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SC INFORMATION LETTER #17-10 (Revised)1 
 
 

SUBJECT: South Carolina Infrastructure and Economic Development Reform Act 
  
DATE: June 27, 2017  
 
REFERENCE: Act No. 40 (Enacted May 10, 2017) 
 
AUTHORITY: S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-4-320 (2014) 
 SC Revenue Procedure #09-3 
 
SCOPE: An Information Letter is a written statement issued to the public to 

announce general information useful in complying with the laws 
administered by the Department.  An Information Letter has no 
precedential value.  

 
NOTICE TO MOTOR VEHICLE, MOTORCYCLE, AND TRAILER 

DEALERS AND RETAILERS 
 

Overview of New Infrastructure Maintenance Fee: 
  
The General Assembly recently enacted the South Carolina Infrastructure and Economic 
Development Reform Act to address the needs of South Carolina’s transportation infrastructure 
system and to set the State on the path towards a first-class road network. As part of its effort to 
improve the State’s transportation infrastructure network, a new infrastructure maintenance fee 
has been enacted that will become effective July 1, 2017. 
 
Registration in South Carolina upon Purchase or Lease: The owner of each vehicle, trailer, 
semitrailer or other item that must be registered pursuant to Chapter 3 of Title 56 must pay the 
infrastructure maintenance fee upon first registering the vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other item 
with the SC Department of Motor Vehicles (“SCDMV”). The infrastructure maintenance fee is 
remitted to SCDMV and is imposed at a rate of 5% of the gross proceeds of the sale, not to 
exceed $500, for a sale by a licensed SCDMV dealer or 5% of the vehicle’s fair market value, 
not to exceed $500, for a sale by a person who is not an SCDMV licensed dealer.  
 
Sales that are subject to the new infrastructure maintenance fee are exempt from the State and 
local sales and use taxes.  
                                                           
1 See additional information on page 4. 
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If a dealer has a South Carolina retail license or offers to license and register the item, then the 
dealer must collect the infrastructure maintenance fee and remit it to SCDMV. Generally, based 
on information from SCDMV, a dealer is a person in the business of selling motor vehicles (e.g., 
cars, trucks, motorcycles, and motor homes) that is licensed with SCDMV. A dealer also 
includes, effective November 19, 2018, a person licensed with SCDMV in the business of selling 
mopeds. 
 
Registration in South Carolina after First Registration in Another State: The infrastructure 
maintenance fee is also imposed when a vehicle, trailer, semi-trailer or other item required to be 
registered under Chapter 3 of Title 56 was first registered in another state by the owner and is 
subsequently registered for the first time in South Carolina by the same owner. This 
infrastructure maintenance fee is $250. 
 
Charts for Dealers, Other Retailers, and Nonretailers: 
 
The Department of Revenue, in coordination with the Department of Motor Vehicles, has 
prepared several charts to assist dealers and other retailers in determining: (1) whether the sale is 
subject to the new infrastructure maintenance fee or the sales and use tax; (2) whether to remit 
the infrastructure maintenance fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles or remit the sales and 
use tax on sales to nonresidents to the Department of Motor Vehicles or the Department of 
Revenue; and (3) the rate of the infrastructure maintenance fee or the sales and use tax. 
 
Attached are three charts that address the following categories of sales, with each chart providing 
information concerning the type of vehicle, the fee or tax that applies to the transaction, the fee 
or tax rate, and the maximum fee or tax (if applicable): 
 

• Chart 1: Motor Vehicles and Other Items Purchased and Registered in South Carolina by 
a South Carolina Resident and Other Items Purchased by a South Carolina Resident 

 
• Chart 2: Motor Vehicles and Other Items Purchased in South Carolina by a Nonresident 

to be Registered or Used Outside of South Carolina 
 

• Chart 3: Motor Vehicles and Other Items Previously Registered Outside of South 
Carolina  
  

Chart 1 and Chart 2 address three types of transactions – (1) purchases from licensed SCDOR 
retailers who are also licensed SCDMV dealers (e.g., a motor vehicle dealership); (2) purchases 
from licensed SC DOR retailers who are not licensed SCDMV dealers (e.g., a retailer selling 
motor vehicles from its delivery fleet); and (3) purchases from nonretailers (e.g., a casual sale by 
an individual).  
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General Summary: 
 
While these charts provide information about many different types of vehicles and other items, it 
is not an all-inclusive list of transactions. The application of the new infrastructure maintenance 
fee or the sales and use tax can generally be summarized as follows (unless the transaction is 
otherwise exempt): 
 

General Rule: 
 

• If the vehicle is required to be registered and is registered with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles, the Infrastructure Maintenance Fee applies and is remitted to the Department of 
Motor Vehicles. 
 

• If the vehicle is of a type that is not required to be registered with the Department of 
Motor Vehicles, then the sales tax would apply and is remitted to the Department of 
Revenue (e.g., a utility trailer for personal use). 
 

Sales to Nonresidents: 
 
• If the vehicle is subject to the maximum tax provisions of Code Section 12-36-

2110(A)(1) (e.g., motor vehicle, motorcycle, recreational vehicle), is of the type that 
would be registered in South Carolina if not for it being registered out-of-state, and is 
sold by a SCDMV licensed dealer to a nonresident who will register it in his home state, 
then the sales tax applies and is remitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles. (Note: 
The sales tax imposed on such sales to a nonresident by a person who is not a licensed 
SCDMV dealer are remitted to the Department of Revenue.) 
 
However, based on Code Section 12-36-930 and Code Section 12-36-2120, the sales tax 
is not due if (1) the purchaser’s state of residence does not impose a sales tax on motor 
vehicles, trailers, semitrailers or pole trailers, (2) the purchaser’s state of residence does 
not allow a credit against their use tax for sales tax paid on such items in South Carolina, 
or (3) the sale is otherwise exempt from the sales tax. 
 

• If the vehicle is not subject to the maximum tax provisions of Code Section 12-36-
2110(A)(1) and is sold to a nonresident who will register it in his home state, then the 
sales tax applies and it is remitted to Department of Revenue.  
 

Casual Excise Tax: 
 
• The casual excise tax will no longer apply to motor vehicles and motorcycles. Beginning 

July 1, 2017, the casual excise tax will only apply to aircraft, boats and boat motors. The 
infrastructure maintenance fee, however, is paid at the time of registration. 
 

The attached charts provides the applicable rate for the infrastructure maintenance fee or the 
sales and use tax for each of the above scenarios and also provide general information, including 
information on exemptions for active duty military members.
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Additional Information: 

This information letter, SC Information Letter #17-10, was originally issued on June 27, 2017. 
The attached charts were published as “drafts” at that time to provide immediate guidance. This 
revision of SC Information Letter #17-10 does not change the original charts. It only removes the 
“Draft” status of the charts and finalizes the charts as of December 12, 2017. For more detailed 
information about these changes, and for other changes that became effective July 1, 2017 (e.g., 
motor fuel user fee increase, maximum sales and use tax increase from  $300 to $500 on certain 
items), see SC Information Letter #17-8.  

If you have questions regarding the new infrastructure maintenance fee remitted to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles, or sales taxes remitted by licensed SCDMV dealers to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles on sales to nonresidents, please contact the Department of Motor 
Vehicles at cartaxes@scdmv.net. 

If you have questions regarding all other sales and use tax matters, please contact the Department 
of Revenue at (803) 898-5000 or salestax@dor.sc.gov. 

mailto:cartaxes@scdmv.net
mailto:salestax@dor.sc.gov
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ITEMS SUBJECT TO SALES/USE TAX 

OR INFRASTRUCTURE MAINTENANCE FEE (IMF) 
- Effective July 1, 2017 - 

 
 
 

CHART 1: 
MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED AND REGISTERED 

IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A SOUTH CAROLINA RESIDENT AND 
OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED BY A SOUTH CAROLINA RESIDENT 

 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER 

WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH 

SCDMV 

 

PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 
RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 

LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

 
PURCHASED FROM A NONRETAILER 

(A person not in the business of selling 
tangible personal property at retail - e.g., a 

casual sale by an individual) 

 
 

Motor Vehicle 
(Including Low Speed Vehicles & 
State/County/Local Government 
Vehicles with a plate class of SG, 

CG, MG, or RG) 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 
 
 

IMF Remitted by 
Dealer to DMV 
5% up to $500 

No Sales Tax Due Since Transaction is Exempt Under 
S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(83) 

 
No IMF Collected by Retailer 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 
(However, if Payment of a Sales Tax 
can be Documented, No IMF is Due) 

 
No Sales Tax or Casual Excise Tax 

Due on Transaction and 
No IMF Collected by Seller 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to 
DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 

 
 
 
 

Motorcycle 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 
 
 

IMF Remitted by 
Dealer to DMV 
5% up to $500 

No Sales Tax Due Since Transaction is Exempt Under 
S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(83) 

 
No IMF Collected by Retailer 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 
(However, if Payment of a Sales Tax 
can be Documented, No IMF is Due) 

 
No Sales Tax or Casual Excise Tax 

Due on Transaction and 
No IMF Collected by Seller 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to 
DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 

 
US Government Vehicle 

 
Exempt Exempt 

(See S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(2)) 
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CHART 1: 
MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED AND REGISTERED 

IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A SOUTH CAROLINA RESIDENT AND 
OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED BY A SOUTH CAROLINA RESIDENT 

 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER 

WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH 

SCDMV 

 

PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 
RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 

LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

 
PURCHASED FROM A NONRETAILER 

(A person not in the business of selling 
tangible personal property at retail - e.g., a 

casual sale by an individual) 

 
 
 
 

Motor Homes 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 
 
 

IMF Remitted by 
Dealer to DMV 
5% up to $500 

No Sales Tax Due Since Transaction is Exempt Under 
S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(83) 

 
No IMF Collected by Retailer 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 
(However, if Payment of a Sales Tax 
can be Documented, No IMF is Due) 

 
No Sales Tax or Casual Excise Tax 

Due on Transaction and 
No IMF Collected by Seller 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to 
DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 

 
 

Moped 
(Purchased on or after 
November 19, 2018 - 
See 2017 Act No. 89) 

(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 
 
 

IMF Remitted by 
Dealer to DMV 
5% up to $500 

No Sales Tax Due Since Transaction is Exempt Under 
S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(83) 

 
No IMF Collected by Retailer 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 
(However, if Payment of a Sales Tax 
can be Documented, No IMF is Due) 

 
No Sales Tax or Casual Excise Tax 

Due on Transaction and 
No IMF Collected by Seller 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to 
DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 

Moped 
(Purchased prior to 
November 19, 2018) 

 
 
 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
6% + Local 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise Tax, or IMF 
Due on Transaction 



7 

 

 

 
 

CHART 1: 
MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED AND REGISTERED 

IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A SOUTH CAROLINA RESIDENT AND 
OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED BY A SOUTH CAROLINA RESIDENT 

 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER 

WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH 

SCDMV 

 

PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 
RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 

LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

 
PURCHASED FROM A NONRETAILER 

(A person not in the business of selling 
tangible personal property at retail - e.g., a 

casual sale by an individual) 

 
 
 

Trailer or Semitrailer, 
Pulled by a Truck Tractor 

(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 No Sales Tax Due Since Transaction is Exempt Under 
S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(83) 

 
No IMF Collected by Retailer 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 
(However, if Payment of a Sales Tax 
can be Documented, No IMF is Due) 

 
No Sales Tax or Casual Excise Tax 

Due on Transaction and 
No IMF Collected by Seller 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to 
DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 

 
 
 
 

Pole Trailer 

 No Sales Tax Due Since Transaction is Exempt Under 
S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(83) 

 
No IMF Collected by Retailer 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 
(However, if Payment of a Sales Tax 
can be Documented, No IMF is Due) 

 
No Sales Tax or Casual Excise Tax 

Due on Transaction and 
No IMF Collected by Seller 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to 
DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 

 
 
 
 

Utility Trailers, Boat Trailers, and 
Farm Trailers - Business Use 

 No Sales Tax Due Since Transaction is Exempt Under 
S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(83) or 

S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(16) 
 

No IMF Collected by Retailer 
 

IMF Remitted by Buyer to DMV Upon Registration 
5% up to $500 

(However, if Payment of a Sales Tax 
can be Documented, No IMF is Due) 

 
 

No Sales Tax or Casual Excise Tax 
Due on Transaction and 

No IMF Collected by Seller 
 

IMF Remitted by Buyer to 
DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 
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CHART 1: 
MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED AND REGISTERED 

IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A SOUTH CAROLINA RESIDENT AND 
OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED BY A SOUTH CAROLINA RESIDENT 

 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER 

WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH 

SCDMV 

 

PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 
RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 

LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

 
PURCHASED FROM A NONRETAILER 

(A person not in the business of selling 
tangible personal property at retail - e.g., a 

casual sale by an individual) 

 
Utility Trailers, Boat Trailers, and 

Farm Trailers - Personal Use 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
6% + Local (Unless Exempt Under 

S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(16)) 

 
No Sales Tax, Casual Excise Tax, or IMF 

Due on Transaction 

Horse Trailer 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
5% up to $500 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise Tax, or IMF 
Due on Transaction 

 
 

Recreational Vehicles 
Pulled by a Motor Vehicle 

(Tent Campers, Travel Trailers, 
Park Models, Park Trailers, 

and Fifth Wheels) 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 No Sales Tax Due Since Transaction is Exempt Under 
S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(83) 

 
No IMF Collected by Retailer 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 
(However, if Payment of a Sales Tax 
can be Documented, No IMF is Due) 

 
No Sales Tax or Casual Excise Tax 

Due on Transaction and 
No IMF Collected by Seller 

 
IMF Remitted by Buyer to 
DMV Upon Registration 

5% up to $500 

Dirt Bikes (Off Road) 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
5% up to $500 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise Tax, or IMF 
Due on Transaction 

 
 

Aircraft 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

  
 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
5% up to $500 

No Sales Tax Collected by Seller 
 

Buyer Remits Casual Excise Tax to DOR 
Upon Issuance of Certificate of Title, or 

Other Proof of Ownership 
5% up to $500 
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CHART 1: 
MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED AND REGISTERED 

IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A SOUTH CAROLINA RESIDENT AND 
OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED BY A SOUTH CAROLINA RESIDENT 

 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER 

WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH 

SCDMV 

 

PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 
RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 

LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

 
PURCHASED FROM A NONRETAILER 

(A person not in the business of selling 
tangible personal property at retail - e.g., a 

casual sale by an individual) 

 
Boat or Boat with Motor 
Permanently Attached  

at Time of Sale 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

  
 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
5% up to $500 

No Sales Tax Collected by Seller 
 

Buyer Remits Casual Excise Tax to DOR or 
DNR Upon Issuance of Certificate of Title, or 

Other Proof of Ownership 
5% up to $500 

 
Boat Motor 

(Not permanently attached 
to boat at time of sale) 

(Not a Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
6% + Local 

 
Note: Local Sales/Use Taxes Apply 
Except for the Local Option Tax in 

S.C. Code § 4-10-20 

No Sales Tax Collected by Seller 
 

Buyer Remits Casual Excise Tax to DOR or 
DNR Upon Issuance of Certificate of Title, or 

Other Proof of Ownership 
6% 

 
Golf Carts, ATVs, and Go-Carts 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
6% + Local 

No Sales or Casual Excise Tax 
Due on Transaction 

Professional Race Cars Towed 
to or from a Race Track 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
6% + Local 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise Tax or 
IMF Due on Transaction 

Single Family Modular Home 
(Ch. 43, Title 23) 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
6% + Local 

No Sales or Casual Excise Tax 
Due on Transaction 

Musical Instrument/Office 
Equipment Purchased by IRC § 

501(c)(3) Religious Organization 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
5% up to $300 

(See S.C. Code § 12-36-2110(C)) 

 
No Sales or Casual Excise Tax 

Due on Transaction 

Manufactured Home 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
(See S.C. Code § 12-36-2110(B)) 

No Sales or Casual Excise Tax 
Due on Transaction 

 

(See General Information for Chart 1 on the Following Page) 
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CHART 1 GENERAL INFORMATION 

Maximum Tax Items (5% up to $500) under S.C. Code § 12-36-2110(A) 

• Motor Vehicle • Horse Trailer • Boat 
• Motorcycle • Fire Safety Education Trailer • Aircraft, including 
• Trailer or Semitrailer, capable • Self-Propelled Light unassembled aircraft to be 
of being pulled only by a truck Construction Equipment with assembled by the purchaser, 
tractor compatible attachments limited but not items to be added to 
• Recreational Vehicles including to a maximum of 160 net engine the unassembled aircraft 
Tent Campers, Travel Trailers, horsepower  
Park Models, Park Trailers,   
Motor Homes, and Fifth Wheels   

Sales and Use Tax Exemptions 

Chart 1 provides the tax rate and maximum tax (if applicable) for various sales and use tax transactions. Notwithstanding the above, some sales may be exempt 
under S.C. Code § 12-36-2120 (e.g., farm trailers used in planting, cultivating and harvesting of farm crops - S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(16)) and therefore not 
subject to the tax. 

Purchases by Nonresidents for First Registration or Use in South Carolina 

Chart 1 concerns motor vehicles and other items that are purchased and registered in South Carolina by South Carolina residents. However, Chart 1 also applies 
to motor vehicles and other items purchased by nonresidents that are first registered in South Carolina with the SC Department of Motor Vehicles ("SCDMV") 
(i.e., subject to the Infrastructure Maintenance Fee) or are purchased by nonresidents for use in South Carolina (sales or use tax), unless otherwise exempt. 

Out-of-State Delivery by a Retailer or by a Common Carrier on Behalf of a Retailer 

Notwithstanding the above, a sale is exempt from state and local sales and use tax if the seller, by contract of sale, is obligated either (1) to deliver the item to the 
buyer (or an agent or donee of the buyer) at a point outside of South Carolina, or (2) to deliver the item to a common carrier or the US mail for transportation to 
the buyer (or an agent or donee of the buyer) at a point outside of South Carolina. See S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(36). 

Active Duty Military Members 

See Charts 2 and 3 for information on the taxes and fees imposed on active duty military members, if any. 
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ITEMS SUBJECT TO SALES/USE TAX 

OR INFRASTRUCTURE MAINTENANCE FEE (IMF) 
- Effective July 1, 2017 - 

 
 
 

CHART 2: 
MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED 

IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A NONRESIDENT TO BE 
REGISTERED OR USED OUTSIDE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 

 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 
PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 

RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER WITH 

SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
NONRETAILER 

(e.g., a casual sale by an 
individual) 

 
 
 

Motor Vehicle 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

Sales Tax Remitted by Dealer to DMV 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

5% sales tax, but no more than $500 
 

See Notes 1 and 2 for exceptions 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

5% sales tax, but no more than $500 
 

See Note 1 for exceptions 

 
 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 

 
 
 

Motor Homes 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

Sales Tax Remitted by Dealer to DMV 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

5% sales tax, but no more than $500 
 

See Notes 1 and 2 for exceptions 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

5% sales tax, but no more than $500 
 

See Note 1 for exceptions 

 
 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 

 
 
 

Motorcycle 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

Sales Tax Remitted by Dealer to DMV 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

5% sales tax, but no more than $500 
 

See Notes 1 and 2 for exceptions 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

5% sales tax, but no more than $500 
 

See Note 1 for exceptions 

 
 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 
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CHART 2: 

MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED 
IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A NONRESIDENT TO BE 

REGISTERED OR USED OUTSIDE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 
PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 

RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER WITH 

SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
NONRETAILER 

(e.g., a casual sale by an 
individual) 

Dirt Bikes (Off Road) 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 
(Not of a Type Subject to  

Registration under 
S.C. Code § 56-3-627) 

 
 

Sales Tax Remitted by Dealer to DOR 
5% up to $500 

 
 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
5% up to $500 

 
No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 

Tax, or IMF Due on 
Transaction 

 
Moped 

(Purchased on or after 
November 19, 2018 - 
See 2017 Act No. 89) 

(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

Sales Tax Remitted by Dealer to DMV 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

5% sales tax, but no more than $500 
 

See Notes 1 and 2 for exceptions 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

5% sales tax, but no more than $500 
 

See Notes 1 and 2 for exceptions 

 
 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 

 
Recreational Vehicles 

Pulled by a Motor Vehicle 
(Tent Campers, Travel Trailers,  

Park Models, Park Trailers,  
and Fifth Wheels) 

(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

5% sales tax, but no more than $500 
 

See Notes 1 and 2 for exceptions 

 
 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 

 

Trailer or Semitrailer of a Type 
Required to be Licensed and 

Registered 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

5% sales tax, but no more than $500 
 

See Notes 1 and 2 for exceptions 

 
 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 
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CHART 2: 

MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED 
IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A NONRESIDENT TO BE 

REGISTERED OR USED OUTSIDE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 
PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 

RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER WITH 

SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
NONRETAILER 

(e.g., a casual sale by an 
individual) 

 
 
Trailer, Semitrailer, or Pole Trailer of 
a Type Required to be Licensed and 

Registered 
(Not a Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
 

Lesser of sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 

6% + Local 
 

See Notes 1 and 2 for exceptions 

 
 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 

 

Trailer or Semitrailer of a Type Not 
Required to be Licensed and 

Registered 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

  
 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
5% up to $500 

 
 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 

 
Trailer or Semitrailer of a Type 

Not Required to be Licensed and 
Registered 

(Not a Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

  
 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
6% + Local 

 
No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 

Tax, or IMF Due on 
Transaction 

 
Nonresident Military 

Motor Vehicles (excluding trucks) 
and Motorcycles Purchased by a Non- 

Resident Member of the Military 
Located in South Carolina by Reason 

of Orders of the US Armed Forces 
(e.g., car, minivan, SUV, motorcycle) 

(Personal Use Only) 

 
 

No IMF or Sales Tax 
Remitted on Transaction 

 
Exempt under S.C. Code §§ 

12-36-2120(25) & 56-3-627(H) 
regardless of state of registration 

 
 

No IMF or Sales Tax 
Remitted on Transaction 

 
Exempt under S.C. Code §§ 

12-36-2120(25) & 56-3-627(H) regardless 
of state of registration 

 
 
 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 
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CHART 2: 

MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED 
IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A NONRESIDENT TO BE 

REGISTERED OR USED OUTSIDE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 
PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 

RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER WITH 

SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
NONRETAILER 

(e.g., a casual sale by an 
individual) 

Nonresident Military and Spouse 
Motor Vehicles (including trucks), 

Motorcycles, Trailers and Semitrailers 
Purchased by a Non-Resident  

Member of the Military (including 
Spouse) Located in South Carolina by 

Reason of Orders of the US Armed 
Forces 

(e.g., car, motor home, 
recreational trailer, truck, 

minivan, SUV, motorcycle) 
(Personal Use Only) 

No IMF or Sales Tax Remitted on 
Transaction if the license, fee, or 

excise is paid by the servicemember 
in the servicemember's State of 

domicile or residence. 
 

Exempt Under 
Servicemember Civil Relief Act 

See §§ 3911 (Definitions), 4001 (Exemption 
for Personal Property), and 49 U.S. Code § 

30102 (Definition of Motor Vehicle) 

No IMF or Sales Tax Remitted on 
Transaction if the license, fee, or 

excise is paid by the servicemember 
in the servicemember's State of 

domicile or residence. 
 

Exempt Under 
Servicemember Civil Relief Act 

See §§ 3911 (Definitions), 4001 (Exemption 
for Personal Property), and 49 U.S. Code § 

30102 (Definition of Motor Vehicle) 

 
No Sales Tax or 

Casual Excise Tax 
Due on Transaction 

 
No IMF due on Transaction if 

the  license, fee, or 
excise is paid by the 
servicemember in the 

servicemember's State of 
domicile or residence. 

 
 
 
 
 

Aircraft 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
5% up to $500 

No Sales Tax or IMF Due on 
Transaction 

 
No Casual Excise Tax Due, 

Unless Buyer Obtains a 
Certificate of Title or Other 

Proof of Ownership in 
South Carolina 

(If Casual Excise 
Tax Applies, 
5% up to $500) 
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CHART 2: 

MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED 
IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A NONRESIDENT TO BE 

REGISTERED OR USED OUTSIDE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 
PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 

RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER WITH 

SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
NONRETAILER 

(e.g., a casual sale by an 
individual) 

 
 
 
 
Boat or Boat with Motor Permanently 

Attached 
at Time of Sale 

(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

  
 
 
 
 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
5% up to $500 

No Sales Tax or IMF Due on 
Transaction 

 
No Casual Excise Tax Due, 

Unless Buyer Obtains a 
Certificate of Title or Other 

Proof of Ownership in 
South Carolina 

(If Casual Excise 
Tax Applies, 
5% up to $500) 

 
 
 
 
 

Boat Motor 
(Not permanently attached 

to boat at time of sale) 
(Not a Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

  
 
 
 

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
6% + Local 

 
Note: Local Sales/Use Taxes Apply Except 

for the Local Option Tax in 
S.C. Code § 4-10-20 

 
No Sales Tax or IMF Due on 

Transaction 
 

No Casual Excise Tax Due, 
Unless Buyer Obtains a 

Certificate of Title or Other 
Proof of Ownership in 

South Carolina 
(If Casual Excise 

Tax Applies, 
6% but no Local Taxes) 

 
 

Golf Carts, ATVs, and Go-Carts 

  

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
6% + Local 

 
No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 

Tax, or IMF Due on 
Transaction 
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CHART 2: 

MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PURCHASED 
IN SOUTH CAROLINA BY A NONRESIDENT TO BE 

REGISTERED OR USED OUTSIDE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
 
 

ITEM PURCHASED 
PURCHASED FROM A LICENSED 

RETAILER WITH SCDOR WHO IS A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
LICENSED RETAILER WITH 

SCDOR WHO IS NOT A 
LICENSED DEALER WITH SCDMV 

PURCHASED FROM A 
NONRETAILER 

(e.g., a casual sale by an 
individual) 

 
Moped 

(Purchased prior to 
November 19, 2018) 

  

Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
6% + Local 

 
No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 

Tax, or IMF Due on 
Transaction 

Musical Instrument/Office Equipment 
Purchased by IRC § 501(c)(3) 

Religious Organization 
(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

 Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 
5% up to $300 

See S.C. Code § 12-36-2110(C) 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 

 
Manufactured Home 

(Maximum Sales Tax Item) 

  
Sales Tax Remitted by Retailer to DOR 

See S.C. Code § 12-36-2110(B) 

No Sales Tax, Casual Excise 
Tax, or IMF Due on 

Transaction 

 
(See General Information and Notes for Chart 2 on the Following Pages) 
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CHART 2 GENERAL INFORMATION 

Maximum Tax Items (5% up to $500) under S.C. Code § 12-36-2110(A) 

• Motor Vehicle • Horse Trailer • Boat 
• Motorcycle • Fire Safety Education Trailer • Aircraft, including 
• Trailer or Semitrailer, capable • Self-Propelled Light unassembled aircraft to be 
of being pulled only by a truck Construction Equipment with assembled by the purchaser, 
tractor compatible attachments limited but not items to be added to 
• Recreational Vehicles including to a maximum of 160 net engine the unassembled aircraft 
Tent Campers, Travel Trailers, horsepower  
Park Models, Park Trailers,   
Motor Homes, and Fifth Wheels   

Sales and Use Tax Exemptions 

Chart 4 provides the tax rate and maximum tax (if applicable) for various sales and use tax transactions. Notwithstanding the above, some sales may be 
exempt under S.C. Code § 12-36-2120 (e.g., farm trailers used in planting, cultivating and harvesting of farm crops - S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(16)) and 
therefore not subject to the tax. 

Purchases by Nonresidents for First Registration or Use in South Carolina 

Chart 1 concerns motor vehicles and other items that are purchased and registered in South Carolina by South Carolina residents. However, Chart 1 also 
applies to motor vehicles and other items purchased by nonresidents that are first registered in South Carolina with the SC Department of Motor Vehicles 
("SCDMV") (i.e., subject to the Infrastructure Maintenance Fee) or are purchased by nonresidents for use in South Carolina (sales or use tax), unless 
otherwise exempt. 

Active Duty Military Members 

Resident Military Members: See Chart 1 for registration or purchases by military members who are residents of South Carolina. 

Nonresident Military Members: See also Chart 1 and 3 for more information on the taxes and fees imposed on nonresident active duty military members, 
if any. 
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CHART 2 NOTES 

Note 1: Purchases by Nonresidents for Registration in the Purchaser's State of Residence 

Code Section 12-36-930 provides that the sales tax due on a sale to a nonresident of a motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or pole trailer that is to be 
registered and licensed in the nonresident purchaser’s state of residence, is the lesser of (1) the sales tax which would be imposed on the sale in the 
purchaser’s state of residence or (2) the tax that would be imposed in South Carolina. 

 
No sales tax is due in South Carolina if (1) a nonresident purchaser cannot receive a credit in his resident state for sales tax paid to South Carolina or 
(2) the nonresident's state does not impose a sales tax on the sale of a motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or pole trailer. 

 
Examples (as of July 1, 2017): 

 
Georgia and North Carolina: Since Georgia and North Carolina do not impose a sales tax on the sale of motor vehicles, no sales tax is due in South 
Carolina on a sale to a Georgia or North Carolina resident who will license and register the motor vehicle in their state of residence. 

 
Virginia: Since Virginia does not allow a credit against its use tax for sales tax paid in South Carolina on the purchase of a motor vehicle, no sales tax is 
due in South Carolina on a sale to a Virginia resident who will license and register the motor vehicle in their state of residence. 

 
Alabama, Florida, and Tennessee: Since Alabama, Florida, and Tennessee impose a sales tax on the sale of motor vehicles and allow a credit against use 
tax for sales taxes paid in South Carolina on purchases of motor vehicles, the South Carolina sales tax is due on the lesser of the sales tax imposed in the 
purchaser's state of residence or 5% South Carolina sales tax, but no more than $500. 

Note 2: Out-of-State Delivery by a Retailer or by a Common Carrier on Behalf of a Retailer 

Notwithstanding the above, a sale is exempt from state and local sales and use tax if the seller, by contract of sale, is obligated either (1) to deliver the 
item to the buyer (or an agent or donee of the buyer) at a point outside of South Carolina, or (2) to deliver the item to a common carrier or the US mail for 
transportation to the buyer (or an agent or donee of the buyer) at a point outside of South Carolina. See S.C. Code § 12-36-2120(36). 
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CHART 3: 

MOTOR VEHICLES AND OTHER ITEMS PREVIOUSLY 
REGISTERED OUTSIDE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 

- Effective July 1, 2017 - 
Item Previously Registered 
Outside of South Carolina Infrastructure Maintenance Fee (IMF) 

Vehicle Previously Registered Out-of-State 
by the Owner and Subsequently Registered in 

SC for the first time by the Same Owner 

IMF Remitted by Owner to DMV 
 

$250 

Active Duty Military Member and Family 
(Resident or Nonresident): 

Vehicle Previously Registered Out-of-State 
by Active Duty Military or Spouse/ 

Dependent and Subsequently Registered for 
the first time in SC by Same Owner 

 
 

No IMF Due on Registration in South Carolina 

Exempt Under S.C. Code § 56-3-627(D)(2) 
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