A 
N/A 

 
N/A 
N/A 

 
2004-2 yr 
school 
2004-2 yr 
school 

 
2004-4 yr 
school 
2004-4 yr 
school 

 
2004 
2004 

 
 
Student A - The credit may be claimed for all tuition payments made in 5 tax years - 1999, 2000, 
2001, 2002, and 2003 (but only for tuition paid for semesters (and any summer sessions) ending 
on or before August 16, 2003).   
 
Student B - The credit may be claimed for all tuition payments made in 4 consecutive years - 
years beginning August 17, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, and ending August 16, 2003.  The 
prepayment of the spring 2003 tuition in the tax year 2002, however, results in the acceleration 
of the credit.  No credit may be claimed in 2003 and thereafter.  
 
Student C - The credit may be claimed only for tax years 1999, 2001, 2002 and 2003 (but only 
for tuition paid for semesters ending on or before August 16, 2003).  The semesters the student 
did not attend in 2000 is still a year for purposes of counting the Afour consecutive years@ of the 
credit period.  NOTE: The attendance at a 2-year college for more than 2 years does not affect 
the Afour consecutive years@ of the credit period. 
 
Student D - The credit may be claimed in tax years 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, and 2003 (but only 
for tuition paid for the spring or summer 2003 semesters).  The transfer from a 2-year to a 4-year 
school does not affect the Afour consecutive years@ of the credit period.  No credit is allowed, 
however, for tuition paid for fall 2003 or spring and fall 2004. 
 
Student E - The credit may not be claimed for this student in any tax year.  Since the student 
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graduated from high school in May 1999, and did not enroll in college until Spring 2001, over 12 
months has elapsed before enrolling and the student is not a Aqualifying@ student.     
 
13. Who may claim the credit? 
 
The credit may be claimed by either: 
 

1. the student paying the tuition, or  
 

2. an individual paying the tuition who is eligible to claim the student as a dependent on his 
or her federal income tax return. 

 
Since the credit is per student, an individual paying the tuition for more than one dependent 
claimable on the taxpayer=s federal income tax return can claim a tuition tax credit for each 
qualifying student dependent.  
 
If a parent makes tuition payments in tax years 1999 and 2000 and the student makes tuition 
payments in tax years 2001 and 2002, then the parent may claim the credit in 1999 and 2000 and 
the student may claim the credit in 2001 and 2002.  
 
Further, if the parent and student each pay a portion of the tuition payments, 50% each for 
example, then 50% of the appropriate credit amount may be claimed by the parent and 50% of 
the appropriate credit amount may be claimed by the student.  In no case can the total credit 
claimed for a student each year exceed the maximum credit amount.  See Question 8.    
 
14. What is a refundable credit?  
 
A tax credit is only refundable when specifically provided in the statute.  The tuition tax credit is 
South Carolina=s only refundable credit.  A refundable credit reduces South Carolina income tax 
owed and provides a refund to the extent the credit is larger than the tax otherwise owed.  The 
credit is not related to adjusted gross income or tax liability. 
 
15. How is the credit claimed? 
 
The credit is computed on Form I-319 and claimed on the South Carolina individual income tax 
return - SC1040 or SC1040NR.  (The credit cannot be claimed on a SC1040A-short form.)  A 
complete copy of the taxpayer=s federal income tax return must be attached to the South Carolina 
individual income tax return. 
 
16. How is the credit computed for a qualifying student attending a public or private 

institution on a traditional semester system? 
 
An example best explains the computation. This example is based on the following facts: (1) 
institutions are qualifying 4-year institutions and (2) students are qualifying students paying one 
semester of tuition during the tax year. 
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CREDIT COMPUTATION PUBLIC 
INSTITUTION  

INDEPENDENT 
INSTITUTION* 

 
Tuition charged for semester 
during tax year 

 
$1,700 

 
 

 
$6,500 

 
Required enrollment fees 

 
$   100 

 
$   200 

 
Total qualified tuition & fees 
charged during taxable year* (not 
to exceed $3,547 per year or 
$1,764 per regular semester for 
private institutions listed in Exhibit 
A in the 1999 tax year - special 
rules apply for schools not on a 
traditional semester system - see 
Question 18) 

 
                 
                 
                 
                 
      

 
$1,800 

 
                      
                      
   

 
$1,764* 

 
Scholarship (applied toward tuition 
payment) 

 
$   300 

 
 

 
$    300   

 
 

 
SC Tuition & Pell Grants (applied 
toward tuition payment) 

 
$   500 

 
 

 
$       0 

 
 

 
Less: Total scholarship grants 
received during the taxable year 

 
 

 
($  800) 

 
 

 
($ 300) 

 
Tuition qualifying for the credit 

 
 

 
 $1,000 

 
 

 
$1,464 

 
Tuition Credit - 25% of tuition 
paid, not to exceed $850 a year 

 
 

 
 $   250  

 
 

 
$   366 

 
17. How is the credit computed for a qualifying student also attending summer school? 
 
An example best explains the computation. This example is based on the following facts: (1) 
institutions are qualifying 4-year institutions and (2) students are qualifying students paying for 6 
credit hours of summer school tuition during the tax year. 
 
 
CREDIT COMPUTATION 

 
PUBLIC 
INSTITUTION  

 
INDEPENDENT 
INSTITUTION* 

 
Tuition charged for summer 
semester during tax year 

 
$700 

 
 

 
$1,200 

 
Required enrollment fees 

 
$100 

 
$   200 

 
Total qualified tuition & fees 
charged for summer school* (for 
private institutions this number 

 
                 
                 
                 

 
$800 

 
                      
                      
   

 
$709* 
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cannot exceed $3,547 times the 
number of credit hours completed 
in summer school divided by 30) 

                 
      

 
Less: Total scholarship grants 
received during the taxable year 

 
 

 
($0) 

 
 

 
($0) 

 
Tuition qualifying for the credit 

 
 

 
 $800 

 
   

 
$709 

 
Tuition Credit - 25% of tuition 
paid, not to exceed $850 a year 

 
 

 
 $200  

 
 

 
$177 

 
In determining the total qualifying summer school tuition and fees that are eligible for the credit 
for private institutions, the average tuition at 4-year public institutions of higher learning must be 
determined as required in Section 12-6-3385(B)(4). The average tuition is based on the average 
tuition of $3,547 for the tax year 1999 (or $1,764 per regular semester if the student is enrolled 
only in one regular semester) as determined by the Commission on Higher Education multiplied 
by a fraction.  The numerator of the fraction is the actual number of hours completed in summer 
school and the denominator is 30 hours (the total number of hours required to qualify for the 
credit.)  
 
NOTE: In the above examples, tuition for public schools is based on the actual tuition paid.  
 
NOTE: See Question 9 for examples of the required number of hours to complete in order to 
claim the credit. 
18. How is the credit computed for a qualifying student attending an institution on a system other 

than a traditional semester system? 
 
An example best explains the computation. This example is based on the following facts: (1) the 
student attends 30 Aequivalent hours@ in the tax year, as determined by the Commission on 
Higher Education, at a nontraditional semester school (e.g. Converse College), (2) the student is 
a qualifying student, and (3) the student pays all tuition in 1999 for winter, spring, and fall terms. 
 
 
CREDIT COMPUTATION 

 
TERM 1 
Winter 1999 

 
TERM 2 
Spring 1999 

 
TERM 3 
Fall 1999 

 
TOTAL 

 
Tuition charged for term 
during tax year 

 
$ 2,000 

 
$6,000 

 
$6,000 

 
$14,000 

 
Required enrollment fees 

 
$    100 

 
$   100 

 
$   100 

 
       300 

 
Total qualified tuition & fees 
charged during taxable year* 
(limited to $3,547) 

 
$    709* 

 
$1,419* 

 
$1,419* 

 
$ 3,547 

 
Less: Total scholarship grants 
received during the taxable 

 
          0 

 
         0 

 
         0 

 
          0 
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year 
 
Tuition qualifying for the 
credit 

 
$    709 

 
$1,419 

 
$1,419 

 
$3,547 

 
Tuition Credit - 25% of tuition 
paid, not to exceed $850 a year 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
limited to  
$   850 

 
* Special rules apply to the total qualified tuition and fees for schools not on a traditional 
semester system. Based on the Aequivalent hours@ required by the Commission on Higher 
Education, the maximum tuition that may be claimed for each term enrolled in by a qualifying 
student will be prorated based on approved equivalent hours listed below for the 1999-2000 
school year.  For example, the $709 interim term amount for Converse College where students 
take 6 hours in the winter term was calculated as $3,547 average tuition times 6/30 Aequivalent 
hours.@  The Commission on Higher Education has authorized the following full time Aequivalent 
hours@ for student=s attending the following institutions to use in computing the credit: 

 
 
Institution 

 
Fall and 
Spring 

 
Interim/Ot
her 

 
Notes 

 
Converse 

 
12 hours 

 
  6 hours 

 
Must earn 30 hours in the tax 
year 

 
Erskine 

 
13 hours 

 
  3 hours 

 
Must earn 30 hours in the tax 
year 

 
Furman 

 
  8 hours 

 
  8 hours 

 
Must earn 30 hours in the tax 
year 

 
Johnson and 
Wales 

 
12 hours 

 
12 hours 

 
Must earn 36 hours in the tax 
year 

 
Wofford  

 
12 hours 

 
  4 hours 

 
Must earn 30 hours in the tax 
year 

 



EXHIBIT A 
 
 
4-Year Public 
Institutions 

 
4-Year Independent 
Institutions* 

 
2-Year Institutions 

 
Credit - 25% of tuition 
paid, not to exceed $850 
per tax year 

 
Credit - 25% of tuition paid, 
not to exceed $850 per tax 
year 

 
Credit - 25% of tuition paid, not to 
exceed $350 per tax year 

 
Citadel 
Clemson University 
Coastal Carolina 
University 
College of Charleston 
Francis Marion 
University 
Lander University 
Medical University of SC 
SC State University 
University of South 
Carolina 
USC at Aiken 
USC at Spartanburg 
Winthrop University 
 

 
Allen University 
Anderson College 
Benedict College 
Bob Jones University 
Charleston Southern 
University 
Claflin College 
Coker College 
Columbia College 
Columbia International 
University 
Converse College 
Erskine College 
Furman University 
Johnson and Wales 
Limestone College 
Morris College 
Newberry College 
North Greenville College 
Presbyterian College 
Southern Wesleyan College 
Voorhees College 
Wofford College 

 
Aiken Technical  
Central Carolina Technical 
College 
Chesterfield-Marlboro Technical 
College 
Denmark Technical College 
Florence Darlington Technical 
College 
Greenville Technical College 
Horry-Georgetown Technical 
College 
Midlands Technical College 
Orangeburg Calhoun Technical 
College 
Piedmont Technical College 
Spartanburg Methodist College 
Spartanburg Technical College 
Technical College of the 
Lowcountry 
Tri-County Technical College 
Trident Technical College 
USC at Beaufort 
USC at Lancaster 
USC at Salkehatchie 
USC at Sumter 
USC at Union 
Williamsburg Technical College 
York Technical College  

 
*Tuition expenses are limited per school year for 4-year independent institutions. 
 

SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 
 

 s/Elizabeth A. Carpentier, Director                                      
Elizabeth A. Carpentier, Director 

 
Columbia, South Carolina 
 March 28, 2000                
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